ITX or KTX 기차

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

"I've got a ticket to ride..."
is the song that comes to mind. The lunar New Year Holiday and the Olympics are in full swing. Train tickets are not easy to come by in South Korea this weekend. We got our tickets a month in advance to visit my mother-in-law in her hometown. The online sale started at 6 am but we couldn't get any tickets because there must have been a quarter of the nation trying to buy tickets at the same time.

image.png

There was a long line when the tickets went on sale. Some people waited in Seoul station overnight. I got my tickets from a small travel agency in a large private University Hospital. I waited about 20 minutes and that was it. This brings us to today's Groovy School Trivia question: Which is faster the ITX or KTX train in Korea?

image.png

To get to our home town we have a choice to take KTX or ITX. The acronym KTX stands for the Korean Train Express. It is an express bullet train that travels at speeds close to 200 mph. This train can get us to our home town station in 15 minutes. ITX stands for Intercity Train Expresss. The ITX will take about an hour to get to our hometown station. The ITX is a very comfortable train with spacious seats, legroom and a foot rest. The KTX may not be as comfortable but it is much quicker.

The biggest difference is the price. The KTX ticket is three times more expensive and the taxi ride to my in-laws is thirty minutes from the KTX station but only ten minutes from the ITX station. Really we were just glad to have any ticket.

image.png

We got to the home town safe and sound and now we are watching the Winter Olympics with Grandma and Grandpa. It's going to be a great lunar New Year with family and as a bonus I get two weeks off from school!!

Pyeung Chang Korea

@mineopolymining the heart

(Pic 1,2 are public domain. Pic 3,4,5 are from my cell phone.)

image.png

MondayTuesdayWednesday
WisdomCreativityELS
ThursdayFridaySaturday
TeachingTriviaSong



My goal is to use the proceeds from Groovy School to help kids who fall into the cracks. Even in a rich country not all the students get the things they really need. Especially I want to support kids with dyslexia and dyscalculia to receive therapy.

Special thanks to @yoo1900

Love,
365GROOVY
@mineopoly mining the heart

Drop in Groovy School. Upvote and Leave a comment.

Enjoy the Ride

새해 복 많이 받으세요

Have a great Lunar New Year!!

How do you get to your hometown?

Do you celebrate Lunar New Year?

Sort:  

I'm glad you were able to get to your home town safe and sound. I've only ever been on one trip by train so far but I really enjoyed it. I loved the views passing by through the window.

Thank you @debralee for a comfoting comment. The Korean countryside is not far away but after spending a couple days there I feel like I have jet lag coming back to the city.

I do have some pictures coming I took from the train looking outside. It would be nice to include one at the end of the post.

Riding on a train will always remind me of awesome adventures as a teenager, when I took the train from Cape Town to Johannesburg (and back) twice, by myself, with money I'd earned working weekends during the year. It's a 24 hour trip.

Around here, I mainly use the bus. Despite the complaints of the locals, the bus system in Salvador is actually quite good. And nope, no Lunar New Year celebrations for me... Only in Overwatch ;P

@mandelsage

Thank you for your comment @mandelsage. Are you from South Africa? I never heard of Salvador South Africa.

If I want to visit my hometown it is at least 13 hours by plane to Chicago and about $2000 USD.

Lunar New Year celebrations with over watch sounds pretty cool. For us it is visiting relatives and trying to sort out some family things. On the good side we did get a whole family portrait taken at a photo studio.

I'm from South Africa, yes, but now live in Salvador, Brazil ;)

Overwatch is fun and all, but man, it's a time sink. Very addictive game! I'm happy to say that I've been able to avoid playing recently in favour of Steeming ;)

So here is the article you asked me to link to for later resteeming =) ... Thank you! ^^

Happy New Year @mineopoly to you and your family. I have been watching some of the Winter Olympics on TV and see Canada is doing better good.

Thanks. It has been a busy time in Korea and pretty crowded. Glad to see the Canadian team. I watched the curling and the skaters. Awesome. Korea also got one gold in skeleton with our own ironman Yun Sung Bin.

image.png

Like your writing <3 @mineopoly

Thank you @orges1. You are always welcome to Groovy School. Crazy busy with the holiday in Korea. Enjoy^^

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.83$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51