STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: Ratatian - Ratatouille Tian

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

cb 2.jpg

Hello everyone,

Summer is on as well as zucchini and some other vegetables. Yesterday I got some homegrown zucchinis from my mother in law's garden. She has 3 or 4 plants of zucchini and it gives us loads of zucchini. Luckily, I live not far from her house (about 1 km from my place) so when I need one, I can grab some.

For this week's theme, Vegan Dishes from Around The Globe, I'd like to share with you my Ratatouille Tian, a French Provençal stewed vegetable dish served in a beautiful way. The first time I tried Ratatouille was in Marseille, made by my host mom. I lived in France for about 2 years so I am familiar to this dish and it's been one of my favorite French dish.

By the way, I received my new mandolin slicer this morning so I was thinking to make use of it :-D It was way faster than using knife. Dont worry if you dont have one, you may use knife but it will take more time. The first time I made Ratatian, I didn't have mandolin but it was okay. The result was as beautiful as this one.

My tips: try to use the same size vegetables to get even layer.

cb 3.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 medium summer squash (yellow zucchini)
  • 2 small graffiti eggplants (you may use any kind of eggplant)
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 branch fresh rosemary
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil to drizzle

Methods

  • Wash all the vegetables and pat dry.
  • Using mandolin or knife, slice all veggies into 1.5 mm thick. The thinner the better. Save the scrap for later. Set aside.

cb 5.jpg

  • Cut the onion and bell pepper into thin slice, then chop garlic.

cb 7.jpg

  • In a pan, heat cooking oil over medium high heat, stir fry onion and garlic for about one minute. Add in bell pepper and the scrap. Cook until soft for about 8-10 minutes.

cb 8.jpg

  • Once cooked, transfer into a blender, add water pulse until smooth.

cb 9.jpg

  • Add in fresh rosemary, salt and pepper. Pulse again until it becomes purée.

cb 10.jpg

  • Spread 5 tbsp of sauce on the bottom of ceramic baking dish. Dont put all of the sauce.

cb 11.jpg

  • Preheat oven to 200°C. Make a stack of the vegetables and arrange a few stacks at a time into baking dish in a circular motion. Drizzle some olive oil on top. I used up my tomatoes for my the outer circle. There will be some veggies left, you may cook it on a second baking dish.

cb 12.jpg

cb 15.jpg

  • Put a parchment paper on top the Ratatouille and bake for about one hour.

cb 16.jpg

  • Ready to serve

cb 17.jpg

This dish is perfect for summer and everyone will like it. The veggies are just melting in your mouth because of its thin layer. I dont know what to say, it's just delicious. I wish I could share with you guys.

Before signing off, as always, I'd like to say thank you to everyone involved in SCC, the host, the sponsors, the judges, all participants and everyone who always support SCC. Thank you and thank you :-)

So, if you like my post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem.

Many thanks,
signature-fonts

*All photos are mine and were taken with Nikon P610.

Sort:  

wow this looks amazing! What a good job I love how this dish looks <3
and that puree in the bottom I'm sure it was amazing.
I wish I could try it, I might try to make it :P

Yes, the purée was amazing! Perfect combination with the veggies slices on top. Super delish! Please do try, it's fun stacking the colorful veggies :-D

I'm sure, you got really nice veggies down there, I love the colors that was nice squash lucky you got them for free :D that is the best! home grown

Yes, I was surprised by the color as well. They really look great :-D Grow your own veggies if you have garden or terrace at your home. Zucchini is very easy to take care ;-)

I have some garlic going and shives :P ahhaha I have a little piece of dirt outside my apartment so I made it my garden hahaha I just moved here so I will see what else can I start growing soon but I will definitely build some planters soon. There is just a lot going on right now

Cool future project! I'd love to build one but there's no terrace in our apartment :-)

Wow, what a breathtaking presentation. Emang ya, kalo dah pernah di prancis tu jd tahu gmn menyajikan makanan dgn cantik.

Thank you mbak @horazwiwik. Dulu malah waktu tinggal di Perancis malah nggak pernah bikin secantik ini lho :-D

Hahaha...yg penting dah dpt inspirasi dr prancia hehe

Ooooooooh @ikaputri3 this is my absolute favourite of all the recipes you've created so far for the SCC... It looks and sounds spectacular... I literally gasped with sheer awe when I saw that first photo! And looking at the process and flavours I find this dish really appetising. I was put off Ratatouille a long time ago, as the first and only time I ever tried it was all mushy and the flavour was horrid, kinda bitter. But this looks completely different of course! Your presentation as always is excellent, with great instructions and beautiful photos. I'm truly impressed, thank you! Good luck Putri

Many thanks for your kind words Joanna! Glad to hear that you like it. Yes, please do give another try for this. I was also surprised by the result. It tasted good, better than my previous Ratatian. I think it's because of the thinner slices and better sauce. This was my best Ratatouille I've ever had :-)

This looks amazing! Please tell me you bought a mandolin since the last time we talked about thin slices!! With some crusty bread to dip in that sauce- ohhh boy!! You've made a beautiful creation here! Resteemed!

Yes, I finally bought it and tried it out! It really affected the flavor. I found this one is better in taste because of its thinner slices. I'm happy with my new mandolin. Thank you for your nice words @jaymorebeet! :-)

Yeahhh!! So happy for you! Just try your best to keep all of your fingertips intact!! I'm terrible about using the protector thing and have paid the price many a time!

Haha.. that was the first thing my partner said to me when I got this. Yes, I'll put that in mind. Also because I have blood phobia, I can faint whenever I see a certain amount of blood. I've to be careful :-D Thanks for reminding me @jaymorebeet!

Wow that looks amazing! You stacked the veggies so accurately - it is a piece of art @ikaputri3! ;) Awesome SCC entry btw! :) Upvoted and resteemed it of course!

Thanks for your kind words @alinalisa! I've practiced one time a few weeks ago so my stacking skill is getting better now :-)

Beautiful post! Thank you so much for sharing, I want to try to make that.

Please do try this, you wont be disappointed :-) Thank you for dropping by @lifemovedbysteem!

Beautiful summertime dish! and great photos too. I'll be making this very soon. thank you!

This summertime dish is everyone's favorite :-) Many thanks @chefsteve!

I love this dish.never made it yet, but I have to soon. All the best with the challenge, UPV & RSD 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Yes please, do try it asap :-D This is one of my favorite vegan dish ever. Thanks for your support @lenasveganliving! :-)

Looks very tasty and beautiful! Good luck! :)

Thanks @babettxx! Yours looks good as well :-) Good luck for us!

Yay thank you! ❤️

Congratulations @ikaputri3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45