One photo every day: My first attempt at stock photography – Crosswords with product placement. (229/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

Hi!

Here's something different for you all! =)

The whole day I had this idea in my head that I should do a stock photo of me (or my hand) filling a Sudoku puzzle as I love them. But when I eventually got to taking the photo I realized all our Sudokus were mysteriously missing.

Gladly we had just received a customer magazine from our national S-market chain of shops, so I quickly browsed to the last opening, and found a crosswords puzzle... Just what I needed! Not quite a Sudoku, but might pass as a subject for a stock photo shoot!

Soon...

crosswords
Filling crosswords and having a glass of rum.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/4
Exposure: 1/40 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

No I wasn't paid for this. No-one actually pays me anything for my photography, I just shoot things that I find interesting subjects to photograph. Oh and btw. If you want to use this photo, go ahead, it's freely licensed. (Psst! They all are!)

Anyway, as it is I just enjoy The Kraken, and hey, the Pentel EnerGel pen is just phenomenal, amazingly smooth, and dries up almost instantly. As a lefty, I love it! :)

P.s. I also made a black and white version of the photo.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: A better skating photo. (228/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Fellman Manor // Lahti City (Historical) Museum (222/365)
Updating my dad's laptop (223/365)
We celebrated my 2000 followers in my brother's new sauna! (224/365)
Runebergintorttu / Runeberg's tårta (225/365)
Skating in Lahti Central Square (226/365)
Kiemis being funny. (227/365)
A better skating photo. (228/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Story telling through the lens of camera sounds more fun than reading an actual story.. at least thats the case for me.. though i am not a photographer but i have an immense interest in it..
one picture each day for 365 days? That sounds a lot but a professional photographer such as yourself won’t have any trouble doing it..

This is the first time i have come to your blog while i was surfing through steemit. It is nice to meet you and hope i can make your acquaintance..
blessings..

Nice to meet you too Jay!

I don't think you actually need to be a photographer to take the challenge. But it helps if you are interested in photographer to pull all the 365 days through. Even for someone who's very adept at photography itself, photographing a whole year daily may come as "too much work". But the truth is you don't always have to put in 100 % into it, at least not every single day.

I checked your blog and yes, I think I'm a follower now. :) I also resteemed that insightful post about immigration and travelling you posted a couple days ago, I think you are right on point there. As much as I dislike the current business of importing immigrants without much thought or critique, I also hate the cultural reaction it brings about. I've seen it in Finland too, but haven't yet heard of too many cases of violence against travellers, and hopefully won't.

So I hope many of my followers be reading your post then. :)

I don't think you actually need to be a photographer to take the challenge. But it helps if you are interested in photographer to pull all the 365 days through..

Well i think i am in.. my job is really tough so i barely get time to make a post on steemit.. but i will see what i can do.. we all take pictures everyday anyway.. so i just need to put a little more effort and perspective into it and probably my pictures will be worthy enough to be part of OPED project..

Secondly, yes i came back to personally thank you for curating my both active posts.
You are spot on. Immigration policy needs to be revised cause i can tell you honestly, a lot of “unnecessary” people are getting migrated to developed countries and its causing alot of hate from natives. And natives are not wrong here. Its like immigration has become a business and those who like to make easy bucks without working harder are abusing this system effectively...

Once again thank you for the resteem and the curation. You have managed to motivate the photographer in me and hopefully you will be seeing my OPED Project pictures really soon..

Much blessings and regards..

@gamer00,
Free licenses! Jaro, I don't think it's a good idea! Look at shutter stock and how they earn! Hope you can add your photography there! And provide here a watermark version!

Cheers~

I once had a row with a guy who claimed one can't make a living by giving up on some copyrights and not being gung-ho about demanding everyone who copy or use their work without compensation pay up.

He ended the argument with a pissy fit claiming that I am not a creator, that I don't contribute anything so I don't have a say in the matter, and wouldn't have another word from me. (Not entertaining the thought that I may have been participating on the Internet for a lot longer than him, contributing tirelessly without any compensation.)

Anyway, lately with Steem I am fairly confident I finally have an upper hand on those kinds of conversations. I can both contribute, and get compensated for my work, so why shouldn't I release my photos under free licenses?

I always love your OPED project and from this OPED only I came to know about you and you have got excellent photographic skills.

Thank you....steem on and stay blissful....

I liked your idea of "freely licensed". Anyway nice photography.

Thank you

It's an interesting concept and it breaks a lot with what you do every day, I like it

all our Sudokus were mysteriously missing.

LOL
Yes that always happens tomorrow as magic art all the Sudokus will appear
XD

I saw your photo and I wanted to comment that "Hey, you are lefty!". Then I read your post and I didn't get the chance to be so sharp-eyed.

Haha, sorry about that. :)

There are people doing creative common arts on steemit now. @fabiyamada is one I can remember right now. I think you should look into doing more of stock pictures. Just a suggestion anyway.

@gamer00 - Sir you have invested on photography... Look Sir, you bought camera, lenses & other tools & gadgets... Then you started photography... Those are professional photography Sir... Today you made another stunning photography... If you sell them you can make more & easy money Sir...

+W+

I wonder... If I sell them, I will do it on a physical media (e.g. canvas print, metal prints) with a custom edit (and maybe a signature if asked), but I'm quite confident Steem will suffice when it comes to making money.

haha it is a nice touch the "KRA" to one side of the photo, it is a great photo : D

It has happened to me also, all day with an idea in my head to finally get home and not having all the materials I need, is a nightmare, is a cool photo but i like more the black and white version by the way did you finish the crossword? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72