Love it Shove it Paradox

in #loveitshoveit6 years ago (edited)

image.png

The things I love so much ironically have an opposite side that really gets on my nerves. This is the beauty of the “Love it, Shove it” challenge by @snowpea. This challenge has gone around a lot as five are mentioned for each post it looks like the challenge will not stop. I was challenged by @redheadpei. At the same time this week I was challenged by @steemusa to introduce myself. It's about time that I do so. My official introduction post on Steemit is Who is Mineopoly? Some things have changed since then. I'm a American teaching in the Seoul city public schools. I'm married with two wild boys. I can't call the older one little anymore as he is getting as big as me. I like to write a post about anything I'm thinking about and then write a poem about it. Sometimes I will add some music or a video. My life story is revealed a lot in this post: 10 true and 1 lie. Today I will introduce myself by letting you know my paradox nature of love it/ shove it.

Love it!

I love writing a good post about education that is fun to read and offers something for English language learners, native speakers, teachers and can also be a good laugh for me and those who read it.


Shove it!!

image.png
image.png

I can't stand spam comments after I spend so much time to right a post some dude will jump in and post a link promising upvotes. This messes up the whole post. I love these guys who catch the spam comments but I get a lot of distress to see links on my page.



image.png

My Kids

Love it!

I love my kids. They are so cool and teach me about myself. I love it when they do things for themselves and I can see them grow. The youngest even helps me wash the dishes. He is so lovely. My oldest son is my companion and often takes an adventure with me. This time he even brought a friend.


Shove it!!

image.png

I can't stand when my kids make a mess. They don't think about what they are doing or ask me. They just go ahead and do it. Afterwards the whole house if filled with the mess and they are like, "He did it!"



image.png

Teaching

Love it!

I love teaching. This is the one opportunity I can try anything and everything. The job of teaching challenges me to use my talents and to actually care about something. Every week I teach English to more than 500 kids. My smile and greeting influences them. They really care and years later some of them come back. It is cool to be recognized on the street even if it is just to say, "hello".


Shove it!!

image.png

I can't stand the school system. Every thing from over crowded classrooms with the front of the classroom as the center of attention to school board presidents in prison so often that my contract is no longer signed by the school board president but just given a general stamp instead. I guess the part that hits me is base line decisions like making it illegal for first and second grade students to study English after school in public schools. This just gives more reason to have private academies after school.



image.png

Fresh Air and Nature

Love it!

I love fresh air and nature. This revives my entire being. I miss my hometown sometimes because of the fresh spring air off Lake Michigan.


Shove it!!

image.png

I can't stand yellow dust and air pollution I find in Asia. I can't stand wearing a mask in the spring every time I go outside.



Love it!

I love freedom of speech and freedom of religion. If you have something to say by all means just say it. I like it when people speak the truth from their hearts even if sometimes I am offended I can deal with it and learn.


Shove it!!

I can't stand superficial compromise. I can't stand disrespect for what men have taken years to cultivate. I can't stand bigotry. I can't stand indoctrination.



Verse of the Day/ Mark 3:5

"Stretch out your hand."

Mineopoly Quote:

Take a break. It's the weekend.


image.png

@mineopoly Posts on English and Education

First Day of School
Cleaning the English Classroom
ELS - I get where you're coming from
Creativity in the box
Is Nature the Best Teacher?
Dyslexia and Dyscalculia
Play
ESL I love you
Even Monkeys Fall From Trees
Groovy School
Distraction
Personality
K.I.S.S. Creativity
Proof of Brain
The Sounds of Silence
The Wall- Education
Shy
A Straight Line
Trains
Ryu Gwansun
Korean Independance Movement - Manse
Paint a Fish
Wisdom and Humility
Five Love Languages
Intermittent Media Fasting
COBOL Queen
The Greatest Teacher

@mineopoly Posts on Mining the heart

Steemit Tips
Will you be there?
Voices in a Blockchain
Avatar Falling Star
I am a Work in Progress
Songs of the Playground
Morning Miracle
Tasty Spam
Gold Dust
A happy Song
Collaboration
A Closer Walk 1
A Closter Walk 2
A Steemit Heart
Hearts joined together
Revival Korea
Feeling Groovy
As White as Snow
Unconditional Love
Strapped to a printing press- Batman
Choice Wine
The Sounds of Silence
I'm a Seoul man
It's not easy being Green
Reach Out and Touch
Who is Mineopoly?

Woodstock source. All other pictures are public domain at pixabay.com or a creation of @mineopoly.

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

Who should I tag?

@khaleelkazi
@violetmed
@krazypoet
@moderdayhippie
@swelker101

Try if you haven't yet.

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

The pollution is my biggest hate about Korea too. Unfortunately there are no signs that it's going to get better any time soon.

Yongin is a little better than Seoul. But the air is almost the same. Drink a lot of water :) Stay healthy.

I love the way you presented you Love it Shove it list in your own way :) and it made for such a great read

This is the way I want to present posts. It's easier to read but takes longer to put together^^

It’s great I need to learn how to present my posts better

I'm interested to see what happens with this tagging thing.

We are supposed to tag 5 and suddenly Shane's voice came to my mind. I think this will go on for a while @swelker101

Fantastic way you set up your ‘loveit/shoveit’ post with the wrap around text photos.. I enjoyed reading it and getting to know you a little better, Christopher @mineopoly. You have lots to love with your family in Korea and your pupils. I can sense how you miss your hometown in U.S.A., not only family there but the fresh air.

Thank you again @redheadpei for taking the time to comment and read and resteem. I'm glad you like the post. You are very kind. I'm too busy to spend much time on the computer... but you can use a "pull right" or "pull left" command on markdown to pull pictures and text. When I have questions about formatting I think about what I want and then add markdown steemit on a google search and good formatting posts come out that give a good answer.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.47$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

lol... Thanks for that post... It made me smile and it made me frown.

Your kids making a mess is just one small reason why I decided I don't want children (and luckily my wife made the same decision!). Of coure, it's more than any inconvenient mess... It's everything. The time and responsibility and worry, not to mention how expensive it is to have children! ;P ...

The public school system there seems worse than in Brazil! Which is really saying something. You're a braver man than I, because I wouldn't even consider working in a public school here... The salary is terrible and the work exhausting.

It's not that bad and it is getting better. A lot of corruption has been weeded out. It just disturbs me that my contract only gets worse. The current minister is clean. Kids are a blessing but a handful. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42