my valentine - a poem

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)





my valentine



my valentine, my lady of the night
for you my heart still wants to fight
not just today you are my valentine
everyday you can have this heart of mine
but you refuse to take it on
and with that for you it's done
still to you my heart keeps returning
cause my crush for you is burning
when we're together it feels so naturally
a shame you're the one who doesn't see
that really we're a most perfect fit
it makes me feel like sinking in a pit
so today i will say it out loud again
i still and always want to be your man
and i do know that perfect i am not
but plenty more to give i got
so until that joyful day
when you say yes instead of nay
i just will have to be content
with being 'just' your friend

@madevi

image credits

I think we all know how it feels, you love someone but she or he doesn't love you back. And if they are a friend that doesn't make it easier... I tried to capture those feelings in this poem: love, despair and hope...

Thanks to @rubencress for the image!



If you want to read more, check out some more stuff I wrote:

a limerick about my birthday
a circle shaped short story (J.A.S.E.)
luctor et emergo
a poetic poetry review - daily dose 24
an experiment with word shape and meaning
excercise with shape and words
coincidence?
fifty - fifty
feelings in motion
my drowning land
nothing from nothing
infinite bandwidth
just a limerick
i've always been me
life is suffering
An anecdotal poetry experiment
When it rains it pours
Dreaming about Steeming
For the love of stones
Mind, body and soul
United dreams
Talk about addiction





Free the drugs


And if you like them, please upvote, resteem or follow! All are appreciated.

Madevi.

umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu!

Sort:  

This Post Has Been Included In The Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #29 Valentine's Edition . Also You got an upgoat worth roughly 0.45$ in post rewards. Enjoy.

This is a wonderful poem and touched my heart!
Loving someone who does not return the same feelings... Trying to be the one and not..... Painful yet in many cases the truth!

Nevertheless

I wish you a happy valentines day!

xxx
Snekky

@poeticsnake happy Val's day💋💋💗

Thank you! Valentines day can be hard if it's like that and the whole world is reminding you... You have a great V-day too, for as far as possible ;) xxx

@madevi nice poem.

This poem has my five star rating :🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Oh yeah, I know how it feels when someone you truly love doesn't love you back.....

Experience is not an excellent teacher cuz the scars of her stroke can last a lifetime

yup, it could teach you to build a wall around you everytime that happens. It is hard to keep perspective on love if you have a few real bad experiences, and it can take a lot of time to tear the wall down again, but we must.

Nice poem! I hope next valentines day there will be a poem about the love of your life! :)

I hope next year she will have seen it too :D One can hope right?

Do more than hope! Take action!

i do, but she is still healing from a previous relationship and by her own reconing "unapproachable" and she rejected me flat out grin

That is understandable in time it will heal! You keep being there for her. I had a relationship a lot like that tbh. After a year or so something came of it all. But is never lasted very long, still friends just didnt work!

I will be there for her... A shame it didn't work out for you two, but in a way it did as well, sometimes 'just' being friends is the best you can have...

Yeah but I have met someone amazing now so i am not complaining at all!

That's great, it all worked out for the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49