A spice like no other - a story written in five minutes

in #freewrite6 years ago

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


A spice like no other


“That’ll be $28.72.” The cashier was already putting all the herbs and spices I bought into a paper bag while I was getting the money from my wallet.

“What’s that you have there?” I noticed three small glass vials behind him with an astonishingly high price of $99 a vial. “I’ve never seen that before.”

“I’m glad you asked.” He picked one up from the shelf. “The essence of Phalanoia. It tastes differently to each and every person.” He waited for me to respond but seeing as I didn’t, he continued. “To me it’s got a very tropic taste but for my wife it tastes like a mix of Mediterranean spices. The elder tribes believed that Phalanoia was capable of picking out soul mates. They believed that the two people the Phalanoia essence tasted the same for were soul mates.” He chuckled. “I damn sure hope they were wrong, though.”

“Sounds very awesome but damn… it’s $99.” I was used to spending a lot of money on spices – I liked eating tasty food – but $99 was far beyond I had ever spent on anything, especially a small vial of an essence I didn’t even know the taste of.

“It’s a neat little trick to play on a date and I’ve never heard of anyone reporting it tasted bad for them. Always a pleasant taste or even the one you love most.”

“You know what? I’m feeling lucky. Give me one.” He had convinced me.

Back home I rushed to cook up dinner for my wife and I, and we soon figured out that the Phalanoia essence tasted the same for both of us–or should I say was tasteless for both of us.

Talk about $99 well spent.


The prompt was:

"Essence"



Liked what you read? Interested in more?
Consider following my author account @davidkain
I post all my best work there!


Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled so far:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west, Frozen Lake, Flea Market, Accident, The Gut Monster, Other Side, Late night walk, The Eternal Question, Warrant, Costume Party, Suspect, Pep talk.



Consider voting the @qurator witness!

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  

tasteless - what shame! what spice, like this:hellfire screenshot.jpg
blaze or noticeably nothing, $99?!? what a travesty!

I'm having quite a hard time deciphering this comment :P
The image, especially.

But yeah. What shame indeed!

Thank you for being a member and supporter of the creativebot.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Keep Steeming on!! <3

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Oh, you got scammed - or rather, your character got taken LOL

Here are the weekend choices for your writing pleasure

The Single Prompt Option

And here is the first prompt of the weekend beast: The Three parter 😜

And since I have your attention - I like for you to support our Venezuelan Freewrite friend @cefralelo any way you can. This post has a few suggestions.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Yeah, haha. Never trust a small glass vial! ;P

I'm a bit short on time lately (spoiler alert: polishing the text for the new book), but will try and find the time for a daily freewrite still.
Thanks!

I'll go and toss a couple upvotes before I spend them anywhere else and deplete my VP. ^^

Thank you!! And I so get the not having time part! So excited for you to get this publishing thing going.

Although, well... it does only take 5 minutes >;PP
Same! So very excited myself, too! And so very happy and grateful for all the help and support! Thank you again!

This was such a good story, but clearly they didn't know about the power of spice!

![](

@calluna... I will have to reconsider our friendship.
Sometimes you make me feel dumb because there are so many references you use that I don't get :(

Very happy to hear you enjoyed the story, though. <3

I was going to say young, not dumb, but come on, Dune is a classic!

I was going to
Say young, not dumb, but come on,
Dune is a classic!

                 - calluna


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Dune?

You knew I was going to ask

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27