One photo every day: Bokeh in the forest (274/365) + How does aperture affect a photo? Lesson in Bokeh!

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Bokeh

Hello! I'm going to discuss a bit about something called "bokeh".

Bokeh is originally a Japanese term "暈け" / "ボケ" ("boke"), sometimes referred to as "ボケ味" ("boke-aji") and it simply means blur or haze.

Bokeh is quite simply put the phenomena where the background (or foreground) of the picture (or both) get blurred, leaving only the narrow focused area clean, hence creating an interest point into the picture while the otherwise distracting stuff subtly fades away.

Bokeh
Enjoy the smooth bokeh!

There are basically three ways to create bokeh into a photo:

  1. shooting full aperture with a lens with a wide aperture (small f-number), usually lower than F5, preferably lower than F2.8
  2. using a long telephoto lens (100-300mm or longer), shooting relatively close objects (2-4 meters away)
  3. Shooting very close to the subject (less than 15 cm away) / macro photography

Here are three examples of how aperture affects bokeh:

Example 1

20180326_112337.jpg
A tree stub shot with a mobile phone with fixed aperture. F2.6 / 3mm (Wide angle, ~28mm full-frame DSLR equivalent)

In the previous picture, you may see the trees and branches in the background are slightly blurred. But they are still clearly visible and can relatively well be recognized as trees. They may even be distracting to some.

I couldn't find the technical specifications regarding the camera on my Jolla C smartphone, but I would guess the sensor size is somewhere around 3.7mm × 2.8mm (according to info gathered from other similar mobile phones), thus the crop factor may be about 9.5x. Using the crop factor, we can calculate the DSLR equivalency of the lens and focal length so we can compare it to my camera. Simply multiply F2.6 with 9.5 and we get F24.7, and do the same for the focal length, 3mm × 9.5 = 28,5mm.

Now we must remember these figures are the full-frame equivalents, and that my own camera is a crop-sensor camera with a 1.6x crop factor. So if we divide the earlier figures by 1.6, we'll get roughly 18mm and F15.4.

I didn't have my 18-55mm kit lens with me today, which would have worked somewhat better for teaching about the crop factor. I will instead use my 50mm lens for comparison. After all, this lesson wasn't supposed to be about crop factor anyway, but bokeh!

Example 2

Treestump Bokeh 2
Shot with Canon EOS 550D – Sigma 50mm F1.4 at pretty small aperture; F10

In this photo we'll see how the trees in the background are clearly visible, just like in the mobile phone photo. I used a relatively small aperture.

Example 3

Treestump Bokeh 3
Creamy smooth bokeh at F1.8, the background has vanished into a haze of green and white.

This photo clearly shows the difference between a mobile phone and a camera with detachable, exchangeable lenses.

But it isn't always so. A mobile phone can still do a relatively good job, if you shoot close enough:

20180326_112420.jpg
Some bokeh, shot the branch at <10cm distance.

I hope you liked today's photos. I was supposed to post them after noon, as the photos were already done, but the writing took me a bit longer than I thought, and top of that we went to see an apartment viewing with Vera, and I also had to visit the 1st year students' parents' evening at Miro's school... And then read to my boys, before I could continue writing this post.

I'm now finally finished it, and it's 1am again. ;) Such fun is having flexible work hours.

So see you again tomorrow!



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Hercule Purrot]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Brothers (266/365)
Miro and the long-wave transmitter. (267/365)
Creamed creativity (268/365)
Shakers (269/365)
Just an idea (271/365)
Multi-vitamin drink (272/365)
Palm Sunday – Easter witches (273/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Magnificent shots. I know about bokeh i'm using a vivo phone..this feature is available on my phone's camera and it is really cool feature. The reason why it is so popular, is because Bokeh makes photographs visually appealing, forcing us to focus our attention on a particular area of the image.

Please don't self-upvote your own comments, it is highly rude. I don't want to flag you, but will if you do it again in my comment section.

i will take care next time.

@gamer00,
I think personally my best selection is Example 02 photography! With my phone camera I also trying to get that type of photography! But somehow the main focus item has some kind of weird outline :/
Anyway with your camera it's very much possible to take an absolutely a brilliant photography!

Cheers~

some kind of weird outline

Do you have an example? Maybe I can help dissect the problem and explain what causes it, and maybe even help you avoid it.

@gamer00,

Can you see the leaves? Around the leaves there is a kind of reflection :/

Cheers~

These sort of glitches may happen when the blur is generated in software. Are you sure your phone doesn't create additional blur as an effect? The blur does also look a bit uneven throughout the photo which kind of suggests it might be created in software.

I'm not sure if the small aperture of smartphone cameras usually causes things like this as I haven't seen a similar effect on my own phone.

What smartphone model do you use?

@gamer00,
Name: Huawei Nova 2i (Black)
Camera Primary: Dual 16 MP + 2 MP, LED flash
Camera Secondary: Dual 13 MP + 2 MP, Soft LED flash

This is the Smart Phone that I am using! It has dual camera's in both sides!

Cheers~

Dual camera... it appears that the two pictures get stitched together in software and either some filter applied to the resulting photo, or both. I would guess the smartphone uses some tricks to create that selective blurring, and that it hasn't been implemented very well.

See if you can turn all the photo enhancement options off, and if the problem still persists. First try taking a photo where everything is in focus. Then try taking a shot from very close proximity to your subject and see if the background gets blurred. That should be the natural blur you are looking for.

@gamer00,
Sure I will try this out! Thank you Jaro!

Cheers~

They are good photos @gamer00.

Camera shots is still way better than phone shots any type of phone for now.

Those you took with your Canon were clearly better.

@gamer00 - Sir this is the 1st time I learn photography about blur... It's a kind of art in photography & you nicely explain that art by using this article Sir... I love that photography 01 Sir...

+W+

Awesome awesome.great explanation in detail,thank you so much.

nicely explained how to create bokeh,the concept is crystal clear.awesome pics.

More good photos and some information that I will have to reread when I have more time.

I love shots like the first pic and the third example. I don't care for the semi-blurry ones. It seems more like a mistake than an artistic shot, which is what I see in the more "bokeh" photos.

I don't care for the semi-blurry ones. It seems more like a mistake than an artistic shot

The idea was to show how much cameras can differ. It isn't always possible to use a DSLR, but most of us have a camera in our pocket in the form of a smartphone these days. It might not be able to produce an amazingly smooth creamy shallow depth of field, but it's not impossible to somewhat blur out the background and give it just enough bokeh to separate and highlight the subject.

And in the end, if you know how it's done, you'll have more options even with a smartphone, and that's kind of the point I was trying to make in the post.

Oh I understood. I was just saying that I like strong bokkeh, but the weak shots just seem kinda of dizzy. Just explaining my preference for properly done versions.

A mobile phone can still do a relatively good job, if you shoot close enough:

I saw someone that uploaded her dp on whatsapp with this effect. I didnt ask, but now I know how it was done. Thanks for this.

Pardon my ignorance, what's a "dp"?

Your explanation is really good for those of us who are not informed but my phones have a profundity effect and has a bar to graduate the effect but nothing like your shot , the effect does not come close in anything to what you achieve with your lenses. I wonder if you can achieve similar effects using photoshop with a normal photo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45