One photo every day: Cataloguing the plants Part #1, Miro's Cactus (202/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago

Hello hello, Everyone! :)

So I got the idea after I had read some of the replies to the photo I posted Yesterday. Yes, I could actually do that and tell you guys what plants we have here.

...aand here's the first one:

Miro's cactus
Miro's Cactus

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: EF-S18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6 III
Focal length: 40.0 mm
Aperture: ƒ/11
Exposure:  1/5 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

We are not sure what type of cactus this is actually. When we bought it it didn't have an identifier like these things usually have. Miro used to have a cactus before this one, but it managed to die few years ago so we bought this as a replacement. Good thing this one didn't die too, as it fell off the windowsill. Although... it is a bit crooked now.

Btw. this one was shot with the el-cheapo kit lens. Do you think I could've done better with the Sigma ART?

I wonder what plant I should shoot next...



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Quick snapshot of our windowsill plants. (201/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

Epiphany (195/365)
Dead Chili (196/365)
War boat (197/365)
Guess who had other things on his mind than photography. ;) (198/365)
Kiemis again (199/365)
Furry Frost (200/365)
Quick snapshot of our windowsill plants. (201/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I think you are a lover of nature. Maybe I am right.

Thats a beautiful shot. I can really appreciate what a good camera can do.

Thank you. But a good photo, it's part camera, part photographer, and you won't always need a good camera (while it sure helps). I may have to demonstrate it one day. :)

That all said, my camera is already quite old, so it's not an expensive camera anymore, if it ever was. It used to cost a 10th off the price of a really good camera.

That make sense.

but it was managed to take a few years ago so we bought this as a replacement.

Lol
if the captus managed well, the last one I had, lasted for years but years, until the day a nephew asked for it and I gave it to him
XD

Good thing this one did not die too, as it fell off the windowsill. Although ... it is a bit crooked now.

I already said that it looked like crooked, I really like the photo, and I saw that you said you used a special lens, i can get the same effect with a more modest camera?

i can get the same effect with a more modest camera?

If you have an external flash on a remote trigger and the camera can use it, nothing is impossible. :)

Great shot my friend, You've chosen a good place to take this picture
You should take a picture of the #sunflower plant this time

Thanks... Well you may have to wait for the Summer for me to shoot sunflowers. ;)

Haha yes I forgot it
I participated in your challenge and added your name

I have an ominous feeling that it's not the best idea to grab it with your full arm power.
So you even change the lens every time you do a photo. Photography is hard, man :(

The truth of the matter is I was lazy and didn't switch the lens. Maybe I'll do the next shot on another lens who knows. :)

I love how you set this up with the back ground! I am obsessed with black background for a long time. I think this is called barrel cactus, but not very sure. Miro's cactus sounds just fine too!

Oisko suosituksia opiskelijalle? Joku hieno, mutta semmonen jota ei tarvitsii kastella tunnin välein tai muuten kauheesti hoitaa :)

Rahapuut. Ne on järkyttävän helppoja, voisin väittää jopa helpommiksi kuin kaktukset, niistä kun näkee milloin niitä kannattaa kastella. (Kun alimmat lehdet alkaa jonkin verran rypistyä niin silloin on hyvä laittaa multa läpimäräks. Kesäkuumalla kantsii lehdet sumuttaa välillä.)

Semmonen siis! Tais kaverikin joskus mainita rahapuusta, niin nyt voisin sitten hankkia itselleni semmosen. On tylsän näköstä kun ei oo huoneessa muutaku sänky ja tietokonepöytä, vaikka onhan siinä ledit ja muut, mutta joku vihree ois hieno

Still looks like a pretty good shot for a kit lens. Can't complain about output like that from one! Glad it survived the drop, it looks cooler with the slight slant anyway lol.

The post that everyone was waiting for :)

My sister has a cactus but it happened somehow that I have to water it instead of her. If not - I'm so dead. Girls are scary when you don't water their cactus(((

Good thing cacti don't need much watering.

The scariest thing that she doesn't only have a cactus but a few other plants...))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51