Breathing Like It's the First Time | Lola's Story Part 12 | 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt : scout

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Gloria’s car pulled slowly up the cul-de-sac, and Lola hit the lights. They crept slowly towards their familiar driveway, the smell of hot doughnuts filled the air.

“Are you sure about this?” Tommy asked nervously.

“Yeah.” Lola answered. “It’ll be fine.”

She slowed the car until it stood still on the curb in front of the giant Maple tree she remembered. Lola breathed in deeply, unbuckled and got out of the car.

“Lola!” Tommy whispered. “Lola…oh come on…really?”

She ignored him, and shut the door quietly behind her.

Walking with confidence, she slid one shoe off at a time, then sat down at the base of the trunk. Tommy walked quickly towards her, his eyes darting back and forth, scouting the darkened street.

“Shhhh…” she said peacefully, and patted to the carpet of grass beside her.

He sat down hesitantly, and criss-crossed his legs.

“What are we doing?” he stared at his sister. Her eyes were closed…her head rested against the bark.

“I’m breathing, Tom.” she answered. “I’m breathing like it’s the first time.”

Thank you so much for reading! If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-158-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-scout

Sort:  

Doughnuts are definitely worth going out for at midnight.

Haha right? I was craving them so bad after I wrote this!

So that's where she wanted to go! Oh that makes so much sense...

I'm glad you were able to see the significance! I actually saw her spending time here from the beginning, and I'm so glad it made it in!

Thank you! If you get a chance, please check out the other parts!

I will my dear....

You have been recommended for a Freewrite House upvote by @scribblingramma and @bennettitalia. We love what you do!!! (mw)

Ahhh! How cool!! Thank you!! ❤

It was almost as if I could smell the doughnuts drifting through the air. Nice story.

Thank you! You should give freewrites a try!

Looks like Lola might make it after all!

Things are looking up!

Magic eight ball says outlook is good.

Hello freedomtowrite!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Ahhh! I would've watched this last night, but I thought it was the prompt! Haha Sorry! BUT on the bright side, I woke up to a wonderful video!!

Lovely. I need to spend more time breathing at the base of a tree.

Here's today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-159-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-think

Thank you! I think we all do! Haha If you get a chance, please read other parts! I also love your name!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28