One photo every day: Cataloguing the plants #6, Apenkieli – Sansevieria (Edit: "Anopinhammas"?) (234/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

Decided to continue the cataloguing business since I hadn't finished it yet...

This plant was given to me by my mother when I was 15 or 16 years old. It has died a few times, only to be resurrected by some loving girlfriend, or later, my to-be wife. This plant is a super hero who just keeps coming back no matter how dead it looks.

Sansevieria
Sansevieria

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.5
Exposure: 1/125 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

My mom never told me what plant it was, other than its Finnish name; Apenkieli. It translates to father-in-law's tongue. Anopinkieli (Mother-in-law's tongue) is much more common, and in fact, googling "Apenkieli" didn't give me any meaningful results, only one article pondering how it's "so problematic" that plant names are so sexist and unequal, listing "anopinkieli" with some other feminine plant names. The click-bait title of the post read "Anopinkieli vai apenkieli?", as if to make the case that there isn't a masculine name for a plant.

Anyway... Took me a while to write this.

See you again with other photos!

Edit: Vera found something called "Anopinhammas" ("Mother-in-law's tooth", Sansevieria trifasciata hahnii) that looks very similar to this plant.

Earlier in "Cataloguing the plants":

  1. Miro's Cactus
  2. Leo's Echinocactus grusonii
  3. Leo's Senecio serpens
  4. Crassula
  5. Nepenthes


Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Emptiness in white (233/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Kiemis being funny. (227/365)
A better skating photo. (228/365)
My first attempt at stock photography – Crosswords with product placement. (229/365)
Trezor (230/365)
Shrovetide Sunday Bun (231/365)
Product shoot – Steam Controller (232/365)
Emptiness in white (233/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

It is a hardy plant that needs love from time to time to be reborn
:P
Jaro, excuse me asking you, what program do you use for the edition of the photographs?

Darktable, it's similar to Lightroom, but free (and works on Linux).

thank you, I will give it a look

I've been experimenting with Darktable on both Linux & Mac OS. I'm getting ready to move to a Linux notebook when my ageing MacBook Pro finally dies and I will replace Lightroom with Darktable. ( I used to be a Linux sysadmin before retiring.)

I wonder where that name to plant came from? Did someone find similarities to the tongue of their mother-in-law and the plant!?😁

It's plants time again with the immortal Apenkieli – Sansevieria.
If we could only have the plant genes so we could resurrect with a few bottles of water.
Or have an immense lifetime like the great oak :(

Hi again @gamer00 cool plant, the glowing illumination makes it look like it's just resurrect again right now.

The plant dead and resurrected!! Strange. Though I know of plants which died and came back to life. I guess it is wonders of life.

Haha, now those are some names for a plant! It's nice that you were able to resurrect the plant! Well not you, but someone else :P That plant doesn't want to die...

That is one hell of a white background. You can't even see the edge of the image because it blends so well with white.

And also is it just me or does changing plant and animal names to more gender-neutral forms seem little ridicilous?

Your photos always look so alive.. don’t even know how else to express it! And maybe the mystery around the plant makes it even more interesting and memorable. :)

Plants that are hard to kill are the best for me!

I saw this plant many times , but not know it's name. Nice pic dear jaro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87