Vote for a Happy Song

in #happy6 years ago (edited)

"Ba da da da da da da"

image.png

Feeling Groovy!

Groovy School presents @mineopoly's top 10 happy songs.

Choose one that makes you happy and comment.

The song with the most votes will be featured this Saturday.

Learn English with a Smile 😄

tumblr_mknsn3qShJ1qzfajio1_500.gif
(Newman source)

Songs are a great way to learn a foreign language. I listed ten songs here in no special order. Theses songs all make me happy. If I listen with you then I am even more happy. Join with me together in the quest for a happy song.

Here is the list in no special order.

1. "Walking on Sunshine"
This song should brighten anyone's mood. The snow is melting and the sun is shining today. Spring is right around the corner and I'm walking on sunshine.
image.png
Katrina & the Waves

2. "Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy"
All the stress in the world goes away when I listen to the mellow voice of John Denver. Who can disagree that sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy? The lyrics make me smile but the music is not typical for a happy song. It is a meditative kind of happy.
image.png
John Denver

3. "Best Day of my life" – American Authors
This is the only song I am including from the second millennium. Black Eyed Peas almost made this spot with "I Gotta a Felling" but just missed the happy meter for me. Who can beat this?
"We danced with monsters through the night".
image.png
American Author

4. "I feel Good” – James Brown
It would be hard to get a more feel good song than, "I feel good!" So nice and funky.
image.png
James Brown

5. "I’m on top of the World" – The Carpenters
Every once and a while this song lifts me up. The chorus is beautiful but some of the verses are conditional. Still it's true, "Your love put me on top of the world."
image.png
The Carpenters

6. "Three little Birdies" – Bob Marely
"Don't worry bout a thing cause every little thing's gonna be alright." If this song doesn't make you happy then you really need to call a friend and talk because these are the words from the Rastafarian himself.
image.png
Bob Marely

7. "I’m a Believer" – The Monkeys
It is the music and the spirit of The Monkeys. They were a crazy match up. "I saw her face and I'm a believer."
image.png

The Monkeys

8. "Big Yellow Taxi" – Jonnie Mitchel
Maybe the lyrics are sad, "They paved paradise and put up a parking lot." But she is Jonnie Mitchell and that by itself makes me happy. If you listen carefully you hear the message, "You don't know what you've got 'till it's gone."
image.png
Jonnie Mitchell

9. "Me and Julio" – Paul Simon
This song should get anyone happy. The kid in the youtube looks a lot like me in the 70s. "Singing me and Julio down by the school yard."
image.png
Paul Simon

10. "If you want to sing, sing out" – Cat Stevens
"You can do what you want. The opportunities on. And if you find a new way. You can do it today." There is no cooler kat than Cat Stevens. "If you want to be me, be me." "If you want to be you, be you." I'm always happy after listening to this.
image.png

Cat Stevens


These ten songs do make me feel happy. I know there are a ton more. Sorry but "Happy" by Pharrell Williams and "Don't Worry be Happy" by Bobby Mcferrin are disqualified because they are just too obvious.

This is today's Groovy School Lesson for ELS. If you are learning English try listening to one of these songs and follow along. If you are an ELS teacher or any teacher or just want to be happy play one of these songs out loud and be happy together.

Songs can not really "make you happy" but help you to remember the people in life that do make us happy. They are so precious and deserve some time together. Cherish each moment of life and smile and play and love and sing together. Give thanks even for the things that are out of control. Today's gonna be a great day to share this love with every one. For me I'm on my way to the mountain to play with my kids.


Original Poem @mineopoly

Every thing turned upside down
Comes out alright when we sing and play
Children scream out for delight
The sun is shining bright
The winter is gone and birds begin to sing
The youngest one shouts with a scream
It's alright
We don't need a car or wallet of a bike
No more new toys
We need each other
Happiness is the moment I spend with you
The joy you bring and the delight of my day

Thank you for dropping in Groovy School.

