One photo every day: Cataloguing the plants Part #2, Leo's Echinocactus grusonii (203/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago

HI! :)

After one of the most gruesome editing sessions I've had, I have an honor to exhibit you the Windowsill plant number 2: Kultasiilikaktus... eh, more better known with its English name, Teh Golden Barrel Cactus.

Echinocactus grusonii
Echinocactus grusonii surrounded by beeswax candles

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: EF-S18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6 III
Focal length: 35.0 mm
Aperture: ƒ/11
Exposure:  0.3 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

I can't understand why it is so hard to edit away a purple haze behind a picture. I hate it when that happens. One can't really check if a photo has something like before bringing the photos into an editor. And then it's a major pain to get rid of. Oh well... The photo still looks pretty cool.

I shot the cactus because it was reasonably small. I'm still wondering how to photo the big plants. Well maybe it'll come to me tomorrow...

Anyway, the candles are made by Leo himself, using sheets of beeswax and wrapping them around the candle wick. I recall he made the candles some years ago. You can see the dust on the candle holders, it's like they were brought from some old dusty castle just for this occasion. Or that I am a lazy bastard when it comes to cleaning things up before shooting them. Either way, they seem authentic enough.

See you with another photo, tomorrow! :)



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Cataloguing the plants Part #1, Miro's Cactus (202/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

Dead Chili (196/365)
War boat (197/365)
Guess who had other things on his mind than photography. ;) (198/365)
Kiemis again (199/365)
Furry Frost (200/365)
Quick snapshot of our windowsill plants. (201/365)
Cataloguing the plants Part #1, Miro's Cactus (202/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I love the look of your beeswax candles. So cool. Also your plant looks like a porcupine camouflaging.

Jos jää jotain turhaa väriä siihen kuvan taustaan niin tässä tapauksessa pystyt ihan raa'asti vaan poistamaan koko taustan :D eli siis photoshopissa leikkaat kaikki alueet noiden kynttilöiden ja kaktuksen ympäriltä ja sitte taustalle lisäät mustan (tai jonkun muun) taustan

Onhan tohon muitakin keinoja, mutta tämä toimii jos ei muu tunnu auttavan :D

Ei muuta kuin pensselöimään, niin lähtee värit pois kuin Kodin Putkimiehellä konsanaan. :D

Se on kyllä totta monesti, että jos ei oikee onnistu joku kohta kuvassa niin leikkaa sen pois tai peittää niin on ongelma ratkaistu :D

Mulla ei ole Photoshoppia, mutta mä onnistuin jotenkin..

Mää voin auttaa Photoshopin kanssa, jos joskut tarvit apua. Iteltää löytyy kokemusta sen kanssa

Kiitän kauniista eleestä, mutta Photoshop ei oikein ole mun juttu, enkä sen takia viitsis uutta konettakaan hankkia. Käytän sellasta pimiösovellusta kuin Darktable, se vastaa toiminnaltaan Adoben Lightroom -sovellusta.

Itellä on mennyt noin 3 tonnii koneisii niin pyörii Photoshopitki :)

Suunnilleen samoissa lukemissa minullakin, mutta eri käyttöjärjestelmällä.

It looks like you worship for something
& Leo is good candle makee.
Excellent photography.

Worship? Ooh I would hope not. ;)

Thank you on behalf of both of us!

This is one of the coolest photos that you have shared with us, I do not find any word to describe you my admiration for them
I've also participated in the challenge you offer, and today is 2 of 365

Thank you I really appreciate your kind words. :)

It's also cool to know you are taking up on the challenge too! I wish you luck and success in completing it!

Thank you very much @gamer00 , I hope you see them and tell me your opinion, because your support will make me complete what I started and will not give up

Good to know :), I'll be checking on your progress from time to time.

Thank you very much mr. @gamer00 , I appreciate you this

Very cool photo, the candles give it a nice vibe, and I wouldn't call you lazy, just taking the time to post one photo every day takes a lot of work.

Hy @gamer00 .... Its nice reading this and also i appreciate you for posting this likewise
I got lost in this post when you said;
"I shot the cactus because it was reasonably small. I'm still wondering how to photo the big plants. Well maybe it'll come to me tomorrow..."

Smiles...That triggers my wanting to go all through the whole post because i actually know less about Leo's Echinocactus grusonii..

Lastly, you arent a lazy bastard because even with the dust, the candle shoot got prettier. As most photographers will say "i like to turn things upside down, to watch pictures and situations from another perspective." Which i believed it was what happened in the picture

Seems like you put the candles there for scale lol! Pretty cool that your kid made the candles though!

You're beginning to hit big in the Arts & Crafts category! You're pushing at least two buttons with this one. Even without the candles this would've been a great photo. But with the candles it's even better. And they are candles made by Leo.

Was making the candles a school project?

School project, yes. :)

I was about saying awesome photo when I saw had Leo made the candles. Awesome kid! I think he's the one that plays the piano. If I may ask how old is he?? That boy is a great asset, train him well.

Thank you, I'll relay this to Leo. He is 11 years old, turns 12 in April.

Wow! I think I really need to know that kid... I'll be +1 in April too... April 2nd...

I think I mentioned I like cactus
XD.
I'm beginning to understand the way you make that photo.
I'll see if I encourage myself, with some imagination to achieve something similar
:P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56456.73
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13