One photo every day: Västäräkki :: White wagtail (Motacilla alba) (324/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago

We meet again!

You know... Messilä is probably one of the best places here for birdphotography. I spent only a half an hour there, and shot over 300 shots. (Granted almost half of them were misses, and many were out of focus. (I was experimenting with the "AI servo" focusing with all focus points active on my Canon). Turns out the lens is just not fast enough to keep focus on fast flying subjects.

This bird on the other hand stayed pretty still almost the whole time I kept snapping photos of it.


Cute little fellow

I'll take a small nap before fetching Miro. I promised I'd do something with the boys after school so perhaps I'll take them to an animal farm. I suppose there are a few in the close proximity.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Before I go to bed... Smartphone Sunset Photography!]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Common roaches (317/365)
Markku vs. Antti (318/365)
Yet another pink building! ––– Engel-makasiini (319/365)
Common wood pigeon :: Sepelkyyhky (Columba palumbus) --- Vintage lens photography (320/365)
Sunset with a sub par phonecam. (321/365)
Sunrise on Mothers' Day (322/365)
Sepelkyyhkyn lentoonlähtö :: Common wood pigeon take-off (323/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

You know that is a very successful shot of västäräkki

On Second Glance, I noticed that that little bird likes to live Dangerously. At first I thought the barbed wire was a vine until looking closer.

I find birds in general difficult to photograph well. I did get a bigger lens, but bigger is not always better until you learn how to properly use it. I am having a little bit of difficulty in focusing manually, but I know with practice I should be able to pull that off.

How fortunate to live close to place that gives you the opportunity to photograph till your heart's content. I hope the boys enjoy the outing. Any time spent with kids is well spent.

Tip!

Hi gamer. amazing how a bird can land in between barbed wire and be ok. We have birds here called butcher birds that hang bits of road kill etc on barbed wire and fences to dry out. Amazing how clever they are. Good photograph yet again.

Lovely wagtail shot buddy. Hope you woke up in time to fetch Miro, is the workouts too much for you hahahaha? Sure the animal farm will provide some more images...

We meet almost everyday haha!)) So it's not a surprise to meet again!
This little guy is a spy for sure!

nice bird
great photograph

Why is so much difference between people, the bird does not know.

Messila should be nicknamed the bird town of the planet. There's no way anyone can visit and not go on a snapoing spree. Do share more later... These are wonderful

i am afraid if it fly suddenly it may be hurt by the thorn.

This is stunning aww, beautiful little birdy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44