Steemit Poets United : Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #52 ( @madevi edition )

in #curation6 years ago

DQmUPDDnLJTXvsRnV563iYRXa8hehgfDXr62hNWne61UCxr.png

Daily Dose #52

Hello poets and poetry lovers!

Sorry for the late appearance of this Daily Dose but I wasn't aware that nobody had signed up to do it... I found out only a couple of hours ago, so I cleared my todo list for this evening and i got cracking. I have to say there were just too many good entries today to leave a single one out, so I read them again and wrote up a small teaser for every one of them. I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I did.

I hope more of you will sign up to write the Daily Dose, we will give you all the assistance that you need and you will learn a lot that will come in handy on Steemit. So, if you would like to make it sometime, that would be great. Just contact me (@madevi) or @angelveselinov to sign up and contribute to this community, it comes with perks too...

Now on to the poetry...

@princedone

This is a poem that deals with the ups and downs of life and is the first poem reviewed here by Poets United written by this new addition to our group. Give him a warm welcome please! One note to @princedone: you must use the poetsunited hashtag to be reviewed here, since you are new I have overlooked this for once...

Worry with teardrop

@cyemela

Another new addition to Poets United is @cyemela who posted a poem from 2009. I think he finds it one of his best and I have to say it is a very nice one. It reads like a short western film!

a desert poem

@quillfire

Quillfire is the most skillful poet in our little group and he could be the number one poem every day. This poem is a masterclass in poetry and he even invented his own form of sonnet, the Savagerean Sonnet. If you like poetry this is one not to be missed. And I mean this post and this poet!

Raving Refrain

@sir.skillful1

A very wise piece of advice from, what's in a name, @sir.skillful1. He implores us to remember where we came from when we reach a crossroads, so we would choose better. One note though to @sir.skillful: the tag is poetSunited with an S...

Standing on the crossroads

@levitated0mind

This one really rang a bell with me as it reflects my feelings today to a t. Loneliness eating away at your soul...

Loneliness is a disease

@angelveselinov

This poem from my fellow restless soul Angel Veselinov is exactly what i needed, it is inspiring us (me) to hold on and realize that it ain't over 'till the fat lady sings the blues. I am glad you used the time off to recharge your batteries and family life, you deserved it much!

Hold on be strong

@stephey

This great poem is about a creature form the order Lepidoptera who has characteristics of a Greek mythological figure. Now don't rush off to your search engine, you will understand when you read this really nice poem by @stephey.

Lost youth

@natinonall

If you have followed this Daily Dose for at least a week, you will be familiar with @nationall, one of our oldest members. It is about love lost and faith betrayed, good stuff!

war of betrayal and love

@akinboyewa

He introduces a new word into my vocabulary which refers to the spirits of children that die young.

Abiku (Letters to a Wolrd unknown

Well that's it from the poets of PoetsUnited and me for today. I hope you enjoyed reading them and gave them the love they deserve. Many new Steemians don't realize that a comment is also a post and good for your accounts power, so comment on a poem you like and upvote it, that's how we make each other grow!

@madevi for @poetsunit

poetsunited footer.png

Join our Dlive shows on Friday nights 9pm CET

The biggest community for poetry and prose on Steemit!

#POETSUNITED (use it to be considered for the Daily Dose)

Join us on our Discord Server Click Here

lf7qso7hftnfnic5e1be.gif

STAY STEEMY FRIENDS👌😉

Sort:  

@madevi & @poetsunit,

As always, your words are as generous as they are articulate. Thank you for all the great work you do for this group. You've curated some great poetry. I'm in the process of commenting.

If only we got paid by the word. :-)

I wrote only the truth my friend... I dread to think of what this brings in monetary wise, not for me obviously since we post from @poetsunit. With all the work we do for the community there isn't much time left to write some poetry of my own, let alone comment. I hope this will change soon when some others volunteer to write the Daily Dose.

@madevi,

This place is frustrating. I'm getting 2-4 hours per sleep per night to try to fit it all in, which is unsustainable ... and yet I'm lucky, on average, to make $2 per post. If there's a way to make higher-quality posts, it is beyond me. Yet look at so much of the "stuff" getting 3-figures everyday on Trending.

And, obviously, I'm not alone. There's a huge systemic problem on Steemit which undoubtedly accounts for the huge number of people who come ... see ... and then leave. I hope somebody upstairs is working on a fix.

Thanks for everything you're doing for the community. I'm working on something that, if it comes through, may make writing poetry a bit more lucrative for everybody ... and perhaps, increase the incentive to volunteer. If that doesn't pan out, I have some other ideas as well. I'm not happy with the status quo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37