SHY POEM

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Quote from Woody Allen.

“I am shy. I was always happy to be alone. I was always good at things that required solitude.”

(New York Times Source 2002)

image.png

A Divine Gift



Woody Allen had a muse for comedy even though he was really shy.
He confessed,

“I had no reason to be fearful and insecure, but I was.”



This is the story of many of the people on Steemit. Each of us has a certain muse whether we like it or not. There is an abstract artist @harj who is filled with fire for his art and the world. There is a poet singer songwriter @d-pend who is completely unpredictable. The words from his poem comes of the screen into the readers heart. He adds pictures and music that make the words dance and groove to a gentle beat. There is @naquoya who brought me back to my own childhood memories. There is @lonestarpoet whose poems stand alone. There is @sultnpapper sharing the truth of government shitdowns and telling it like it is. Another who tells it like it is @moderndayhippie is an amateur photographer chasing his dream. They each got the muse virus. As Socrates said to Phaedrus,

“There is also a madness that is a divine gift… the madness of those who are possessed by the muses.” (Plato Phaedrus)

image.png

Blog into the black hole.



As for me I am shy and reserved. Two months ago I got out of my shell and started to write my opinions of the world about philosophy and family and decentralization. It didn't bother me that I had only a few reads and an occasional comment like: "Upvote for upvote." I was happy to write even if it seemed that all my writings saved in the blockchain were kept in a black hole hidden by the world. I didn't mind if no one was actually reading but then one day I found @moderndayhippie was reading my blog and made a comment. Then I decided to paste a link in @thesteemengine discord promotion. Then next thing that happened was a stream of comments. In the past I didn't even know that Steemians could read but people were reading my post. I literally almost had a heart attack. The article was filled with more comments than I could answer.

image.png

Overcoming Postphobia



Up to this point I have posted faithfully everyday but now I got postphobia. I was afraid I could never made a post to match the last. I felt more than writer's block but writer's freeze. On Sunday I couldn't post anything and maybe it was for the better. I am usually shy and reserved. Even my attempts at writing about problems are indirect and spoken in metaphors or allegories through stories of my families. I usually don't speak directly but people were still catching the point. I found a great epiphany. And I wondered, "will the muses in me ever be satisfied?" This is what came out:

image.png




Music fills my ears
A child, an infant dances with delight.
No one knows the freedom, no one cares.


Tomorrow comes too soon and the madness is never subdued.
Constant twisting the pretzel of life is squeezed
into a flower that buds and blooms.
Today I see it. But as soon as I grasp it...
gone and forgotten.


Who would have known that the dream lives again?
The immortal Muses never cease their movement
diving in and out
inspiring and propelling to perfection.
Working through friends who inspire
taking us to an elevation beyond desire.


The child finds comfort. No more tears inside.
The child restores the dancing.
And doesn't concern about anything else beside.
Free without a care. Glory to the Creator!
Glory for the child is restored.

image.png

Original Poetry by @mineopoly
All pictures in this post are public domain found at pixabay.com

Where is the child in you?

Don't let the shitdown get you down.

Love,

365GROOVY

@mineopoly

image.png

Sort:  

So much potential in each of us yet we hold back because each of us have our own reservations. Whether its fear, shy, intimidation, or any other negative feelings it all starts off with one self.

The first step is admitting to the reservations and the next step is to move away from them. You my friend have moved on and I believe you will excel on steemit far beyond your own expectations. The worst thing to do is to give up and dream of what if but you are not going to and for that you do not have to dream. You live it. ;)

@mawit07 Thank you for your wisdom. You are so right. Just name it and that darkness goes away. Then give it a new name.

One of my favorite cartoon characters is Dory in Nemo. I imagine her saying, "Just keep posting. Just keep posting."

Thank you for those words of inspiration to us, new and starting Steemians. I wasn't expecting the poem at the end. For that, I truly appreciate this post.

When we find comfort outside our comfort zone, it is truly an amazing feeling!

Thank you so much for reading. I feel like a new Steemian everyday. I see more and more that we are in this together. I like your poems to and will stop by today.

I think we all experience writers block from time to time, I know I do. I also think that when we compare ourselves to others who make the process seem so easy, we're aiding the block, but sometimes that's harder to control.

The poem at the end was beautiful and poignant, we all need to find and hug our inner child.

And if writers block for you means more posts like this follow, then when it happens embrace it :)

Yes. I will give that kid a big hug. Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. Writer's block is when we cannot write because we are not sure or just a little afraid. I experienced writer's freeze which is to me a fear that I cannot write anything significant compared to my own writing in the past. There are great writers here and I am proud of them but I can't begin to compare myself to them. The poem came sporadically and was not planned at all. I was moved reading your comment and feel free to comment here as much as you like.

Ah, thank you for elaborating on the difference, it's hard not to compare our latest idea for a post with prior publications. We are by nature hard on ourselves, and some more than others and as writers we want our next piece to be as good as if not better than the last...

Thank you for sharing :)

Thanks a lot for understanding @redwellies. And thanks for sharing the struggle together. Have a great day.

Being in solitude is awesome in my opinion. :D

I think you would like my last post better then... "Sounds of Silence." How was your trip to Mexico?

Awesome post, awesome share, awesome poem, and yes, here reading :). I understand what you mean. The engagement of this community is amazing. Everyone just seems to be up to something, you know? Glad to see you found a place you enjoy sharing!

Such a reassuring comment. Thank you very much for your kind words of encouragement. I feel that finally this week I am finding myself in all this. ^-^

Keep up the good work! And, you're welcome.

Peace and love to you too! Good post :)

Thank you @kobusu. I'm glad you read it and shared. Actually I'm not so scared anymore but powered up. Everything is turning out real good.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mineopoly365groovy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37