STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #35 - Winners & New Theme - Everyone Welcome for SBD Prizes!

Thank you to everyone who entered last week's round with the theme "A Smoothie for @smooth".  These smoothie offerings were our way of saying thanks to @smooth for his generous sponsorship of the SCC from #1 - #32.  Now I wonder which of these stunning smoothies he would award the prizes to... I guess we'll probably never know!  Instead we have @rebeccaryan to award the prizes for 1st and 2nd place.  The participants will be pleased to know that despite what I said last week about there only being one prize, we actually ended up with five!  The first prize is 25 SBD kindly donated by the Steemit community... The second prize is 5 SBD thanks to @sirwinchester....  And 5 SBD each for 3rd, 4th and 5th places this week from @englishtchrivy, former host and now sponsor of the SCC.  Bless her heart, @englishtchrivy felt choosing only one prize was an impossible task, so instead she generously rewarded three!


From this week onwards, not only do we have brand spanking new logos designed by @amy-goodrich and @secret-gardener, but we also have @gringalicious as our brand new sponsor (see I left out the 'spanking' part there haha).  Welcome @gringalicious, and welcome to anyone new who is pondering whether to join us... please do!... we like nothing better than taking a good nosey at everyone's unique creations!  (We'll be nice, don't worry).


For those of you who have never entered this challenge before - it's very easy, just SCROLL DOWN for this week's THEME, RULES and PRIZES.  You don't have to be a master chef - just try to be creative with your recipes and take beautiful photos, since unfortunately we can't taste the entries so you must help us do this with our imaginations!  Original recipes are encouraged, but you may use someone else's recipe as long as you credit the original source. 



5th Prize "A Smoothie for @smooth - Sugar Free & Delicious" by @kotturinn 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


4th Prize "MintyBerry mingles with a GreenCoconut" by @jaymorebeet 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


3rd Prize "Smooth Smoothielicious Farewell" by @progressivechef 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


2nd Prize "Red Velvet Ombre" by @lenasveganliving 5 SBD sponsored by @sirwinchester

@rebeccaryan comments: "Gorgeous eye-candy in a glass. Well done! I loved the nutritional information regarding beets and raspberries and I also thought that your use of berries and currents as garnish on top of each of your smoothies was really clever. It subtly demonstrated how thick your smoothies actually were. Fantastic photography, too."


1st Prize "Entry 2: Raspberry Peach and Papaya Turmeric Take the Smoothie Stage" by @jaymorebeet 25 SBD donated by the Steemit Community

@rebeccaryan comments: "What a second entry! Outstanding job. I loved the nutritional information regarding turmeric, Papaya, and Bee pollen. Great photos of all of your ingredients, grouped together. It's tricky to do that nicely and you certainly managed to. I thought that every single one of your photos were magazine quality."



Our guest judge for this week is @rouketas, a very friendly guy and very talented cook, which most of you no doubt know already.  I owe him much gratitude for frequently going out of his way to help and support the SCC, and not least for jumping in at short notice to be judge for this round!  Thank you @rouketas!!!  

If you haven't ever seen his cooking, you really must.  It not only looks superb, but he likes to use all kinds of weird and wonderful ingredients... it's truly inspiring!  In addition to being a passionate cook, he describes himself as a "gym freak... computer geek and maniac motorcyclist" (yep @rouketas, I have been noseying through your blog!)  He is also on a mission to help the Greek community grow here on Steemit, and draw the rest of the world's  attention to all things Greek!  Check out the @greek-trail blog for more on this, there's lots going on.  Also check out the very generous BONUS PRIZES for this round, sponsored by @rouketas and @greek-trail... Just scroll down a little further to find out how you can win them!  The theme is a very apt summery one, which will surely get many ideas flowing (and tummies rumbling)...




                                       


1.  Title your entry this way: “STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 35: Title of your Dish”


2.  Tag your “Ice-Cream” post with ALL FOUR of the following:

# food  

# food-trail  

# steemitculinarychallenge 

# recipes
 

3.  TAKE PHOTOS OF THE STEP-BY-STEP PROCESS in preparing your dish.


4.  POST A LINK OF YOUR ENTRY below on the comment  thread.  If you have signed up to Steemit.chat please also post it on  the steemitculinarychallenge channel.  To sign up you can click here.
 

