if you're not confused - an original poem

in #poetry7 years ago

"If you are not confused, you are not thinking"- Albert Einstein



I was listening to the radio and heard this quote, it inspired me to write this poem. I decided to make all the lines equal in length to the first part of the quote, since a poem about a dog in the shape of a dog seems to elude me for now. I have experimented with shaped poems a bit more, but none satisfy so far. Again I made a screenshot from my text editor because of the font not having uniform width here on Steemit.


confused.png

@madevi

If you want to read more, check out some more stuff I wrote:

too dangerous to touch
a tale of eleven cities
consumed by consumption
return to innocence
she burns bright
chaos and order
my valentine
a limerick about my birthday
a circle shaped short story (J.A.S.E.)
luctor et emergo
a poetic poetry review - daily dose 24
an experiment with word shape and meaning
excercise with shape and words
coincidence?
fifty - fifty
feelings in motion
my drowning land
nothing from nothing
infinite bandwidth
just a limerick
i've always been me
life is suffering
An anecdotal poetry experiment
When it rains it pours
Dreaming about Steeming
For the love of stones
Mind, body and soul
United dreams
Talk about addiction





Daily Dose #47
Daily Dose #43
Banner Design Contest
Daily Dose #37
is this the new DD banner?
Daily Dose #30
Free the drugs


And if you like them, please upvote, resteem or follow! All are appreciated.

Madevi.

umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu!

Sort:  

I was really caught with this line"brains made to be used to stop life'stinking" just the perfect rhyme to end the line!😍

Thank you very much, it took me some time to come up with that, it kept coming out one character too long or short :) Somehow I find it pleasing when all the lines are equal length...

Great writing

Nice work! 👍

Thanks for sharing, it's actually a really nice poem

Another great one! Nicely done :)

@madevi,

Great poem all around! Great idea (always a good bet to quote Einstein), technically well-written and a story well-told.

I really like how this one is put together! The words rhyme very well together, and structure is clever. It is definitely true that when learning something new, there are also new questions that arise that will stump us. Good stuff!

It's poetry but written with science. I like how you structure it around Einstein's quote. When you talk of shaped poetry, it reminds me of Apolinaire. The best of the best when it comes to that field (ok, he's French, but still!). "Assumption being the mother to all that's fucked up". Really enjoy everything in there about pre-established thoughts. :)

"Assumption being the mother to all that's fucked up!" I can feel the anarchy here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52