STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38 - Winners & New Theme - Everyone Welcome for SBD Prizes!

Many thanks to last week's guest judge @patelincho for the fun theme "Healthy Yet Tempting Food For Children".  This fab theme brought in many excellent recipes that were indeed healthy and kiddie-tempting!  Sometimes children take dislikes to certain foods, and it can be super difficult to get them to eat when their minds are made up (I sense some heads nodding, haha).  But thank goodness for the power of imagination, as with a creative head on us parents are usually able to get the healthy stuff into them with a few artistic tricks and disguises!  

It can often be easier to relent after a hard day working or parenting, and just bang some chicken nuggets in the oven rather than face rejection of the healthy food... yet again.  But healthy eating is much more than just maintaining slim figures or avoiding rotten teeth - it really is a serious matter of life and death.  It's the difference between frequent sickness & infections or rare sickness & infections.  It's the difference between asthma or no asthma, behavioural problems, digestive issues, headaches, muscle and joint issues, type 2 diabetes, anxiety.  The difference between the onset of an autoimmune disorder, or much much worse.  Yes, sometimes the most important thing after yet more dinner disputes with your child is just to get some fuel into them, no matter what the fuel, but generally speaking we can't keep putting processed rubbish into their little bodies and act surprised when symptoms start presenting.  Anyway, enough serious, back to the fun... Phew!!!


Just a quick mention again to make sure you're aware of the recent CHANGES TO RULES - scroll down to the rules section to check.


For those of you who have never entered this challenge before - it's very easy, just SCROLL DOWN for this week's THEME, RULES and PRIZES.  You don't have to be a master chef - just try to be creative with your recipes and take beautiful photos, since unfortunately we can't taste the entries so you must help us do this with our imaginations!  Original recipes are encouraged, but you may use someone else's recipe as long as you credit the original source. 



Best Vegan Entry - "Mini Pizzas" by @lenasveganliving 5 SBD sponsored by @heart-to-heart


Most Creative Entry "Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cheesecake Bites!" by @heart-to-heart 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


Most Creative Entry "Oatmeal Muffins with berries for my daughter" by @shady 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


Most Creative Entry "Healthy Little Golden Fritters for Little Fingers" by @steemit-foodie 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


4th Prize "Tofu Kids, Purple Berry Pool, and Broccoli in an Avocado Swamp" by @jaymorebeet 5 SBD sponsored by @sirwinchester


3rd Prize "Vegan and healthy pralines: Rafaello and Chocolate Truffles from millet!" by @babettxx 10 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious


2nd Prize "Tomato and Zucchini Sandwich with Minted Yoghurt" by @progressivechef 15 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious


1st Prize "Mini Pizzas" by @lenasveganliving 20 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious



This week's guest judge is @heart-to-heart, a very creative and soulful person in many areas... including in the kitchen!  She is passionate about health and healthy food, and likes to encourage healthy choices in others too.  She regularly shares her culinary creations, so if you enjoy healthy, tasty and unique food then check out her blog!  You'll find all kinds of interesting things to browse through there - travel, photography, life stories, etc.  @heart-to-heart had a little trouble deciding on a theme for this week, but in the end chose 'Vegan Dishes From Around The Globe' because she's excited to see all the different kinds of vegan recipes that will be created by everyone in their different cultures.  She also tells me she intends to make them all, so guys you'd better come up with some creative and healthy food to ensure @heart-to-heart really does try out your recipes!  Most of all have fun and make your food really beautiful so we can enjoy admiring it :-)




1.  Title your entry this way: “STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: Title of your Dish”


2.  Tag your “Vegan Dishes From Around The World” post with ALL FOUR of the following:

# food  

# food-trail  

# steemitculinarychallenge 

# recipes


3. Only NEW RECIPES that have been created in response to the weekly theme will be accepted.  Each photo must feature a sign displaying the current date.


4.  TAKE PHOTOS OF THE STEP-BY-STEP PROCESS in preparing your dish.


5.  So we can verify your entry is indeed yours and not plagiarised, and is also a new recipe, you MUST DO the FOLLOWING: 


 
6.  POST A LINK OF YOUR ENTRY below on the comment  thread.  If you have signed up to Steemit.chat please also post it on  the steemitculinarychallenge channel.  To sign up you can click here.
 

