death comes to us all - an original poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Death comes for us al


death is coming for us all
for life is a deadly disease
and up on you it is sneaking
don't look over your shoulder
you might see it's ghastly face

the end is never very pretty
old age, sickness or an accident
the best is to die in your sleep
dreaming of the ones you loved
secretly yearning to be reunited

leaving house by ambulance or hearse
moving to a hospital or the morgue
to suffer more or slowly get cold
in a hospital bed or a dark icebox
while tended to by nurse or coroner

then after you die the vultures
over earthly goods they circle
picking away at you ex posessions
among each other loudly squabling
the looks on their faces greedy

most don't care about the personal
are only interested in the material
that brand new stereo or a painting
and a spiffy lamp that looks so good
fighting over belongings impersonal

remains that are not wanted
are thrown onto the garbage heap
sold online for a bit of cash
including things to you so very dear
like things you got from your lover

you might then be dead to the world
but to me you will always be near
while i am looking at your hair pin
worn by you each and every day
in that you live on for me

i think how for me you cared
the happy times we used to have
you still live on in my memories
and you will only die for real
when i am finally also dead

@madevi

Image credits - ractapopulous

Not a happy subject, i know, but a fact of life for sure. This poem came about by my experiences with the aftermath of my step father dying in 2003. It is an amalgamate of this and a few other deaths I experienced the aftermath of.

After he died the vultures came down on his stuff like they always do. They were fighting for the stuff that was worth money and totally uninterested in the personal things, most of that was shoved into a container. I was unable to do anything about that since I wasn't the executor of the estate... As I had seen this happen before and I knew my step brothers' attitude in this world it didn't surprise me much, although it hurt to see this happening. This man, my step father, had raised 42 (!) step children during his life, together with my step mom who died the preceding year. The first children came out of world war 2 without parrents and I was the last one to have been taken in by these two awesome people. Without them my life would not be what it is today. I owe them all and still miss them every day. After he died all I wanted was the personal, so I have my dad's lighter and wallet, because they were always on him, from my mom I have her pill box. The hair pin from the poem I was supposed to get later on but my 'brother' decided differently, so I have to treasure it from memory. After my dad died I cut all ties with all of them as this was not the first huge disappointment they made me suffer. I might write a poem about the other things as well some time. I will end with this picture of my step parrents, it was taken at their 45th anniversary and is a fixed piece in my house. It's a picture of a picture, so the quality isn't that great...

CIMG0926-1.JPG

we @poetsunited are working to make our community more visible and effective, often many hours a day and 'till deep in the night. If you are curious about that just visit the brand new @poetsunited blog page or our equally new website poetsunited.org . We have also instituted a new role: "subscriber" which gives the subscribers some real nice perks! We now also have our very own upvote bot!

I hope to be able to write more poetry again but there's still al ot of work to do for our community as well, like writing tutorials, community reports and contests. We're soon also restarting the Daily Dose

If you want to read more, check out some more stuff I wrote:


burst that bubble baby!
words untamed
crossing the rubicon
if the shoe fits...
true love never dies
if you're not confused
too dangerous to touch
a tale of eleven cities
consumed by consumption
return to innocence
she burns bright
chaos and order
my valentine
a limerick about my birthday
a circle shaped short story (J.A.S.E.)
luctor et emergo
a poetic poetry review - daily dose 24
an experiment with word shape and meaning
excercise with shape and words
coincidence?
fifty - fifty
feelings in motion
my drowning land
nothing from nothing
infinite bandwidth
just a limerick
i've always been me
life is suffering
An anecdotal poetry experiment
When it rains it pours
Dreaming about Steeming
For the love of stones
Mind, body and soul
United dreams
Talk about addiction






Poetsunited upvote bot
witness tutorial
Daily Dose #68
Daily dose #66
Daily Dose #65
Result banner contest
Daily Dose #52
The Hunt #4
Daily Dose #49
Daily Dose #47
Daily Dose #43
is this the new DD banner?
Daily Dose #30
Free the drugs

Visit our community website at poetsunited.org

Join our Dlive shows on Friday nights 9pm CET

The biggest community for poetry and prose on Steemit!

#POETSUNITED

(use to be considered for Daily Dose or to use our upvote bot)

Join us on our Discord Server click here




Sort:  

Very well written poem, my friend! I hope to go peacefully in my sleep and I hope there is nothing left for the vultures to fight over...lol

Thanks man! Glad you liked it. Yes, my dad had the luck, or sense?, to die in his sleep. He looked very peaceful. And indeed it's best to have nothing to fight over, it means you used it all during your life :D

Oh my oh my oh my this post is worth so much to me! I cannot even begin to describe it! I actually find it quite hard to talk about it right now, but it makes me feel a lot, and it is so filled with love... I can literally see how you love these people through the picture of the picture. And it makes me so fulfilled to know that you honor them with both poetry and text, raw and honest words needed to be seen - for you are absolutely right.

Thank you for your touching comment, thanks for seeing me... I could never pay them back in full, ever. Although it was because of me, in a way, that they lived their last 12 years of life. So at least I have paid back a little, which makes me feel grateful even more. My mother is always with me, because she was so common sense, I hear her wise sayings every now and then. My dad was an intellectual, you could never predict where he would end his reasoning so I miss him most. I hope the emotions I triggered are bearable for you.

Yes, it is bearable. It was quite relieving actually, that is why I couldn't describe it. These are feelings I've carried for many many years, especially about personal things, values that are not recognized by others. This also makes me think about our over-consumption, how we all are little bubbles that will burst eventually (did you get that), but we act like we never will. It gave me much to feel, but it is as I said relieving. It has been much to bear as a child, these thoughts. Great to get them free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37