This song will get you GROOVY tonight!!

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

U5dsXRSEyXZSNjnYYu3YjasSagBovXT_1680x8400.png

The "micro grove"

on a vinyl LP was one of the first mentions of groove. You "put the needle on the record" and get a groove. But even before the LP another groove was appearing in the 1930s jazz scene referring to music that is swinging with a good rhythm or tight "in the pocket". This word "groovy" was coined to anything "excellent." Musicians follow a groove. It starts with a beat and then added and followed by hip accompaniment and swinging lyrics or solos. In the 60s Simon and Garfunkel reinvented the groove and a wonderful feeling.

"Ba da da da da da da feeling groovy."

If you ever heard the "59th Street Bridge" song from Simon and Garfunkel you would know what it means to be feeling groovy. For me this is the only way to survive on Steemit. I'm just here being groovy and that is all I really know how to do so I will share some grooviness with you.

image.png
source

How to be groovy on Steemit

  • First, Find someone who inspired you today and say thank you. Of course there are too many to mention but I will name three today. I'm feeling groovy to give thanks to these people:

@d-pend whose groove brings peace to the heart and love to all and inspires me to find beauty in this community.
@moderndayhippie who encouraged me to overcome my limits and make my first recording.
@amiramnoam who reminded me that it is ok to go against the flow.

  • Second, Get inspired. Get away from the computer and walk outside. All the words of the poems come when I look up at the sky or at the people all around. I'm never inspired by an LCD. That is just not groovy. I feel most groovy when I can write my own poem and it comes out with the sound of music. I'm thankful for the opportunity to use DSound and share with others.
  • Finally, be with groovy people. About a week ago I was really lost about where I could fit it but I am overcoming my shyness to post in #steemiteducation, #kr, #poetry, #writing, and find some groovy people there too. I found @alao and his inspiring hip hop on DSounds. I've been learning some things from from @markrmorrisjr like weaponizing a post to catch a reader from more than 8 seconds. This is something I learned at dolphin school. (dolphin school link here)

I hope I caught you by now and you take a second to listen to my groovy poem. I don't tap my desk for percussion. This gets me in the groove.

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

tumblr_m7bmhruNzK1rw2jwno1_500.gif
img source

Don't take my Groove Away



No one can take this groove away
In my heart it’s here to stay
Tuesday is so very tired
Wednesday’s can inspire
Thursday’s a drag
But Friday is a brand new groovy day
No one can take my groove away.

Groovy Tuesday out of sight
But something better’s on its way
Groovy Friday time to play.
Not hung up by five cent posts
I’m goovin’ to a dance
Thanks to friends who share the show
Steemit is the place we go
To sing a song
Or a whimsical poem
Paint a picture that sets your heart free.
Make it what you want it.
It is the playground of today.

I opened up the window and looked outside
The fog had rolled away
The meadow fresh and the forest sings
You can see this is the day to play.

My shoes have a mind of their own as they dance to the tune
Of a drummer of a hip hop drum
This too is old school but groovy itself
Set your heart ablaze and enjoy the sunshine on this winter day
No one can take my groove away.

I hope you are in the groove this Friday.

Love,

356GROOVY

@mineopoly

mining the heart

image.png


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

That is a very groovy poem, and to be honest I very rarely read poem's so the #dolphinschool tips must be working for you :-)

Hahahaha. Thank you for stopping by to say hello and leave a comment. True, we are becoming a school of dolphins. Congradulations @insideoutlet!!

I'm a big fan of Simon & Garfunkel ;) ... Thanks for getting me into the groove! ^^

So that's to out of three... Someone who inspired me (you), being with groovy people (that's all the #dolphinschool peeps), all I need is some music... Oooh, I know! "neveroddoreven", the album by iMonster... Listen to that and tell me it's not the grooviest thing ever! ^^

Totally surreal. Thank you @mandelsage

My pleasure! Truly... Sharing experiences like music and making someone discover the same joy I did from it, makes my day. =)

Wow, one of my fave songs of all time. I learned it from my 4th grade music teacher a long, long, long time ago. My dad was a huge fan of their music as well! 59th Street Bridge Song is one I sing to myself for sure! NICE! Great post. Good energy, good layout, nice flow!

Now the critique. 2 things, the bucket brigade was the assignment, add a promise at the top,then build it up and reveal it at the end, you could easily do this by saying, I'm going to share one song that will instantly put you in a groovy mood, but first, what's groovy, etc, then, I didn't forget, but... and then reveal it. Also, I don't see a link to dolphinschool in the article. If you decide to edit in those two, I'll consider it for inclusion in revenue sharing tonight. Great post! has 11 views and 3 votes so far.

Ah, more set up and then punch line? I will try.

Precisely, but the fact you love 59th street bridge song makes me love it anyway! LOL

Finished. Now to day 3 ^-^ Thank you very much for your encouragement.

I like your groovy attitude 💃 @mineopoly. I’m happy to connect with another @dolphinschool follower. Upvoted, resteemed and followed by @redheadpei.

Thank you. That is awesome. I like your dancing emoticon. Thanks for resteeming this. Actually I am barely catching up with the dolphin school. I need jet engines because I am more of a turtle.

I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed trying to keep up but will try to engage as much as possible. Just do what you can without getting stressed. We will learn a lot from @markrmorrisjr’s #dolphinschool.
What’s the best that can happen?

Thanks for thinking positive. I've got to slow down a little on the weekend. You have been a wonderful source of encouragement.

I'm just an original Hippie myself. Vietnam helped shape us and it was a real bitch. peace, love and happiness, yo.

Welcome sister ♥ I'm so glad you came by today. In a very few words you got my point. I'm a second generation born in those days. My dad's records still spin in my head ^-^

Thanks for the shout-out 😁

You're welcome and thank you for taking time to comment. You are a Steemian with groove and style and lyrics with a message. I'm glad to hear your work and appreciate your comment. I hope more people get a chance to listen to your music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36