MondayTuesdayWednesday
WisdomCreativityELS

image.png

ThursdayFridaySaturday
TeachingTriviaSong

image.png



My goal is to use the proceeds from Groovy School to help kids who fall into the cracks. Even in a rich country students don't get the things they really need. Especially I want to support kids with dyslexia and dyscalculia to receive therapy. I would also like to support English classes for North Korean refugees.

Thank you for your support.

Please choose one song and write the number in the comments.

If you have another happy song then tell me.

I want to learn.

Sort:  

#6 Bob Marley "Three Little Birds is my youngest's favorite song. Her birthday was just last week and I did a short tribute at the end of my podcast for her. If you take a listen at the very end you'll hear her singing over a really cool Stephen Marley & Jason Bentley remix of it.

https://dsound.audio/#!/@movement19/m19-the-roadlock-ft-white-owl-w2o-s2e1

This is my choice for happy song. Unfortunately, I just found it was taken down from soundcloud and I know it's not on dtube. This is the only link I can find to it, sorry.

http://mp3pn.info/song/18706418/D.J.Detweiler-Dj_Hazard_and_D_Minds-_Mr_Happy_DJ_DETWEILER_V.I.P/

Thank you so much for sharing @movement19. I hope your podcast can get some listens from here too. She is so sweet.

And DJ Detweiler from recess? That is rich. 3 little Birdies has a healing effect.

Bob Marley in general has a healing effect.

I haven't heard 3 & 10, so will have to check them out. I choreo'd a new arthritis exercise routine for my class last month with a summer theme, and 1 & 2 were in there. I've also used Happy and a couple of other Cat Stevens songs with them.

At the other end of the spectrum, I've never cared for 9, and I recently featured Don't Worry Be Happy in a post of songs I can't stand!

I might change my mind after listening to 3 & 10, but at the moment my vote goes to number 6 - who can beat Marley?

Off to choir now - going to choir and singing anything makes me happy. But tonight we're finalising songs to perform Friday, which will be awesome.

Thanks for your comment on the way out to choir practice @kiwideb. I wonder what songs you sing there.

It's great to here that two of these happy songs were in your exercise class. You are involved with a couple cool things, choir and dance. That is a great way to let off some steam.

I understand about Me and Julio. I like the Sesame Street Version with the little girl more than the Simon and Garfunkel version or solo.

Please listen to 10 if you never heard that song from Cat Stevens you are missing out. And yes Bob Marely was a king of happy.

Thanks for input.

We do mainly world music. A lot of African but other countries as well. We've just done a performance in the Arts festival opening with 3 songs in Maori and one in Samoan. (I've done a couple of posts about it, and there's a link to a video). Next month we'll be doing some Brazilian music. Then, who knows!

I will check your posts more carefully about that choir. One of the beautiful things about Steemit is it is the platform to step up and express so many things we didn't even know about ourselves while also combining hearts and minds in community. Thanks for your comment about the song. I will choose on of these "happy songs" for next week. As for now I finally got IPFS to work again so I will try to upload an original song for Saturday Groovy School.

#3 Best day of my life xD :) :) :)

OK. That's cool @iamkuyaj. I am learning about what kind of music my followers like. It is a very upbeat song.

one of the best, for me. :)

So many good happy songs it is difficult to pick one but I’ll go with Joni Mitchell and “A Big Yellow Taxi.” With “I feel Good” by James Brown coming in second. Your lovely poem is nicely matched with the theme. That meme of Newman had me laughing.

Beautiful @redheadpei. You always have something nice to say. I love Jonnie Mitchell's song writing and lyrics. Oh, the poem. The kids were fighting when I wrote that. After this post I decided to spend more time with the kids and less time with the computer.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.67$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

My vote is for The Carpenters' "On Top of the World" ! =) Because it is quite special, bringing back memories from my childhood... My mother loved the Carpenters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51