One photo every day: Cataloguing the plants Part #4, Crassula (209/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Nighty!

Vera woke me up in the middle of the night and asked if I shot my daily photo.

I hadn't. Why was I sleeping anyway?

So I had to set up my studio in the middle of the living room and start shooting.

Here's what I got:

Crassula
Crassula ovata

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/1.4
Exposure: 1/200  s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

I got this plant from my mother as leaf cuttings when Vera and I had moved together sometime after or about 2002. Anyways, I later ended up making a few cuttings from it myself. So, while this one likes to crawl, I've had success in growing its siblings (?) in upright manner to look more like little trees.

This plant hangs out on a small cupboard in front of our livingroom window. Something for Kiemis to look at.

I've been very tired lately. I have also started sneezing again. Another flu or cold coming up? I could do with a recovery holiday trip to some warm country I guess.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: How does Ultraviolet lamp work as lighting? (208/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

Cataloguing the plants Part #1, Miro's Cactus (202/365)
Cataloguing the plants Part #2, Leo's Echinocactus grusonii (203/365)
Pictbot photo machine review and a photo collage (204/365)
Cataloguing the plants Part #3, Leo's Senecio serpens (205/365)
Cranberry & cashew bread, macro photography. (206/365)
New microphone (207/365)
How does Ultraviolet lamp work as lighting? (208/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Wow! How you did it? My last was dead :(

Nice looking plant. Looks like it is very well taken care of.

Sorry about the flu @gamer00. Deal with quick before it becomes full blown.

Nice photo though.

This plant... why is it growing to the left side? :D
That's a huge angle comparing to the normal position in which plants often grow lol.

It's partly because plants want to grow towards the light, and since this one is situated in front of our livingroom window, it yearns for those afternoon rays and grows ever so hungrily towards the window whenever the sun is shining on our balcony and through, into our livingroom. :)

The other part of it is that I haven't kept turning the pot around every now and then to balance the growth.

Oh, it was obvious about the light. Sometimes I surprise myself how uneducated I am lol.
Well... Plants can even grow from the rocks or almost dead land. So it shouldn't be huge miracle for a plant to grow to the left))

I simply love your plant photos. Everytime there is new one from you, i’m eager to hear story behind it. And it also makes me eager to get more of these green beauties in my own apartment! Aren’t crassulas very slow to grow? So have i heard..

Thanks, I really appreciate the nice words!

I wouldn't say they are slow, alas Wikipedia disagrees. Maybe I've just not kept books on those many years they've taken to grow.

One thing I do know for sure is that if I had only one plant, I could use its leaves to create as many new plants as there are leaves on the original tree, and in a year or two I would have a small forest of jade trees, provided I had enough pots and soil. :)

Small forest in your own home sounds awesome!

 Thank you for posting dear @gamer00

Vera woke me up in the middle of the night and asked if I shot my daily photo. 

Well seems like Vera is in more stress and don't want to let you miss your daily target's and helping you throughout this journey to achieve the Target (365/365)

& how quickly you set up for studio for this shot "Crassula ovata" That is looking really nice ...Excellent shot 

 I got this plant from my mother as leaf cuttings when Vera and I had moved together sometime after or about 2002 

So many memories must have been attached to it always take care of it and keep sharing :) 

 I've been very tired lately. I have also started sneezing again. Another flu or cold coming up? 

Well take care from the start and take proper rest and keep clicking and steem on :)

Have a great Cheerful day ahead 

Cheers.  

When i said shooting a daily photo was hard work it wan't a lie, even if you where half sleep and a little sick i think you took a very good photo, but i am seeing soup photos coming out next? I hope start feeling well after a good night of sleep. Cheers

@gamer00,
A Steemian told me "Cold Water Shower" is a good way to fight against fever and flu :D I didn't check it, but if you wish you can try! Make a life insurance before that lol :D

Wonderful photography! How many times I told you you are addicted like me do :/

Cheers~

I've heard that ice swimming in a frozen lake has similar effects. Not that I'm very keen to trying it out...

How many times I told you you are addicted like me do :/

Not sure, but I recall you mentioning it once or twice. ;)

Great dedication,
I hope I can take my own #onephotoeveryday project as far as yours

Btw to be a photo taken in the middle of the night and half asleep it looks great

Onkos tämä nyt se rahapuu mistä silloon puhuttiin? :)

Keittiössä on kaksi, mutta Vera halusi ehdottomasti että ottaisin just tästä olohuoneen kasvista kuvan. En tiedä miksi. :-/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12