It was June | Lola's Story Part 42 | 5 minute freewrite ~Prompt: bath

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 41

Now, before we start, you need to know that I was sworn to never share this with you,” he took another deep breath. “Things have…changed…it would seem. New developments.” he shook his head. “That’s not really the point though. The bottom line is, you aren’t going to like what I have to say. You might even hate me for it, but I don’t see a way around it anymore.

“Do you remember when I met you six years ago? At the bookstore you worked at?” he asked.

“Of course I do, Second Reading, it was my favorite,” she answered.

“Well, what if I told you I had been sent there to meet you. That I hadn’t actually been looking for that first edition, that I didn’t even know who that author was until ten minutes before I walked into that shop?”


Part 42

Lola couldn’t process this. She stared ahead of her at the garage door, specifically the chipped green paint in the top right corner.

Mark waited for a response, then continued.

“It was June, I remember because it was so hot already and Kyle and I had been in the van for three hours already that evening waiting for the moment we were supposed to go inside. But we couldn’t run the air because we were almost out of gas. Kyle had spent the gas money on cigarettes, and he was lucky I was in a decent mood that day.”

Hearing Kyle’s name had brought the moment into perspective. She remembered that day, the day they had walked into the shop. She had been wearing her favorite summer dress. It was purple with delicate straps that flowed down past her waist to her knees.

“The moment finally came when you flipped around the closed sign. Our job was to go inside and meet you, find out if you knew anything.”

She smiled slightly at the memory of them running up, so afraid they had missed their opportunity to buy that first edition. Then how disappointed they were when they found out they didn’t even carry first editions. It was only a small town used bookstore she had tried to explain to them.

That’s when Mark had asked for her phone number, it was the least she could do he had said with a grin. Kyle had stood back smiling at his friend’s lame attempts. It hadn’t worked either.

“Well, even if you had it, we were too broke to buy it, so it really worked out. But we were still surveying the store. So, we came back later that night to watch who came out. We knew your boss was hosting meetings that he had no business being apart of.”

Lola nodded, she also remembered the strange meetings, the owner Tim had called poker night. She had accidentally walked in one evening when the his wife had called the shop looking for him. Tim had jumped up knocking the poker table over, shooing her out with a red face full of panic. She had never understood why no one had been holding cards and the table had been empty.

“We got the photos we needed, but we were still so far away from any real evidence. That’s when we knew we really had to get to know you.”

Lola had a sharp intake of breath.

“So, naturally we came back for a follow up visit. We came, drank bad coffee, looked at books and pretended to know what we were talking about. I think it was pretty lucky you were still so young. We were terrible at our job,” he snickered.

Lola turned to glare at him.

“I’m sorry,” he apologized immediately then began again before she could interrupt. “After days of coming in, you finally agreed to have dinner with me. I was on cloud nine. I took you to that little pizza place, remember when I split the garlic sauce all over you? You said you were going to have to take a long bath to get that smell off. ” he smiled to himself. “Despite what I was there for, you were the most beautiful girl I had ever had the pleasure of taking out.”

Lola rolled her eyes.

“It’s the truth,” he shrugged. “Well, I found out pretty quickly you didn’t actually know anything. The people above me were convinced as well, and you were dropped as a potential witness. But I wasn’t done seeing you yet. So, I decided to let it play out a little more. It worked out pretty well for awhile, until you got an eye for Kyle.”

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! Please check out the **Story Club** @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!
If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers!

@freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Parts

1| 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10
11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20
21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30

31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40
41


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest.

"You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

Hi @freedomtowrite. . Very interesting story... I didn't read the previous parts of this storybecause I was not online for few days... but now I will try to read its next parts and also try to read its previous parts.
Thanks allot dear.

Thank you! Yeah, I've been writing the story for a few months now, so I understand if it takes you awhile to read all the parts! Thanks for reading!

Way to drop a mega bomb!

Story Club - Everyone's Invited

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 42 Questions

  1. Can Lola continue to trust Mark after divulging this information or will she feel too betrayed?
  2. Now that she knows how close she was to dangerous activities, do you think any more memories will surface and continue to lead her to the truth?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

1 - Now she realizes why she fell for him to begin with?
2 - Ya, she'll remember something key to the storyline, maybe a character or detail that leads them to solving the mystery.

  1. I agree! Whether its a person, place or object, I have a feeling she might have a flash back or connect some dots even Kyle didn't know about.
  1. I can't see why she'd feel betrayed, he was observing her to make sure she wasn't involved in anything dangerous. It was a part of his job, and she knew what he did for a living, didn't she?
  2. Oh I hope so- the suspense and twists just keep getting better and better!
  1. This is true, he was doing her job which in a round about way would keep her safe, but she is just learning this was his job now. Seeing as he continued the friendship once the work was done, and has been keeping an eye on her safety I think Lola will trust him but will be skeptical of what he tells her, at least for a little while. If he was hiding this, what else is he hiding?
  2. Agreed!

1-Mark did nothing wrong, he was just doing his job then before he fell in Love with her. So why shouldn't she trust him now?
2- Ermmm, maybe she might remind certain things now she knows where all this begin.

What a great perspective. He did fall in love with her while doing his job. I mean, we can't help who we fall in love with right? -Aimee

Really enjoyed reading:) Great details, her looking at chipped green paint, straps of her purple dress and garlic sauce!

Thank you! This was definitely one of those parts that I reread and felt I could've done better, but if I edit too much then it's not a freewrite. So your compliment came at a great time, thank you!

Funny how things work that way. You're a great writer so glad I was able to lift you on a day you might be forgetting :)

Awww! Thank you! I am very glad you were able to lift my spirits!

Poor Mark. Whatever happens, he'll still have to live knowing he was the second choice ;D

Right? Poor guy...I'm excited to also write more of Kyle's personality so we can learn why she picked him over Mark.

Oh! I can't wait to read more about Kyle.

Oh sweet, I'm excited for that!

Awww...cute beginning to a great love story hey :)

Haha so...she wore another dress and I thought of you!

Yesss, I saw. She enjoyed it too :) One question homeboy isn't asking down there, is with all this stress and the baby due in...6 weeks now? Maybe less? Will she have a premie or how is she able to keep trucking? I mean, I know the loss has got to give her some motivation, but it has to be taxing on the body too :)

I've thought about that a lot actually...and I do wonder how much unexpected stress she can before it affects the baby 😟

Also...I wanted to add that a lot has happened in a short amount of time. She's actually only 25 weeks right now. 😊

Who is that they were working for and why? Were they really cops? More questions. Next part, please!

Haha I'm really happy you have so many questions and want more!

Ooooo.... interesting! The plot thickens!

Wow, everyone has a lot of explaining to do! (Starting with the author. LOL)

hmmm.... if I were Lola I'd want to know a LOT more about the investigation and who Mark and Kyle were working for.

I know it would mess me all up to bits not knowing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44