One photo every day: Emptiness in white (233/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Heyya!

The Benches in Snow
These benches.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/1.4
Exposure: 1/125 s
ISO: 3200

I had an interesting photo "session" today.

After taking the boys home, I went off for a photo shoot hoping the skies wouldn't get too dark too soon. To my disappointment the sun still went down too early. Not phased with that I thought I might still get some shots using a higher ISO sensitivity setting. I could always turn the photos black and white.

When I finally got my camera out, I was stunned. I had forgotten the SD-card home.

"Hah!" I thought, "I'll take a spare card out of the bag and continue shooting!"

I had no memory cards in the bag. Turned out I had put them in my back pack the last time I was out with it, and that too was home.

The answer was already clear in my head, so I went and bought a new 64GB SDXC I card. If my camera doesn't support it I can always buy another, and also if I upgrade, I will already have an exceptionally good card for it.

When I tested it, I noticed I wouldn't be able to fill it in one session. I will probably never take over 2400 photos in a day.

Long story short, I took my camera and the new card to the harbour, and managed to shoot a slew of cool photos. The one attached on this post is taken at Pikku-Vesijärvi Park.

Because it was dark, and I had to use relatively high ISO settings, the photos had some static, so I turned most of them into monochrome to fight the grain.

So here you have it. :) Captivating benches in the snow. Emptiness in white.

I'll be back! See ya!



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Product shoot – Steam Controller (232/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Skating in Lahti Central Square (226/365)
Kiemis being funny. (227/365)
A better skating photo. (228/365)
My first attempt at stock photography – Crosswords with product placement. (229/365)
Trezor (230/365)
Shrovetide Sunday Bun (231/365)
Product shoot – Steam Controller (232/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Nice! I love that art style

Snow , bench .good photo

Coolness! Did you do this?! I LOVE it! Hey what does the beanie say? "UAOSI"?

The picture really looks like you JaJaJa!))
I almost forgot that you're so handsome lmao.

"Almost forgot" lol

There were not many photos of Jaro((
And my brain deletes memory every Sunday otherwise he can't process difficult daily tasks like take a nap or twerk in front of the statue of Buddha!

You are talented @askmee

Glad to see yet another Steemian display their workon Steemit!! 😊 Sweet idea of having up one picture each and everyday in order to get everybody motivated!

I decided to give back something to the great community, by showing how I would edit your picture and maybe spark some discussion.


15185599924901136907362-01.jpeg


Let me know if you like or dislike my edit! Lets get some actual discussion started on our great platform, instead of the superficial: "great post" or "beautiful picture" comments =)


👋 from Amsterdam

t.

Interesting... but where does the light come from? :-o

I would guess from the moon, or a lid building behind you.
Hmmm. Intersesting indeed @gamer00
Also take care of your SD cards they are just so tiny and easy to lose as you know ^ ^


t.

For me it looks very cool and scary (it looks like the scene of a scary movie) XD

But the story that accompanies the photos It's what I always enjoy the most. since it personally makes me see the photo in a different way ;)

It is so quiet there. I would love to sit and think about birds and frogs. And how they interact. Why birds and frogs? I have no idea, I'm insane.
Just to sit and enjoy the moment, even though it's very cold there.

You went to a lot of trouble to get that shot! That’s perseverance. It turned out very well. I love empty bench photos, and this one has a great story and it tells a great story too!

I will probably never take over 2400 photos in a day

What is the highest number of photos you have taken in a day?

The branches look dehydrated. I couldnt sight any leave.

I think there have been times I have taken over a hundred shots, generally I take at most 24 to 36 photos, equalling roughly a roll of film worth of photos. But often it's a lot less. I prefer quality over quantity.

Leaves would be a liability for most trees and bushes in the winter, that's the reason virtually all plants shed their leaves during Autumn. It's a different story for coniferous trees however.

Good pictures make a merry heart.

That is part of the adaptation behaviour exhibited by many plants for survival.

I think the leaves are shed because they would be damaged by frost. Growing new leaves helps the plant grow better. The fallen leaves provide the plant nutrients anyway.

The tree would not survive the winter if it had to support the leaves through it. That's what I meant with liability. As a survival strategy it is easier for the trees to cut off the leaves and conserve water and energy.

The process is called abscission. It's a hormonal process by which the tree breaks up the chlorophyll (the green pigment) to feed the tree with nutrients so it better survives the winter. During the separation of the leaves, the abscission process creates a layer of cells that simultaneously pushes the leaves out from their stem, these cells also acts as a protective layer over the exposed stem.

See I wasn't always asleep during biology classes. :)

After so many disappointment you came through. The photo shot is worth the trouble. The black and white looks awesome and the benches in the whole front of it looks better. It just as if they just calling someone to sit on them.. Lovely photo Story

Well, for me personally, I will prefer photos of the same quality if its down to color vs. black and white. I'm not exactly sure why, but it doesn't matter.
What matters is that this is beautiful! Perhaps my favorite photo I've seen so far that you've posted.

Haha, don't forget your SD-cards next time, lol! It's so annoying when you think you have something, but turns out that you left it at home and you're far away from it...

I know right. I once went to shoot a house demolition with my drone far from my home and I had forgotten my SD card. I had other SD cards with me but I only owned one which was good enough for my drone... I was kind of mad.

I like the photo a lot, it's a picture in a different type of black and white and at night with low light, bad luck what happened with the card, awesome that you could solve it, I do not think in that emptiness, I think that snow is a character that sets very well in any scene.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51