A Closer Walk

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

“Just a Closer walk with thee”

is an African American Gospel song first recorded by Rosetta Tharpe in 1941. Steem on sister!! The song has its origins in New Orleans brass band funeral processions with a jazzy tinge. Rosetta Tharpe in 1941 give it rhythm and soul with her rich lyrics and Les Paul guitar. She is the ultimate soul sister and her guitar rocks. There is a reason she is in the Rock and Roll hall of fame. I’m thankful to sister Rosetta and many other sisters who pioneered the early music scene.

image.png

In 1969 Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan did a recording of this song. They’ve got a foot stopping bass going together and some classic moments. Jonnie Mitchell was also there that day on the Johnny Cash show. These are the greats. But the great part about this song is not who is singing it but who they are singing about. They are singing about their best friend and Savior Jesus. My version is simple and short but made me smile. It is totally @mineopoly strumming some chords and praying to get close to Jesus. "Close to Thee" is today’s song lesson for Groovy School. I included the Korean translation in the lyrics here to help my Korean friends follow along. (img 1 source) (img 2 source) I couldn't get the audio file uploaded because of IPFS configuration. I'm working on that and will upload the audio and attach it later.


Close to Thee
Chord Progression
C G / G7 C / C7 F-D7 / C G C - F

Just a closer walk with thee
그저 좀 더 주님과 가까이 걷게
Grant it, Jesus, is my plea,
허락해 주세요, 예수님, 제 청이예요
Daily walking close to Thee
매일 주님과 가까이 걷게끔
Let it be, dear Lord, let it be
그리 해주세요, 주님, 그리 해주세요

I am weak but Thou art strong
전 약하나 당신은 강하셔
Jesus keep me from all wrong
에수님 제가 잘못 전혀 않게 돌봐 주세요
I’ll be satisfied as long
전 그저 만족할 거예요
As I walk, let me walk close to Thee
걸을 때 당신과 가까이 걷게 해주시는한


The words are meaningful and simple to understand. When we are away from home or lost the way there is someone who understands us and is there to walk with us. The song is a prayer to walk closer with Jesus. It is not just about walking a good life or doing good things. It is about a friendship with the eternal. There is a longing to walk with a friend who understands us and takes our burden away. There is a satisfaction when we find it. The song comes from the heart's desire to have a true friend and walk together. He is a friend that welcomes us even though he knows who we really are (haha).

As the years go on I find that he is the friend I really need as I walk close to him he keeps me safe from all harm. This song was a source of comfort to our brothers and sisters in New Orleans 80 years ago as is a comfort to us today. Now I'm getting to the point. I wrote this on Valentine's Day after watching the news. This song is a song of comfort to all those who lost their friends. It is a song of hope for those friends that we can meet again.

I hoped you enjoyed this classic song. I recorded this at my mother-in-law’s house during the Lunar New Year holiday. My mother-in-law is the best cook in the world. We are on our way back home to Seoul and tomorrow I will post the Groovy School Report Card for this week. In the report card I will mention some wonderful followers who stayed close to me in my ups and downs. They are precious people and I love you all. Keep it groovy.

image.png

MondayTuesdayWednesday
WisdomCreativityELS
ThursdayFridaySaturday
TeachingTriviaSong



My goal is to use the proceeds from Groovy School to help kids who fall into the cracks. Even in a rich country not all the students get the things they really need. Especially I want to support kids with dyslexia and dyscalculia to receive therapy.

Love,
365GROOVY
@mineopoly mining the heart

Jump on the Groovy train quick.

Rewards come Tomorrow!!

Upvote and Leave a comment.

What song do you sing when you miss a friend?

Sort:  

nice .. it's dancing once i like with this bright color ..
this could be a lesson for me .. i can learn with this ..
Thank you friend

Always welcome my friend @masrewali. Is this your favorite song?

dancing once i like with this bright color

This was my dads' favorite song. He is now even closer.

Very well spoken @revdocwelch. I'm thankful for every day I have here and my desire is the same as your dad to walk closer to Jesus until I am with him. Thanks for the footsteps he left us.

That is a great song, one of my favourites . Sounds like you had a wonderful visit with your M-I-L. @mineopoly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48