MINI PIZZAS FOR STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #37

7-Optimized.jpg

Everybody knows that pizza is one of the most popular foods amongst children, at least here in North America. Sadly, pizza is also one of the unhealthiest foods for children and adults.

Luckily, it doesn’t have to be, because there are few ways to make pizza healthy and highly nutritious. Whether kids will like it it’s another story lol. I can only speak for our sixteen months old twins, who are very hard to please and we never know what they will like and what they will not. They may like something one day, but week later they don’t. So far we can say for sure they like bread, potatoes and some fruits, especially bananas, blueberries, raspberries, peaches and mango.

In the case of my healthy pizza experiment it started very promising, as you can see on the photo our boys eating it. We all got very excited, (their mom, dad and their aunt, my second daughter). Unfortunately, it did not last long, just like with other foods. They took couple of bites and after they were just playing with it. They did not care about the toppings at all, but they enjoined the crust and the cheese of course. Daiya is an excellent vegan cheese, especially for pizza, even though not something I eat often. The Daiya Company makes also gluten free vegan pizzas available in most supermarkets. However, it is still a processed food and it should be eaten with moderation. My mini pizzas recipe would be delicious even without the cheese, or with homemade cashew cream, but I went for Daiya, because I knew the boys will like it and they did, even though not so much the rest. Us adults ate most of it and we enjoyed it very much.

I have also another healthy vegan pizza recipe on my blog with the cashew cream, so if you like to try it then please follow this link: https://www.lenasveganliving.com/summer-pizza

MINI PIZZAS RECIPE

1.png

By the way, I was not able to get the wireless printer working at my daughter's place, incase you are wondering about the iPhone. My son in law did when he came home from work with his laptop, but it was too late. However, I have printed tags for the next challenge.

2.jpg

MINI PIZZAS
Sweet Potato Crust Mini Pizzas
VEGAN – GLUTEN FREE

INGREDIENTS FOR 4 MINI PIZZAS
• Sweet potatoes 2 large (must be exactly 5 1/2 cups peeled, cut into cubes)
• Chia seeds 1tbs with 3tbs of water (to make an egg replacement)
• Rice flour 1 1/4 cup (or gluten free flour of your choice)
• Almond meal 1/4 cup
• Olive oil 1tbs
• Apple cider vinegar 1 tbs
• Garlic powder 1 tsp
• Himalayan Pink Salt ½ tsp
• Baking sheet
• Parchment paper

PROCESS
• Whisk Chia seeds with water and let it sit for 15min.
• Steam the sweet potatoes for 30 minutes or until fork-tender.
• Blend them in a food processor or mash them in a bowl.
• Add all the remaining ingredients and make dough with your hands. The dough should be sticky and slightly stretchy.
• When ready, divide the dough into 4 equal parts.
• Preheat the oven to 400F.
• Start making your mini pizzas by shaping each part into a bowl and then gradually into flat pizza shape by pressing down with your hands and finger.
• Place each pizza on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
• Bake for 35 to 40 minutes.
• Remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes.
• Add organic pizza sauce, Daiya cheese (optional) and other toppings of your choice.
• Place it back into oven and bake for 10 more minutes.
• Top with basil and serve. (optional)

NOTE: I have not tested yet, but I believe this crust can be stored in a freezer, as long as is properly wrapped in ziplock bag.

12.jpg

NICHOLAS & FELIPE making us believe they actually like it.............ony first two bites lol

!cid_943.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort:  

Hmmm looks so yummy

I agree this does look really yummy. Wonderful substitute!

Thank you so much @the21plus 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Thnak you so much Kaith 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

yess, love the crust idea, and vegan! Winnnning

If I like your children, how beautiful and happy

Thnak you so much Dear Txatxy 😊

Wow!!! It s a nice pizza! You make salivate!!!

very nice. The food looks really good.

very thanks you

Thank you so much for your nice feedback, really it was good and delicious.

Thank you so much @creativewoman I am happy you like it 😊

Really looks nice. I wish i can get some.😀😀😀

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it............I wish I could send you slice or two 😊

Pizza Pizza, Mamma Mia - Fantastic ideas!!

Thank you so much @steemit-foodie I am glad you like it 😊

I am definitely going to try your recipe @lenasveganliving and add to my go to recipes, and hopefully to make it for my future kids. BTW, the little ones are very cute!!!

Interesting ingredients. I'd love to try it. It looks super delicious. 😋

Thank you so much I am glad you like it 😊

Look beautifully delicious!

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it 😊

Love pizza! Specially when there's pineapple on it =p

You can always add pineapple on this one 😊

Hahaha definitely

Lovely idea @lenasveganliving! I like the healthy pizza crust recipe! And so wonderful that you did a taste test with your young ones. :)

Thank you so much Dear @alinalisa I am glad you like it 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67