Is Nature the best teacher? 서대문 안산

in #education6 years ago (edited)

image.png

I want to fly like an eagle. Let my spirit carry me. Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin', into the future. (Steve Miller)

I had enough time on this computer. I really like Groovy School and interacting with comments but I need to be recharged and consider this in a new light. It is the perfect time to take a walk. I went together with @artjohn and discovered some wonderful things about life and education.

image.png

Here on the mountain what seemed to be a big problem pushing in my face was actually nothing compared to the massive mountains in the distance. This may be troubling at first glance but there is some hope here in perspective. I paid too much attention to MY problems not giving consideration to the reason why these problems are here, what I can learn and grow from them and what blessings and opportunities I have to be thankful for.

image.png

Life is very much about balance. I have been trying too hard at everything. I try to get the approval of others when all I need to do is be myself. For 20 years I lived like a hermit in Korea but for the first time I am sharing part of myself in this blog. I get lots of suggestion. My wife suggests that I quit. She is right in some way. I need balance as a father, teacher and now as a blogger. In this busy life I want to create new art and beautiful things but I am just getting started and sometimes things don't work out. In nature I begin to realize it is all part of the journey. When I listen to nature I hear the birds. Some of them sing and chirp and others squawk with an irritating voice. The whole forest has a balance. Even the hikers balance the stones and not one stone is turned over. The balance is so delicate but that rock does not fall down.

The mountain sets us free us from the illusion that life is all about what we do down in that big city. Every day the stress and drag is grueling. Every one is scampering to get something finished when really nothing gets done. If you look in the distance from the mountain you will see the 123 floor Lotte Building standing at more than 500 meters, but in only looks like a spec. Everything that seemed so important really seems like children's toys. There stress runs away.

Fly like a bird.

image.png

The mountain gives us strength to take action one step more than we thought we could do before. It has been so long that I went up this mountain. I had laryngitis and health problems since October and found no strength to get up that mountain for the past 6 months. Even my kids started to complain that a year ago I used to take them to lots of places and go to the mountain everyday but I lost strength to get out there. I became stuck in a rut and could not change. Then Steemit happened. I learned new things every day but I also learned to challenge myself. In doing so I found joy in writing poems and painting some pictures and made recordings. I liked the opportunity that dsounds gave me. I also like making friends around the world. It is so exciting to take the challenges together. Now I am healthy enough to step outside and enjoy time with my kids. I may not blog here as often as I used to. I will still do Groovy school but it will be even more cool.

image.png

That's @artjohn on the rock. He zooms over the mountain like ironman. I am so thankful for him and our family. We brought home a few signs of life from the mountain. My youngest son started to paint them. The mountain continues to give. There is never any time to go to the mountain and no energy to get over there but that is all the illusion and lay of the dark valley.

This is our Groovy School answer to Nature verse Nurture.

Nature nurtures me.

In late winter the ground is dry and the wind blows cold
The few signs of spring are sunlight and some green
In the valley are bustles of ants marching to and fro


Busy with meanderings and capital decisions
Anxiety eats away the noble hearts of the villagers
They pray, "can there be another way?"
Look up to sky count the stars that you see


Take a breath and walk outside
The land I give to you in its full
Lift up your eyes to the mountaintops
See the life you left behind
Begin this voyage with me


Fierce winds lash from the peak
The climber is not dis-swayed.
Humbled in the presence of majesty


Troding pilgrimage toward the summit.
Step by step through rocks and crags
Reaching the top is not the end
Life is the journey

Thank for dropping in Groovy School.

What can you learn from nature?

Sort:  

My VP is very low right now but I so enjoyed your article!!! Please accept this tip! simple in place of an upvote!!! :) (It's worth more than my current vote! Hahahaha) also... I read your comment on another post that you are looking to get more visibility for your posts... I'm starting a new contest where I send "treasure hunters" all over steemit to find clues. If your post is part of the hunt, you'll get some interaction and upvotes on your page!!! It doesn't cost you anything to be a part of it... Please message me on discord (dreemsteem#0695) if this sounds interesting to you!!! I'm looking for posts for next week's Hunt, right after today's hunt is complete! And I thought you did a fabulous job on this post and would love to help you get a few more views on your next post :)

Thanks for taking time to visit and clue me in. I haven't participated in a scavenger hunt for a while. I'm honored to be part of it. More than the traffic. I think it would be fun. And thanks for the tip. That was unexpected but kind and appreciated.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mineopoly365groovy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh, how lovely. I can see you had a great time "recharging your batteries" in nature. It is not only the best teacher but the best healer as well 💚

Thank you. I thought you would appreciate the rock piled with perfect balance. These rock piles are all over Korea. There is a temptation to knock them down but nobody knocks them down and even if the wind blows they don't fall. It is the balance of nature. I have a lot more to go before but healing is a process.

I am glad you have found the time and strength to get back to nature and breathe it in.. I always find it peaceful to climb a mountain and look at the city far below to put life back into perspective.. its easy to get caught up in the rat race of life and let the world consume you, so it is extremely important to seperate urself from it often.. remember that u are not ur job, or your home or even a needed cog in the wheel of society, it will go on without u as u can also go on without it..
nature is the best teacher of balance and also the best way to calm a mind and make u feel at peace again.. if something is unbalanced in ur life u can always change it, u are the creator of your own reality and nothing but yourself can stop you from having whatever it is you want..
I am so incredibly happy you found steemit and thus a way to express yourself. I always can feel the passion in ur writing and know ur family is the driving force behind your every move and i respect that..
Great article my friend.

I always appreciate comments that are so thoughtful and meaningful to the poster!!! I can't upvote you hehehe (cuz I'm desperately trying to let my VP recharge... But please accept this tip! simple that is actually worth more than my depleted vote! Hahahhaah)

Hi @moderndayhippie! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Thank you. Only a couple days left until your big moving day. I thought about you when I wrote the poem.

Thank you very much for words of wisdom.

it will go on without u as u can also go on without it..

I have to admit @moderndayhippie you have really merged technology and freedom and have become a role model to me on attitude. All stress and selfish desires need to be rooted out of me. I may need some media fast again. This is a great platform to grow and share.

Blessings
Peace
Love
Back to the garden

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @moderndayhippie! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Hi @mineopoly! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dreemsteem :)

You can now delegate SP to @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

You got me. I'm not afraid of mountains.... but "monkey" come on. I am Ironman!!

Sorry John. Umm... No excuse. I will edit that.

if ever you happened to stopped by the Philippines, don't hesitate to DM me. :)

That's a really kind offer. I remember now you are in Cebu I think. What a beautiful place. No time for vacation now but the day may come I hope. Likewise if you are in Seoul or even in Korea let me know. You are very cool to keep up with me this whole time.

great. ^^)
i'll keep that in mind. hehe
Have a great day ahead!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.61$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Great post as always @mineopoly. I love how you formatted the post. Yes nature is the best teacher..No offence mineopoly 😊

Not offended at all but honored to have the best teacher with me. The formatting of the pictures here was powerpoint. I got tired of markdown code for pull left and pull right. Power point is faster for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54