5.  The DEADLINE for submission is NO LATER than Wednesday at 12:00 Noon UTC.
 

6.  You may submit TWO ENTRIES if you wish.
 

7.  So we can verify your entry is indeed yours and not plagiarised or copy-pasted from the internet, you MUST  do ONE of the FOLLOWING: 

Here is an example of one of my own step-by-step recipes.   Any questions, please ask.


WINNERS together with the NEW THEME will be announced every FRIDAY.



I'd like to share my sincere THANKS to @gringalicious, @sirwinchester and @englishtchrivy for their continuous sponsorship of this challenge, the Steemians who regularly or occasionally submit entries, and to everyone who upvotes and supports the entries.  I'm well aware there would be no challenge without you all!!! 


PREVIOUS WINNERS of the Steemit Culinary Challenge:


#35 - 

#34 - A Smoothie for @smooth

#33 - Brilliant Berries

#32 - Picnic Alfresco

#31 - Vegan Main

#30 - Tempting Tarts

#29 - Take Me To Brunch... In Your Country

#28 - Cupcakes

#27 - Be A Michelin Star Chef For One Night

#26 - Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Desserts

#25 - Your Favourite Dish

#24 - Mouthgasms

#23 - Otsumami

#22 - Mediterranean Night

#21 - Coffee a la Barista's

#20 - Pancake Paradise

#19 -  Sweet and Savory Crepes

#18 - Tasty, Wholesome Meals for Weight Loss

#17 - Shepherd's Pie

#16 - Tacos for a Tech Savvy

#15 - Roast It

#14 - DIVINE LEMONed DESSERT

#13 - The Finest Fish Dish

#12 - Purely Paleo

#11 - Cheeseless Burger

#10 - Anglo–Sino Chicken

#9 - New Year on a Platter

#8 - La Pasta Perfetta

#7 - Battle of Noodles

#6 - HOT Off the Grill

#5 - Unorthodox Chillied Dish

#4 - Super Salads

#3 - Smoothie Showdown

#2 - Out of the Box Sandwiches  

#1 - Sniffle Remedy Soup


If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me, either by posting your queries on the comment thread below, or you can find me on Steemit.chat under the same name.  I will respond as soon as I can. 

For the announcement of winners and new themes, follow me :-) 


Sort:  

wow ! 5 prizes congrats to everyone !! And once again I didn't win ! Have not won yet , Boo Hoo 😢😢😢 KIDDING !!! 💕😂😂😂💕👍 But you would think smooth would need a protein packed smoothie for all that down voting and flagging he was doing to everyone that got a up vote from a whale !!!!!!!! LOL!!! To bad he wasn't the judge haha !! No offence to @rebeccaryan ! 😂😂😂 Wait!! Maybe not , they would have been flagged !! LOL!

I had to laugh at your comment, @karenmckersie! The flag wars of Steemit will never be forgotten! ; )

Bwahahhaha !!smooth will be remembered im sure for many years to come, He could have used all the protein he could get !! !! LOL! Thanks !😂😂😂👍

No offense taken @karenmckersie! Your use of egg white, did not go unnoticed and I thought that it would have been buried nicely in your blend of banana and chocolate. For people who can tolerate egg protein, I did think that your choice of protein was better than protein coming from whey. When judging this contest, it becomes a measurement of criteria and who captured all the criteria related to the challenge most succinctly. You've got a lot of valuable experience and input on this platform. I think you'd make a great judge of this contest. ;)

I had all the criteria required , more I would say then the expert bloggers , so what criteria was I missing !? It was the exact kind of smoothie that smooth would need ! LOL! PROTEIN !! Also a/lot didn't even have the date on their photos , they just posted pictures from their blogs on utube or whatever with the name on it , could have been made years ago ! But heh I really don't care haha , I just entered for the fun ! I really didn't even have time for this , LOL! I also promoted this contest in a post I did about 7 contests going on! Heres the link ! https://steemit.com/contest/@karenmckersie/let-me-introduce-you-to-7-weekly-contests-im-currently-in-on-steemit / as well as many times in steemit chat ! But that's OK lol, I will be to busy all summer now , Good luck moving forward ! Good night ! 👍👍👍👍