7.  The DEADLINE for submission is NO LATER than Wednesday at 12:00 Noon UTC.
 

8.  You may submit TWO ENTRIES if you wish.
 

Here is an example of one of my own step-by-step recipes.   Any questions, please ask.


WINNERS together with the NEW THEME will be announced every FRIDAY.



I'd like to share my sincere THANKS to @gringalicious, @sirwinchester and @englishtchrivy for their continuous sponsorship of this challenge, the Steemians who regularly or occasionally submit entries, and to everyone who upvotes and supports the entries.  I'm well aware there would be no challenge without you all!!! 


PREVIOUS WINNERS of the Steemit Culinary Challenge:


#38 - Vegan Dishes From Around The World

#37 - Healthy Yet Tempting Food for Children

#36 - Food Fit For A German

#35 - Ice-Cream

#34 - A Smoothie for @smooth

#33 - Brilliant Berries

#32 - Picnic Alfresco

#31 - Vegan Main

#30 - Tempting Tarts

#29 - Take Me To Brunch... In Your Country

#28 - Cupcakes

#27 - Be A Michelin Star Chef For One Night

#26 - Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Desserts

#25 - Your Favourite Dish

#24 - Mouthgasms

#23 - Otsumami

#22 - Mediterranean Night

#21 - Coffee a la Barista's

#20 - Pancake Paradise

#19 -  Sweet and Savory Crepes

#18 - Tasty, Wholesome Meals for Weight Loss

#17 - Shepherd's Pie

#16 - Tacos for a Tech Savvy

#15 - Roast It

#14 - DIVINE LEMONed DESSERT

#13 - The Finest Fish Dish

#12 - Purely Paleo

#11 - Cheeseless Burger

#10 - Anglo–Sino Chicken

#9 - New Year on a Platter

#8 - La Pasta Perfetta

#7 - Battle of Noodles

#6 - HOT Off the Grill

#5 - Unorthodox Chillied Dish

#4 - Super Salads

#3 - Smoothie Showdown

#2 - Out of the Box Sandwiches  

#1 - Sniffle Remedy Soup


If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me, either by posting your queries on the comment thread below, or you can find me on Steemit.chat under the same name.  I will respond as soon as I can. 

For the announcement of winners and new themes, follow me :-) 



Image kindly created for me by @sashagenji

Sort:  

Congrats to every one! Really all the entries were just wondeful!
I am so happy to be amongst the winners!
The next Theme is really very exciting and I will surely create something special as the guest judge too is really very special!
Cheers
@progressivechef

First of all, thank you so much again and again Dear @woman-onthe-wing @gringalicious @sirwinchester and @englishtchrivy this is beyond expectation of a newbie like me. Even though I am not a newbie in the kitchen. Well sometimes I feel like I am newbie there too, because I am always working on something new lol. The upcoming challenge is right up to my alley too............ I love to veganize traditional cuisine and in most cases, especially Asian and Mediterranean it's actually quite easy, because lots of theis dishes are originally plant based anyway.

You totally deserved your winnings this week Lena, I'm made up for you :-) And I can't wait to see your next dish, as you say it's right up yer alley! Have fun I hope!

You are so sweet and thank you so much again 😊

I agree with @woman-onthe-wing here! @lenasveganliving you've given us so many great recipes, I am super excited to see yours this week! =D I can hardly even wait!

Thank you so much @heart-to-heart and I am sorry I missed your lovely comment. My entry is ready and I really hope you will like it 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

OH I cannot wait to see it! I am going to start looking them all over today =D YUM! Thanks for entering <3

Always a pleasure, this is the ultimate challenge for me, I absolutely love it. I thank you more @heart-to-heart lol

Hello Dear @woman-onthe-wing & @heart-to-heart ...............I hope you are both doing great. My entry is ready and I am really curious what you think. https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@lenasveganliving/steemit-culinary-challenge-38-thai-curry-the-canadian-vegan-way#comments

Congrats to all the winners! Lots of lovely healthy creations for kids this week :D

I agree @natashahall, they were all fantastic, and I do hope inspiring as well :-)

Congrats to all the winners! Making healthful exciting food for a new generation is an important step in getting humans OFF packaged, overly processed junk. Thank you for sharing this information. Steem the Dream!

