The Story of My Life so Far - Part 42 - Summer 1972 at the Abbey: a Motorbike and Two CarssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

This is the story of my life so far: 67 years and counting.
Prequel: A Brief History of my Family in France



The story starts here
Previous episode: Part 41

Summer 1972

At the beginning of July 1972, I went on vacation for two months, not knowing yet where my next post would be.
I spent most of the summer at the Abbey, our family vacation house, near Saumur.

As I had no means of transportation, I quickly bought a 125 cc motorbike, a Motobécane 125 LT.


motobecane_125_lt.jpg
Motobécane 125 LT
source

At this time, in France, and until 1978, if you had a car driving license, you were allowed to drive small motorbike up to 125 cc. So, I did not need a motorbike license to drive the 125 LT.

As I did not know where I would be sent for my next post, and there was a slight chance that I would be posted overseas, I decided to by a cheap used car just for the summer.

That would be my fourth car, as in Tahiti I had bought and sold two cars.

The first car I bought in Tahiti was a Peugeot 404, with a sunroof.


Peugeot_404_Injection.png
Peugeot 404
source

Then, I had bought a Sunbeam Alpine convertible.


sunbeem_alpine.jpg
Sunbeam Alpine
source

I had sold these two cars before leaving Tahiti.

So, in July 1972, I bough for 300 francs (around US$60) a used Citroën DS 19.
It was a real piece of junk and the insurance for three months cost me more that I paid for the car.
But, it allowed me have transportation.


ds_19.jpg
Citroën DS 19
source

In August, I learned that I was posted on a new ship that was not finished to be built in Lorient, another port in South Brittany.

I then order my next car, a brand new Renault 12 Gordini.


renault_12_gordini.jpg
Renault 12 Gordini
source

In France, at least at this time, you did not go to a car dealer and buy a new car from his inventory.
At the car dealer, you chose the specifications of the car you want, then you order the car.
The car was built by the manufacturer, shipped to the car dealer, and then only you could take delivery of your brand new car.

So, I had to wait for three months before I got my first new car. But it was not a real problem, as I had the DS 19.
In a next post, I will describe some adventures I had with the R12 Gordini.

Several years later, after I was no longer owning the R12 Gordini, my youngest sister Nicole gave to me a model of the R12 Gordini.
I still have this model.


r12_gordini_model.png
R12 Gordini Model

Continue to Part 43


If you like this story, please consider to follow me

Summary
Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3 - Part 4 - Part 5 - Part 6 - Part 7 - Part 8
Part 9 - Part 10 - Part 11 - Part 12 - Part 13 - Part 14 - Part 15 - Part 16
Part 17 - Part 18 - Part 19 - Part 20 - Part 21 - Part 22 - Part 23 - Part 24
Part 25 - Part 26 - Part 27 - Part 28 - Part 29 - Part 30 - Part 31 - Part 32
Part 33 - Part 34 - Part 35 - Part 36 - Part 37 - Part 38 - Part 39 - Part 40
Part 41



Sort:  

Ohh I love that 125cc :) and Sunbeam Alpine...aaa most of us will never see, and even less drive those beauties from times when actual people made cars...

Amazing , i love the part where you said

I had sold these two cars before leaving Tahiti.

So, in July 1972, I bough for 300 francs (around US$60) a used Citroën DS 19.
It was a real piece of junk and the insurance for three months cost me more that I paid for the car.

What an adventure!!!

so much loving for your.

I personally love Sunbeam Alpine :) Have no comments on Citroën it is obvious, though somewhat appealing as it is as ugly as a car can get, did you manage to sell it afterwards? :)
And Gordini looks so funny with those tiny wheels on it lol

though somewhat appealing as it is as ugly as a car can get

Personally, I don't find it ugly. ("Des goûts et des couleurs, on ne discute pas")

Many French people, including my brother, find the Chrysler PT Cruiser very ugly.

did you manage to sell it afterwards? :)

Are you kidding? I would not have dared selling this junk to anybody!

And Gordini looks so funny with those tiny wheels on it lol

The wheels on the R12 Gordini were not really tiny.

Classic car collection can turn your world become beautiful again

Very nice @vcelier ...bless

Thankyou for sharing @vcelier. .

Good lief hold full injoya sir

@vcelier
If you may please look at your wallet i sent you a tiny gift.
Omar

Greeting from Ukraine !!! I read your story in one go. You are a very interesting person with an interesting life. Abbotsvo, Tahiti, cars. I wish you sunny days and great human happiness. I will definitely read all parts of your story. Sincerely, Irina.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65