When it rains it pours...

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

When it rains it pours...






doctor said my life was over
no use for four leaf clover
a cancer incurable and swift
would turn out to be a rift
only six months left to go
i tell this doctor loudly "NO!"
i said determined "I will live"
'cause i have so much more to give
then my girl leaves, me in tears
after loving me for ten years
it was cancer she couldn't take
and love she couldn't fake
another loved one died of it too
still no reason to leave me blue
economy and banks were failing
and my company too was ailing
mortgage wasn't being paid
so the banks just did a raid
with radiotherapy a tiresome verb
i find my stuff out on the kerb
they kicked me out onto the street
leaving me with just my feet
i load my car with clothes and cats
leaving the rest out for the rats
emergency sell my car
money doesn't take me far
no family, love and parents dead
no back home and no way ahead
most "friends" turned out fake
thought about drowning in a lake
but then i met my fellow homeless
their experience saved me, god bless
they showed where to sleep in the park
on dry leaves it was still cold and dark
told me where to get some food
together then we drank and chewed
day and night, rain and sun we braved
they are truly society's best behaved
authorities so cold and inhumane
no love do their hearts contain
they keep giving me the run around
telling me they are not bound
life countdown going on 6,5,4,3,2,1
zero, +1,+2,+3,+4 I am not yet done?
then i manage to get myself a room
could this be an end to all the doom?
i'm crying at the kitchen table
i feel i am not relation able
loneliness has gripped my soul
feels like sinking in a hole
enter an angel my junior by 16 years
tells me she loves me without fears
i tell her to go and have some fun
you're young and healthy so just run!
She said: that advice i will decline
for nearly four years she was mine
now we are "just" best friends
for true love really never ends
now fast forward to today
my feet still feel like clay
but my souls fire set them baking
my health slowly is improving
determined to not stop moving
a foothold life is slowly taking
stopped counting extra months i got
when i will die i do know not
getting reacquainted with life again
i do it step by step, grain by grain
The steps i'm making getting smaller
all the while i am standing taller
dreams for future slowly reawaken
despite of all that has been taken
now you better understand my previous post
i have almost made it to the roof, no boast
it is true, when it rains, it pours
all you can do is craft a boat and oars
keep faith, the weather will turn too
clouds will part, the sun again will warm you

I kept the rhyme scheme simple because it was hard enough to just write this down for the first time. I cried quite a bit while writing it, of course I know all of it in my head, but seeing it written down did something to me nonetheless. It was quite a ride I made, it has utterly changed me, made me both stronger and weaker at the same time. But now I am certain I will make it to the roof, I can almost see the last step of the stairs and will bask in the sun soon. Me starting to write again is just another step up the stairs. I have forgiven all that have failed me for they do know what they have done, but more importantly I want to thank all that have helped me survive and get here: I.d.L. & R.K. & K.O. (you know who you are: I love you all to bits) Lastly I want to thank @AngelVeselinov for helping me reacquaint myself again with the writer in me. I hope my story will help others get through their ordeals in life.

image credits

Sort:  

I knew that this post is 5 month old but my emotion compels me to write this comment. It's the most emotional poem I've ever read, and trust me I've read a lot of them. The pain and suffering you've experienced truly touched me, especially the part where you're left homeless and your "friends" disappears from your life. Fortunately, there are still some people (the homeless and your junior) that lend a hand and cares for you. I'm truly glad that you're well now @madevi. Thanks for sharing this wonderful poem.

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

Words won't do... Let's try the emoticons, hope they represent how I felt reading this. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💘💘💘💘💘💘💘💘❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️💕💕💕💕💕💕💖💖💖💓💓💓💜💛💚💙💗💙💙

I saw your reaction this afternoon, and I was lost for words in turn, luckily my guest arrived. Now I am still lost for words really, all I can come up with is: thank you 💜.

Woww...what a beautiful poem...as I read it I found myself getting really absorbed in it...it is really relatable and I'm specially in love with the rhyming scheme...everything appeared so real and fantastic...you're really good

Thanks for your kind words, glad you liked it. It's just some of what happened to me and not all by far. I hope the reason you found it relatable isn't a bad one, I would wish that no one would have to go through that but life just isn't fair sometimes.

My friend truly amazing poem, post and story. I have nothing but respect for what you have told us and what you shared. I feel honored to know you and I am ecstatic that I was able to help ignite the poetic fire in you. Wish you all the best. I have included your poem in our daily issue and reviewed it there . I hope you like what I had to say there. I am really touched thank you once again. Keep on Writing. I swear you are making a difference much more than you know...

Thanks for including me in the review once again, I hope to write many more posts, not all poems though.

I am sure you will my friend. You have a great story to share. Keep fighting. You are best example to show others... Be Blessed. Peace Health and Love.

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #5 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

@madevi

Holly crap! Wow this is jam-packed full of imagery it's hard to unpack everything this made me feel.

Hi @madevi! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dreemsteem :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

I always have words. and i dont really just yet.
i'll leave my tip! simple and upvote... but i'll also resteem. i see it's past its payout - but hopefully more people will follow like ive just done. Thank you for sharing your heart. it's beautiful - and @angelveselinov is really an angel hehehe another person we share in common.
@d-vine read this when you get the chance. I think it will so resonate with your beautiful heart and strength.

i can't resteem now??? its too late?

Thank you for sharing your story - I can relate to the crying while writing it down - Have been there and done that - you don't realise how much you hold inside even when you know the story by living it. I'm so glad you're doing better :) Following

Thank you @andysantics, it was a hard time and then you toughen up, you need to. But yes, you are right, since i got off the streets i have thought every year i was over it... and every year i was proven wrong. But the 'things' are getting smaller every time so i guess i'm doing good. :)

The only advice I could give to anyone that has gone through some sort of trauma or emotional distress is to talk talk talk... Somehow it takes away the power it has over you! I had an experience at about 21 which was horrific and at 40 I talked about it. Way too late but that's when the tears came and o lot of them believe me!

yes, i am known to do that... grins

I am sorry you went through this lost a lot too becoming sick but was thankfully saved by strangers. Still struggling but not as bad. being homeless really is horrible :( glad things are better for you. were you able to keep your cat friends on the road or did you lose them too ? :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51