One photo every day: Shrovetide Sunday Bun (231/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Shrovetide bun
We ate these!

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2
Exposure: 1/40 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

That's it for today! :)

See ya tomorrow. The Trezor post took me a while to compile so I had to cut this one a bit short.
I'll do the weekly compilation tomorrow! See ya!


Edit: @kaminchan asked for the recipe so after writing it in a comment, I decided to update the post with it too.


The recipe:

  • 5dl milk
  • 50g yeast (or 22g dry yeast)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 dl sugar
  • 1 tbsp cardamom
  • 1.5tsp salt
  • approx. 10dl wheatflour
  • 150g butter

For the surface glazing:

  • one egg
  • almond chips
  • icing sugar or nib sugar
  1. Take the eggs and butter to room temperature few hours before baking.
    Warm up the milk to 37°C (or 42°C if using dry yeast).
  2. Mix the yeast into the milk until fully dissolved.
    Add eggs, salt, sugar and cardamom. Mix well.
  3. Add in most of the flour. Knead and add more flour if needed.
  4. Add butter. Knead more (adding flour if necessary).

The dough is ready if it separates easily from the bowl.

Cover the dough, and let it rise in a warm place into about double its size.

After the dough has risen, knead the air bubbles from the dough. Let the dough rest about 10 minutes under a cover.

Make balls from the dough and place them on an oven tray. Leave plenty of space between the buns as they will double in size. Let them rise again under a cover cloth.
Brush the buns with the egg. Add almond chips or nib sugar.

Bake in 225°C for 10 minutes.

For the filling, you may add whipped cream and almond paste and/or jam. Remember to let the buns cool down before adding the filling, otherwise it will melt in.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Trezor (1.6.0) review.]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

We celebrated my 2000 followers in my brother's new sauna! (224/365)
Runebergintorttu / Runeberg's tårta (225/365)
Skating in Lahti Central Square (226/365)
Kiemis being funny. (227/365)
A better skating photo. (228/365)
My first attempt at stock photography – Crosswords with product placement. (229/365)
Trezor (230/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Ah, almond paste!! It totally divides opinions, but I prefer it most! I ate these buns few weeks ago and beforehand so much (oops!!) that when the ‘actual’ Shrovetide Sunday came, I could eat any. :-D

@gamer00,
How about your eye problem? I hope now it's okay! Atleast you didn't forget to capture a photography before you ate this bun:D Let's say a delicious photography :D

Cheers~

How about your eye problem?

It was worse Yesterday, and my eye went all red. Today it's much better, but still red.

Atleast you didn't forget to capture a photography before you ate this bun:D Let's say a delicious photography :D

Haha, I never forget, it's just that my posting it went a little bit late. I didn't get much sleep last night.

The photo looks great and tasty

After the Trezor review you deserve a sweet prize and that buns sure look so good, I bet they go in perfect combination with a cup of coffee, by the way Vera baked them? congratulations to the chef and good to know that you feel better. Best luck @gamer00 and see you tomorrow

Thanks, yes Vera baked them. And some normal sweet butter buns on top that we ate together with coffee today. :)

That's awesome man, so good, I bet your house must smell so delicious all day, you must have visitors all the time: D yummy.

Oh no... No more buns, I've already eaten so many sweets on Sunday. And I want more.
I'm basically a glutton for pastry. I love sweets so much that I see them in my dreams!! I need help :'(

Do you meann that you wouldn't eat more of these? What is that.

I would try those, I think.

Very healthy and fresh buns. Just like my tummy loves!
One day I will travel to Finland and try them (Because I'm a terrible cook and can't do them myself).

Is this cream bun or burger bun @gamer00?
Stylish capture.

It's a sweet bun with whipped cream and almond paste or raspberry jam.

Recipe in the updated post.

I like how the cheese looks, delicious.

Not cheese, whipped cream actually. :)

I updated the post with a recipe.

That looks like bread and cheese. If I am correct.

It's whipped cream. I updated the post with the recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56087.39
ETH 2965.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15