Yes, I totally agree @bigskykilroy! We are surrounded by all this fake food that catch the attention of our little ones, and they have no idea it's harmful for them. So we as adults/parents have a duty to not feed them the processed rubbish, but only good wholesome nutritional food. Thanks for stopping by!

Parents want to shield children from the simple fact that things, plants and animals, must die or be harmed for us to live. It may seem cruel, but is part of the symbiotic circle of live and death. Just one man's opinion.

Yes, the circle of life :-) I think as parents we often shield our children too much and they can grow up ignorant, or unable to make mature decisions with regard to looking after their own health. Often children don't even know that bacon comes from a pig, never mind that the pig is washed with chlorine etc before people eat it. In my personal opinion, we should tell children the truth (but in a way appropriate to their age and temperament of course). At least that's my intention as I raise my own son!

Unfortunately, safety laws often arise from a few people doing stupid things triggering legislation. Providing the information and allowing people to form their own opinions is better that legislating for the masses. For children, age appropriate as you say, I believe it is paramount that they are given knowledge of their food stream so they may make educated choices for the remainder of their existence and pass on that knowledge and so on.

Bravo, that you foster education in your own child!

Thank you, I do my best and hope he turns out a well-balanced individual as he grows up. We'll see...! :-)

You are most welcome!

I could not agree more! I love that SCC is bringing this discussion to the forefront! @woman-onthe-wing you're awesome! Eating healthy food does not mean we have to sacrifice taste! =D

My mother cooked every night after a 35 mile commute. Every night from "scratch" and without a microwave. My parents came from farm families and we knew exactly where meat came from and what it took to pay for it. Hard work, that's what it took. Good or bad, habits are learned at home. let's teach good ones. :)

I love it! I wish this was a more popular story! Unfortunately we can't change the past but we can certainly work together to try to influence the future =D

Unfortunately, trips to the pool, "look how many coins I made off you suckers", and general nonsensical posts somehow get the most attention here on Steemit. But, that's a rant for someone else. Steem On!

Congrats everyone! Beautiful and yummy dishes. Not only suitable for kids! Looking forward to this week's entries! Have been so busy lately with some of my projects, but looking forward to entering the SCC once again! Have a great weekend and looking forward to all those vegan dishes!

Yeah, this theme is perfect for you @amy-goodrich! I'm really interested to see what kinds of things people will make. I hope to be introduced to some dishes or ingredients I've never come across before!

I actually made something delicious the other day. But forgot the steemit logo. Hehe. But I'll post it on the blog anyway. Was a lot of work to make for 4 people, so taking pics with and without logo would have been too much anyway. But I already have something else in mind. Can't wait to make it.

Sounds great, I can't wait to see it!!!

i will create a recipe and enter -this is right up my alley -thanks and i now follow you to see more of your contests -David .. you may enjoy my art and music , i also post about travel .

Sounds great David! I look forward to seeing your creation! :-)

Hi David! I can't wait to see your entry! I'm happy to hear you like the theme, I had a hard time decided like @woman-onthe-wing mentioned but I think this is going to be really fun! =D Waiting with a huge appetite ;)

Yay! Thank you very much @woman-onthe-wing, @gringalicious and everybody! 3rd place is for me really big success and I didn't except that I'll stand on the podium! Thats mean a lot for me ❤️ I promise that in the next SCC I'll do something also very yummy! Thank you very much once again! 💗💗💗

So glad to hear you're happy with your prize @babettxx! I can't wait to see more from you! :-)

Here is my first entry to the steemit culinary challenge: https://steemit.com/food/@alinalisa/steemit-culinary-challenge-38-simple-healthy-vegan-lentil-apple-salad
I'm so happy to be a part of this amazing opportunity! :)

congratulations everyone! These dishes look so fun too bad I didn't participate been super busy but, I just went vegan so next challenge is perfect!
I'll see you soon with my entry :)
Good luck and again great job everyone <3 You did great
I love you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92