A Straight Line

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

“A straight line may be the shortest distance between two points but it is by no means the most interesting.”

who meme.PNG

The old Doctor Who reminds us that human beings are not confined to human reason. Classically we process ideas in a logical pattern using methods of deductive, inductive and possibly abductive reasoning. But how does this work with our quote and the New Year holiday? Let’s see!!

First, deductive reasoning

Here we start with a general idea or premise and get down to a logical conclusion. Premise 1: A straight line is the shortest distance between two points. Premise 2: My house is one point and my school is a second point. Conclusion: The shortest distance between my house and school is a straight line. This is called a syllogism and it sounds like a valid argument so far.

Second, inductive reasoning

Now we are look at the problem from the opposite way. We observe details and patterns and infer a general idea. Here is my story. I travel to school faster when I walk a straight line. My flight from Chicago to New York was faster than my flight from Seoul to Chicago. Therefore my hypothesis: “The shortest distance between two points is a straight line.”

Third, abductive reasoning

This Monday I woke up at 8am and went to school and it took me forty minutes to get there. When I arrived there was no one there. What is the most likely scenario? The school was closed for a snow day. But there is no snow. Everybody else forgot to go to school. But how can all the teachers and students forget to come? My watch is wrong and I am really one hour early. But then it would still be dark when I left the house. Today is January 1st, New Year’s Day and a public holiday so there is no school today!! Yeah!! Happy New Year!! Now it’s time to take the road less traveled and start looking for a more interesting way get from point A to point B. Have a Happy New year and don’t forget to think before you drive.

Love,

365GROOVY

think.jpg

MEME

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80