The Story of My Life so Far - Part 88 - After 20 years of active duty, I am leaving the Navy

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is the story of my life so far: 68 years and counting.
Prequel: A Brief History of my Family in France



The story starts here
Previous episode: Part 87


When I arrived at the CAD in 1986, I knew my reputation as a technical Navy officer, and I knew that if I was staying in the Navy, I would not have many postings that would be interesting o me.

So, in 1987, I decided that I would leave active duty in September 1988, exactly 20 years after arriving at the École Navale.

In the French armed forces, as in many other countries, there cannot be as many generals or admirals as there are lieutenants. The statute of the French Navy officers guarantees that they can stay in active duty for at least 25 years. To encourage some of them to leave before these 25 years, there is a situation called "disponibilité" (availability), that may start after 15 years of active duty.

When an officer is in the "disponibilité" situation, he will receive one third of the pay he would have if he was in active duty, but he is also allowed to take a civilian job. The officer is still "available" in the sense that he may be recalled to active duty, but this has not happened for many years, as France has not be involved in any major conflict.

When an officer in disponibilité reaches 25 years of service, he is automatically retired and starts to receive a military pension.


In the Spring of 1988, a retired Navy officer who was working in sales for a software house, CR2A, was visiting the CAD and we talked for a while. I told him that my goal was to go into disponibilité in September and that I was looking for a job in software. He asked me for my CV and indicated that his company was in need of a Navy officer for a new contract that was indirectly for the Navy.

I had two interviews at CR2A and was hired. And I started to work there on September 1st 1988.

As I indicated above, five years later, in September 1993, at the age of 44, I became automatically retired and started to receive a pension, that was more than the one third pay that I had received during the five years.
So, as you can see, as of today, I have been a retired Navy officer for almost 25 years.

Continue to Part 89.


If you like this story, please consider to follow me

Summary
Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3 - Part 4 - Part 5 - Part 6 - Part 7 - Part 8
Part 9 - Part 10 - Part 11 - Part 12 - Part 13 - Part 14 - Part 15 - Part 16
Part 17 - Part 18 - Part 19 - Part 20 - Part 21 - Part 22 - Part 23 - Part 24
Part 25 - Part 26 - Part 27 - Part 28 - Part 29 - Part 30 - Part 31 - Part 32
Part 33 - Part 34 - Part 35 - Part 36 - Part 37 - Part 38 - Part 39 - Part 40
Part 41 - Part 42 - Part 43 - Part 44 - Part 45 - Part 46 - Part 47 - Part 48
Part 49 - Part 50 - Part 51 - Part 52 - Part 53 - Part 54 - Part 55 - Part 56
Part 57 - Part 58 - Part 59 - Part 60 - Part 61 - Part 62 - Part 63 - Part 64
Part 65 - Part 66 - Part 67 - Part 68 - Part 69 - Part 70 - Part 71 - Part 72
Part 73 - Part 74 - Part 75 - Part 76 - Part 77 - Part 78 - Part 79 - Part 80
Part 81 - Part 82 - Part 83 - Part 84 - Part 85 - Part 86 - Part 87



Sort:  

before reading this, i thought it was just one of those regular lies that steemians put up. The title captivated me. Then i realized someone needs a lot of feathers on his cap. GET THIS PUBLISHED.
it will take a while to take in all these previous episodes but i am ready for this ride back in time.

sure!! following you immediately. i can't miss out

Fascinating story

Compulsory Retirement after twenty-five years of serving your father land, it's even automatic, I've never heard of that before.

Whats the idea behind it.

There is compulsory retirement at 25 years of service ONLY for those officers that are in the disponibilité situation. For those that have 25 years of active duty, they are not forced to retire at 25 years of service. They still have a compulsory retirement age, that depends on their grade.

The idea behind this is that an officer that has not been in active duty for 5 to 10 years is no longer really able to be efficient in real operations.

@vcelier Il est important de prendre la bonne décision au bon moment.
C'est à cause d'une décision que vous avez choisi une carrière complètement différente.
Et après 25 ans vous êtes ici en train de raconter votre belle histoire au monde et nous, les lecteurs, sommes tellement captivés que nous attendons toujours avec impatience la prochaine partie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40