STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: Simple Healthy Vegan Lentil Apple Salad

in #food7 years ago

Hey foodies!

Soon, apples are in season in Austria. I got my hands on a few tangy granny smith apples which work perfectly for my vegan lentil apple salad. So, why don't I show you this recipe for this weeks Steemit Culinary Challenge #38 which asks for "Vegan Dishes From Around The Globe"? :)

IMG_20170811_202427.jpg

The speciality of this salad recipe is the walnut vinegar. The taste of it fits so great with the lentils and apples. I hope you find something equivalent where you live. Otherwise you can use apple cider vinegar instead and chopped up walnuts to bring in the flavour of walnuts. This will work as well and also provide another layer of texture.

Lentils are very popular in Austria. But often they are cooked with meat, e.g. a dish called "lentils with bacon" ("Linsen mit Speck"). So, I'm proud to include not only an Austrian staple but also a nutritious, protein-loaded and fiber-delivering legume in this recipes to keep all vegan steemians healthy.

What I love about this recipe the most is that it includes both veggies but also fruits. In the past, I was afraid to use fruits in savoury dishes. But now, since I tried a few recipes with fruit I'm completely amazed how good it can taste. I hope all of you skeptics will give it a try to understand what I mean. Really, Apples and lentils go so well together. Trust me! ;)

Ingredients:

  • 500 g lentils, canned and drained
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 glove of garlic
  • 1 big apple, granny smith
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp walnut vinegar (or apple cider vinegar)
  • 1 tbsp vegan liquid sweetener (I used fiber syrup)
  • salt and pepper

IMG_20170811_200804.jpg

Directions:

Finely chop red onion, garlic and apple into small cubes.

IMG_20170811_201224.jpg

IMG_20170811_201400.jpg

IMG_20170811_201627.jpg

Combine with lentils in a bowl.

IMG_20170811_201721.jpg

Add olive oil, walnut vinegar and vegan liquid sweetener.

IMG_20170811_201814.jpg

IMG_20170811_201901.jpg

IMG_20170811_201937.jpg

Season with salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_20170811_202030.jpg

Mix together.

IMG_20170811_202427.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this easy but yet tasty vegan recipe!

If so, please don't forget to resteem, upvote and follow me! 😊

Sort:  

Ich habe es gestern Abend ausprobiert.Dazu gab es noch grünen Salat mit Rucola, Gurke, Tomaten ... und gebratene Austernpilze.

Ich habe das Walnussöl genommen und Apfelessig und noch mit gerösteten Sonnenblumen- und Kürbiskernen gepimpt. War seeehr lecker. Dem Mann hat es auch geschmeckt! 😜😋 Reesteemed.

Das freut mich wirklich extrem, dass du das Rezept ausprobiert hast, es gelungen ist und du dieses tolle Feedback abgegeben hast. Bin so happy! :) Super Idee mit den Sonnenblumenkernen und Kürbiskernen! Mehr Crunch hat noch nie geschadet. ;)

Sieht sehr lecker aus @pusteblume!

Kommt mit auf die Liste: 'Was können wir heute Abend schnell und lecker zaubern'

I HAVE TO TRY THIS RECIPE SOON! This looks and sounds so intriguing. It's a very interesting flavor combination but love the apples in it.

Yeah you really should give it a try @vegetarianbaker! I hope you will like it! Thanks for taking your time leaving this nice comment! :)

Wohooooo.. I'm so glad that you finally participate in SCC! Good luck @alinalisa! :-) Upvoted and resteemed! <3

Thank you so much @ikaputri3!

If you had not been so persuasive, I probably would have never started it. Thank you for your support!

I'm so excited for your SSC entry this week! :)

Haha.. so persuasive. I hope you dont feel forced :-D Nice entry btw! I have some lentils and I'll try your recipe soon :-)

I meant this in the most positive way. ;) Maybe this word did not fit in this context that well. And I really do not feel forced. It is more a matter of motivation because you “believed“ in me. :D

I hope you will like it! :)

Very nice and another great post from you! Upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you so much for your lovely comment @attilaloe! :)

Great recipe and great photos too! I love the combination of hearty lentils and sweet apples! The tangy vinegar brings it all together! Yummm! Resteemed!

Thank you for your nice comment @jaymorebeet! It is a match made in heaven indeed. Thank you for your support! :)

Sounds super delicious and relatively easy to whip up any day of the week. Apple season is also soon upon us here in Denmark! I will definitely be keeping this salad in mind. Do you think pumpkin seed oil will work in place of and apple cider vinegar would be okay (instead of the olive oil) so that I could still get the lidt more 'nutty' flavour?

Thanks for the post!

It really is extremely easy to prepare but yet so delicious! I hope you will like it @megnteglbjaerg!

Yes I think pumpkin seed oil would work. But of course in a completely other way of taste. Also the color will be different. It is a nice idea. Thanks for bringing it up!

This is a super yummy and super healthy recipe Alina..........best of luck with the challenge. I am just in the processes working on my entry. UPV & RSD 🌸🌸🌸

Thank you so much @lenasveganliving! I am looking forward to your enty and wish you good luck aswell! :)

My pleasure Alina and thank you too 🌸🌸🌸

Mmmmmm deeeeelicious looking recipe there @alinalisa! I totally agree with you about lentils and apples being very yummy together, and I see you enjoy red onion just as much as I do! Your presentation is excellent - beautiful photos and perfect rule following too, thank you. This is a wonderful Austrian entry and one I think others will want to try... including me! Good luck!!!

Thank you so much @woman-onthe-wing! I hope others appreciate this post and recipe as much as you do! I am so glad to be a part of the steemit culinary challenge. :)

I'm sure there are many, many others admiring your food too @alinalisa!

Amazing recipe and photography @alinalisa! I'm so happy to see you on the contest!
Best of luck!
@progressivechef

Thank you so much @progressivechef! I am looking forward to your entry! :)

Wow! It's a nice dish! Contains fruit and veggies too, healthy food. I like it.

Thank you @creativewoman! It is very healthy indeed. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45