@karenmckersie I love and admire you because in my eyes you are an incredibly strong woman who has found her voice and is no longer intimidated to use it. That only comes with life experience (in my humble opinion) and I greatly value that, which is why I am most humbly acknowledging your comment with a reply. I feel you deserve one and have every right to ask.
So in an effort to support full transparency, once I verified that all the main criteria was met or not met, then I looked at other criteria which included photos of all ingredients used in their raw form, # of actual ingredients used, # of steps taken required to make the entry with supporting photography, how much of the entry was made from scratch or with completely raw ingredients that take prep work to transform as opposed to how many ingredients used were commercial bought, and lastly, what work went into styling the entry all the way along including the final presentation skills that were employed. I can only speak for myself in the judging process in terms of how I placed each entry. I can tell you that I made tear sheets up for each participant with detailed notes on each. I spent 3 hours making my decision to pick the 1st and 2nd place, winners. Technically, your entry did meet all the base requirements (as did many of the entries) which then meant that I had to start comparing each entry, basically line by line, ingredient by ingredient, photo by photo. Please know that I really worked at this and thought I was being as fair as I knew how to be. I feel I have a good relationship with you and I have enjoyed many of your posts. I acknowledge that you have been a big supporter of the SCC over the last year because I have personally witnessed this. We are both Canadian and we joined Steemit around the same time last year. I know how hard it's been on this platform to achieve success and you have done an absolutely fantastic job hanging on during the rough times and making your way here (in my opinion). I wish you all the best Karen. I sincerely mean that and please know that you actually inspire me to keep steeming, myself.

thanks for your kind reply ! I think what would make this type of a challenge possibly more successful and attract more participants is to have 3 catagories with one prize in each , so all the money donated from the sponcers etc. Would be divided evenly 3 ways ! So you would have NOVICE / INTERMEDIATE / EXPERT / Or something similar , this way the beginner or home cooks could enter in the maybe NOVICE category without feeling intimidated or feel like they will lose to someone that does this for a living and has been in a magazine etc like gringalicous say ( just an example) who would enter in the EXPERT category ! This way the novice or beginner would only be going up against other new or novice participants but still in a culinary challenge , and perhaps after a while start entering into the INTERMEDIATE Category . Anyways maybe pass it on to @woman-onthe-wing , just a suggestion ! Thanks !👍👍👍

Hi karen, sorry I only just read this as I've not been online at all since posting the new theme. I have had a quick read of your dialogue with @rebeccaryan, but will take a proper look tomorrow and respond to you properly then too. Hope that's ok... family time today :-) I wish you a happy Saturday!!! Take care :-)

oh no worries ! No need to respond , im also very busy with family ! Just made a suggestion ! Thanks for replying back !👍👍👍

Beautiful smoothies! Congratulations every one :)

First of all i would like to thank @woman-onthe-wing for doing me the honor to be this week SCC judge !

Your efforts under any circumstances for the SCC & not giving up is a real inspiration to me supporting SCC with any way i can !

Thank you for your kind words i am flattered ! 😊

I don't usually upvote cooking blogs maybe exception is Mrs @gringalicious witch I meet at steemfest correct me if I am wrong but since this is sponsored by the @greek-trail I will do so an re-steem it. If you are ever short in contributions feel free to reach out for me and I see what I can do for your new start guys. All the best. Peace out.

That's very kind of you, thanks @skapaneas! Yes, this week one of the prizes is sponsored by @greek-trail, and @gringalicious will be sponsoring the top three prizes every week. It's great to have your support, thanks so much :-)

Hello @woman-onthe-wing! Trust you are fine and having a great start of the week! Please find my entry for this week contest! Hope you like it and be surprised!!!
https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@progressivechef/steemit-culinary-challenge-35-rosy-citrus-and-cucumber-granita
Cheers
@progressivechef

This is so exciting, loved all the entries and thank you so much @rebeccaryan for your beautiful comments. And of course @woman-onthe-wing for making it happen. I absolutely love the new challenge and I will be definitely participating 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Hooray! I'm very glad to hear that! And I too am excited too about this week's theme... an excellent choice for summer. I eagerly await what will surely be another impressive recipe @lenasveganliving :-)

I'll do my best to make something you'll like @woman-onthe-wing 😊

Hello Dear @woman-onthe-wing, I am finally done with my entry. I almost thought I would not make it, since I was very busy last few days. Luckily I did, so here I am.
https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@lenasveganliving/matcha-popsicles-for-steemit-culinary-challenge-35

Congrats to you all! I have seen so many amazing creations this week!

Upvote and follow me

Congratulations to everyone who played a role in making this particular SCC a success. The new logo, looks fantastic and I can't wait to see what's yet to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93