STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #32 - Winners & New Theme - And Introducing a New BONUS PRIZE!


Many thanks to last week's judge @amy-goodrich for giving us the theme "Vegan Main".  The entries were outstanding, and really interesting too as many of our participants admitted they're not used to cooking vegan yet were surprised how much they enjoyed creating (and eating) their dishes!  To me that's the best part of this challenge - the way it encourages people to try new diets and ingredients and preparation methods.  Also, it seems, most of you vie to be healthy and discuss nutritional values of ingredients too, which is great as we can all learn at the same time as feasting with our eyes!  Cooking vegan can be quite challenging, particularly if you're not used to either preparing or eating it.  But, as the non-vegan participants discovered there's actually unlimited possibilities once you start thinking, and you can enjoy a satisfying meal just as much as any meat or dairy-based meal.  @amy-goodrich was absolutely delighted with all the entries and efforts from everyone, and knew as soon as they started being posted that it would be so hard to choose the winners!  But alas, not everyone gets a prize but everyone definitely gets our admiration for such high quality cooking.  Well done to you all!


Now, as I mentioned in the title we have an additional BONUS PRIZE sponsored by former host @englishtchrivy, who most of you know and love already!  The prize is for the "Most Creative Entry", and will be awarded by @englishtchrivy each week, starting now with this new theme.  So guys you have even more incentive to be as creative with your cooking as possible, since you could end up with not just one but two prizes if you're very lucky!!!


For those of you who have never entered this challenge before - it's very easy, just SCROLL DOWN for this week's THEME, RULES and PRIZES.  You don't have to be a master chef - just try to be creative with your recipes and take beautiful photos, since unfortunately we can't taste the entries so you must help us do this with our imaginations!  Original recipes are encouraged, but you may use someone else's recipe as long as you credit the original source. 



4th prize "Vegetable noodles seasoned with sesame soysauce" by @emilymichelle 5 SBD sponsored by @sirwinchester

Judge comments:  "@emilymichelle! Thanks for both entries! I’m so glad your kids loved it too. You just took an Asian staple street food and made it so much better! Fresh homegrown veggies and homemade veggie noodles are just wow. I loved it how your kids went for the veggie noodles straight away. Great cooking and I hope the challenge inspired you to cook more plant-based dishes for your family in the future!"


3rd Prize "Wild, Wild Salad - 19 wild plants - trees, flowers, weeds!" by @haphazard-hstead 10 SBD sponsored by @smooth

Judge comments:  "@haphazard-hstead how fresher can it get! I love your creativity and plant knowledge! You always amaze me with the foods that can be made with the things growing around you! Wild, creative, and free! I just love it!" 


2nd Prize "Spring Time At The Sea" by @kerrismiles 15 SBD sponsored by @smooth

Judge comments:  "@kerrismiles, you combined some of my favorite foods in one colorful, creative dish. All fresh, whole foods, coming from organic and sustainable or local sources. Nothing beats the taste of fresh! Never had sea vegetable kraut before, thanks for the tip I’ll definitely try to make some of that!"   


1st Prize "Greens, Roots, Grains, and Beans" by @kennyskitchen 25 SBD sponsored by @smooth

Judge comments:  "@kennyskitchen, you gave me a hard time picking one of your two dishes! I just love them both. Yummy ingredients and some creative cooking in both dishes, but the second one got my ultimate winner vote because you used so many (forgotten) veggies, which I love, and whole, fresh ingredients. You also convinced me to try and grow some more non-native plants. I thank you for that and your amazing and creative cooking!" 


Prizes will be transferred directly to your wallets by the respective sponsors.  Please note: the sponsors are not always able to pay straight away - it can take days or occasionally even weeks, so  please be understanding about this.  But they have never let us down so be assured they always catch up with payments as soon as they can! 
 


The guest judge for this week is @rebeccaryan, who most of you know by her own entries in this challenge.  She is a medical cannabis coach and massage therapist from Ontario, Canada, and also owns her own Day Spa selling homemade natural beauty products.  Her mission: to free people from chronic pain and simultaneously save them from the horrible toxins they consume or apply to their bodies!!!  Her blog also features wonderfully inventive Paleo and raw food recipes, health advice, amusing and interesting life stories and photos (actually interesting not just trying to be!) amongst other things, just go have a little nosey :-)  She put much thought into this week's theme and has come up with a very exciting one, which makes me impatient to see what everyone will present!  You're sure to have fun with this one...



1.  Title your entry this way: “STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 32: Title of your Dish”


2.  Tag your “Picnic Alfresco” post with ALL FOUR of the following:

# food  

# food-trail  

# steemitculinarychallenge 

# recipes
 

3.  TAKE PHOTOS OF THE STEP-BY-STEP PROCESS in preparing your dish.


4.  POST A LINK OF YOUR ENTRY below on the comment  thread.  If you have signed up to Steemit.chat please also post it on  the steemitculinarychallenge channel.  To sign up you can click here.
 

5.  The DEADLINE for submission is NO LATER than Wednesday at 12:00 Noon UTC.
 

6.  You may submit TWO ENTRIES if you wish.
 

7.  So we can verify your entry is indeed yours and not plagiarised or copy-pasted from the internet, you MUST  do ONE of the FOLLOWING: 


Here is an example of one of my own step-by-step recipes.   Any questions, please ask.


