STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #19 : Baked Khorasan Crepes with Hazelnut Caramel & Banana Filling - Original Recipe

in #food7 years ago


For this week's crepe challenge I decided to treat myself to some sweetness (natural and free from sugar or artificial ingredients of course, you know me!)  I have recently been trying out various different flours since I read about ancient grains being easier on the digestive system than modern wheat, and so my crepes are made using khorasan flour.  You may have come across this delicious grain, also known as 'kamut', and is like fat rice with a texture that reminds me of sweetcorn.  Really good with curries.  Anyway, these khorasan crepes are absolutely delicious, I find I definitely prefer them to wholewheat crepes.  Light and characterful in flavour.  I made a sweet soft filling of caramel and ground hazelnuts (which remains soft when baked), rolled up in the crepes with sliced banana and chopped hazelnuts, topped with 85% cocoa dark chocolate and sprinkled with more nuts.  A wonderful variety of textures, soft, crisp, crunchy... Yummy! 

  

What you will need:


For the crepes:

125g khorasan flour

2 large free-range eggs

350ml milk

Pinch salt


For the filling:

100g butter

200ml milk

4 tblsp honey

1 large egg yolk

25g coconut flour

75g ground hazelnuts

50g chopped hazelnuts

1 large banana

50g dark chocolate (85% cocoa)


Method:


Put the flour into a large bowl and make a well in the centre.



Crack the eggs into the well and begin to whisk, adding the milk gradually and incorporating the flour a little at a time.  You will end up with a smooth batter mix.



Allow to settle for at least 30 minutes.



I find cooking crepes is best using a 'seasoned' frying pan.  Fist melt a tablespoon of coconut oil in the pan on moderate heat, then sprinkle with table salt.  Wipe the pan clean with kitchen paper, and the pan is now ready.  Add a ladle of batter to the pan and fry for a minute or so, then flip over and cook the other side.  If you want to keep the crepes hot you can sandwich the crepes between 2 dinner plates (the top plate upturned) and pop them in the oven until ready to serve.



To make the hazelnut caramel filling, combine the milk, egg yolk, butter and honey in a saucepan, and heat on low until the butter melts and the caramel begins to thicken slightly.  It will look like thin custard.



Remove from the heat and add the coconut flour and ground hazelnuts.



Spread the crepes with the hazelnut caramel mixture, then lay on slices of banana and sprinkle with chopped hazelnuts.



Roll the crepes into tubes and lay in a suitable oven-proof dish.  I fit six crepes into mine.



Finely grate the chocolate over the top and sprinkle again with chopped hazelnuts.



Bake in the oven at 190 degrees Celsius for 40-45 minutes until golden-brown and crispy to the touch.



As usual, much gratitude to @englishtchrivy for hosting this challenge and giving us all a good reason to get creative! 
 

Many thanks also to this week's judge @dresden, and to the sponsors @smooth and @sirwinchester, and of course not forgetting everyone else involved in this challenge.  Thank you all very much for giving this housewife/mama something exciting to get  stuck into each week!!!
 

For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  Thank you!


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

@woman-onthe-wing I like the way you presented it - winged crepe :D
I hope it didn't fly away cause that really looks like a yum!
I like the tip you gave on keeping it warm and since you grated pure chocs on it - I'd like a taste please! or is it all eaten up?

Anyway, good luck!
Entry acknowledged!

Just a little left for you.. I can send it via pigeon post, since it has wings :-)
Thanks very much @englishtchrivy!

@woman-onthe-wing hmmm.. am worried it would also shat on my passion plant pot hihi
or eat the whole deal before it even gets here I don't trust pigeons hahaha

Yeah you're probably right...hmmm. I guess I'll be eating your piece then!

@woman-onthe-wing haven't you?
hihihi ... anyway .. good luck!

Wooooohoooooo I am thrilled, thank you all again!!! :-)

I have five 1st prizes all together, two in a row - the tacos and roast dinner :-) I save all the prize photos you send to keep for my own private pride!!! Thanks very much

Yummy! I love crepes and these look so delicious! Send couple of them my way. :)

Righto, will do! Thanks very much :-)

That sounds like a super filling filling -- and really tasty! And I had to chuckle at the last photo. So creative -- you get your wings everywhere, lol! Best of luck in the chanllenge!

Thanks so much! Heh, I wasn't sure how to present my dish and then I thought - wings!!! And yes, a really filling filling, think I ate too much :-/

haha -- how could you not eat too much of your crepes! Have you ever written a post about the origin of your name here on Steemit? It's a creative name that you clearly connect with in many ways!

I've never thought about it actually, but there's an idea, so I just might! Thanks!

Congrats on first place. Very well deserving!!

Thanks so much!!!

nice post :) hahaha nice logo too. I'm thinking about doing the culinary challenge :D and I will start for this week. I'm just checking out some posts to see how the structure of it has to be :)
thanks for sharing.

Thank you @tioluis, I appreciate that! I look forward to seeing what you post for the challenge... it's a great theme we have this week! Any questions feel free to ask and I'll get back to you as soon as I can :-)

Thanks a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33