WINNERS together with the NEW THEME will be announced every Friday.    
 

Prizes will be transferred directly to your wallets by the respective sponsors – please allow them time to do this!
 

Don't forget to THANK and FOLLOW our sponsors for supporting the Steemit Culinary Challenge.  Please also consider including @smooth.witness in your voted witness list. 


I'd also like to share my sincere THANKS to @smooth and @sirwinchester for their continuous sponsorship of this challenge, the Steemians who regularly or occasionally submit entries, and to everyone who upvotes and supports the entries.  I'm well aware there would be no challenge without you all!!! 



PREVIOUS WINNERS of the Steemit Culinary Challenge:


#31 - Vegan Main

#30 - Tempting Tarts

#29 - Take Me To Brunch... In Your Country

#28 - Cupcakes

#27 - Be A Michelin Star Chef For One Night

#26 - Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Desserts

#25 - Your Favourite Dish

#24 - Mouthgasms

#23 - Otsumami

#22 - Mediterranean Night

#21 - Coffee a la Barista's

#20 - Pancake Paradise

#19 -  Sweet and Savory Crepes

#18 - Tasty, Wholesome Meals for Weight Loss

#17 - Shepherd's Pie

#16 - Tacos for a Tech Savvy

#15 - Roast It

#14 - DIVINE LEMONed DESSERT

#13 - The Finest Fish Dish

#12 - Purely Paleo

#11 - Cheeseless Burger

#10 - Anglo–Sino Chicken

#9 - New Year on a Platter

#8 - La Pasta Perfetta

#7 - Battle of Noodles

#6 - HOT Off the Grill

#5 - Unorthodox Chillied Dish

#4 - Super Salads

#3 - Smoothie Showdown

#2 - Out of the Box Sandwiches  

#1 - Sniffle Remedy Soup


If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me, either by posting your queries on the comment thread below, or you can find me on Steemit.chat under the same name.  I will respond as soon as I can. 

For the announcement of winners and new themes, follow me :-) 


Sort:  

congratulate the winners

wow. your posting is so nice. i've just found it has Korean name (아이비 선생님) on your profile board. I guess.. you have a Korean friend.

Thanks so much @jack8831! I have met quite a few lovely Korean people on Steemit, and you seem very friendly yourself! Nice to meet you :-)

Ciao a tutti!
https://steemit.com/food/@stella87s/steemit-culinary-challenge-32-delicious-falafel-for-a-perfect-picnic

Here is my picnic/party/apetizer recipe of Falafel! Hope you like it! Let me know what do you think about it.
congrats to last week winners and thanks for this idea!

Thank you so much this week's judge @amy-goodrich for all the hard works! I'll try to cook vegan dish at least twice a week for my family ... so many great ideas from everyone inspired me for a better life style...thanks ^_^

That's so great to hear @emilymichelle! veggies and whole foods rock!

woo hoo so blessed!!!
Thank you thank you steem family.
I'm going our to rainbow gathering for a few weeks but I will be back steeming and being apart of this wonderful challenge in a few weeks.
Sending love and light and rainbow love to you all.

Have a lovely time and we'll see you when you return! :-)

Oh is it the same Kenny is going to? Have fun and see you in a few weeks!

Yes it is! Thank you :)

Hi I would like to add my entry to the contest :D
@woman-onte-wing
https://steemit.com/food/@tioluis/steemit-culinary-challenge-32-picnic-al-fresco-or-all-aperto-meal-paleo-raw-vegan-food
Thanks for hosting this :) and I hope you have a great day

I am new and this is exciting. Going to look at some past winning entries. This is great. Love it.

It's exciting for me as well to see newcomers in the challenge! Keeps the regulars on their toes :-) I can't wait to see your cooking @tesscooks4u, any questions just ask!

Thanks so much @woman-onthe-wing I am still getting my feet wet - LOL!

Once you get a feel for it I hope you come to love the Steemit community as much as I do! :-)

Congratulations, everyone! So many beautiful entries!

I agree @kotturinn! There are so many excellent cooks on Steemit, I so wish we could all get together for a massive banquet!

congratulations to all the winners!

I can't get into the chat ( i left you a message there - two days ago)
it's not loading - for some reasons
I just came by to say something -
am off for a few days (in case you were trying to reach me)
am on an important seminar but anyway - I'll try to log in when I can if I can cause this seminar finishes pretty late

Hi Ivy, yeah I can't get onto Chat for the last 3 days now... I hope your message isn't urgent!!! Hope the seminar goes well and I'll talk to you soon. Oh - if you have any comments regarding your new bonus prize, any changes you want me to make, then you can send me messages on my facebook page :-)

got your message I hope you got mine too :)

I can't get on Chat yet today... I will keep trying! Quite annoying how this keeps happening, I hope they get the problems sorted soon

I wanna go to a banquet!

Wow,SCC banquet ...sounds great! I am in...hahaha..

I think we could really make it happen if we tried!

The one we can physically eat!! Would be nicer...haha

If i make a bowl of ramen noodles noodles and post it, I WILL WIN... Bc noodles are life and noodles are bae...

You seem to have set a challenge for yourself there @cryptofixer... Now I'll be looking out for the best noodle post EVER!

Thanks, way to be friendly nice post!

Congrats to you all! You really amazed me with your cooking but there could only be 4 winners! Have a great weekend! And let the picnicking begin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32