Caution | Lola's Story Part 21 | 5 minute Freewrite ~ Prompts: sweater, the entryway, and trolley

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The coffee shop had grown steadily more busy as the morning wore on, but Lola and Bryon sat content in the corner booth. The banana bread, as promised, had been delicious and they each were picking at the last bit of crumbs that were left.

“Wow, I’ve never seen anyone eat so fast,” Bryon said eyeing his plate. “And you ate pretty fast yourself.”

Lola smiled, unable to stop herself. “It was just as good as I remembered, and I haven’t wanted to chuck it back up or anything.” she laughed at herself.

“So, I see your peppermint tea is empty, your bread is long gone, what would you like to do next?” he asked.

Lola’s eyebrows dropped, and she looked at her hands gripping the empty mug.

“Or, I could let you carry on with your day. I’m sure you have some big plans to get to.”

She laughed a short laugh. “Right,” she said sarcastically. “Huge plans.”

Bryon turned to look at the window behind him. The sun was still bright and high in the sky, and only a few puffy white clouds had moved in.

“Well, I was thinking, it’s-” he glanced down at his watch. “10:20 now. A trolley is due to run through in the next ten minutes or so. My next shift doesn’t start until this evening. Would you be up for a ride?”

Lola thought for a moment. She could easily let her mom know her plans, and Bryon would probably give her a ride back home, but there was uncertainty that crept into the pit of her stomach.

“I’ll give you a ride home,” he smiled. “I think it only takes about an hour or so to go around town, and then before you know it, you’re back at home doing whatever it is that is making you frown so hard.”

Lola tried to relax her forehead.

“Ok,” she said hesitantly.

Bryon jumped up, and extended a hand to help her out of her chair.

“Now, the steady rocking of the trolley won’t make you nauseous, will it?” asked

“Everything makes me nauseous.” she said lightly. “Give me just a sec, I just need to let my mom know.”

She stepped out into the entryway of the coffee shop, and quickly swiped open the screen of her phone.


Hey mom, I’m hanging in there okay. Bryon asked me to ride the trolley, so I think I’m going to try it. Is that alright?


Of course that’s okay, sweetie! You have a good time, and I will see you at home. Did you bring a sweater? I can’t remember.


No, but I should be okay.


Lola tucked her phone back into her back pocket, but it immediately buzzed again.


Lola, sorry I haven’t been in much contact. Listen, your dad just mentioned Bryon stopped by your house. Please be careful with him, I‘ll be in touch later. Delete this text when you’re done.


Lola stood there, the color drained from her face. Mark hadn’t talked to her since before the accident. The one time she reached out to a friend, it was him, but he hadn’t even returned her phone call. What did he even mean…be careful…careful of what?

“Hey! You ready?” Bryon asked standing behind her. Lola jumped, then tried to recover with a smile.

“Uh, yeah.” she said unsure of the steadiness in her voice.

“Great. Oh, and did you ever get a chance to look in that envelope I gave you?"

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! I'm really excited to see where this might be headed! I hoped you enjoyed it!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, and @wordymouth!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-196-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-trolley ***

"You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth

Sort:  

Suspense !!! I'm curious to who Lola is to Bryon and Mark? What Bryon has in store for Lola?... This is actually the first time I'm reading your story. I'll take my time later in the day and go through all 20 parts that has been shared. @freedomtowrite

Thank you!! I would love that! If you like, I can add you to the list of readers so you can be notified when the next part comes out...I'm not always consistent. Haha Thanks again for reading!

Lol.... I Don't mind. Please do i would love to be added to the list of Readers
Thank you

Great! Thank you!

Mark is jealous now? Where was he when she needed him? I think Bryon's intentions are honourable. Not so sure about Mark's. And is she going to open that envelope?

Thanks for joining in the conversation @cecicastor.
Hmmm... perhaps Mark is jealous. Interesting perspective.
I know! What's in that envelope? We all want to know, don't we?
-Aimee

I love this comment!

Mark is jealous now? Where was he when she needed him?

I love it.

Story Club

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am wondering if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 21 Questions

  1. What do you think Bryon's intentions are with meeting Lola?
  2. Do you think Bryon's motivations are driven by friendship or the contents of the mystery envelope?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty, and @wordymouth!
Cheers, Aimee

Okay... I just saw this comment. I've not been following the story from part 1 though. Well, Mark sounded like Lola is not safe with Bryon but then again I do not know what the content of the envelope contains, could it be an information that would destroy this sudden friendship?

Hi @mizdais, thanks for joining in the conversation! I would definitely encourage you to read the story from part one simply because it's such a good read.

We all still wondering about the contents of the envelope, @freedomtowrite is keeping us in suspense.

Mark did encourage Lola to be careful with Bryon which makes me wonder what Mark's history is with Bryon. Was there a falling out, or a misunderstanding? I was under the impression that Bryon was good friends with Lola's husband, Kyle, which is why I want to like him but now I am unsure. I am curious if Bryon already knows what is in the envelope and that's why he's reaching out. -Aimee

My thoughts on part 21

1. What do you think Bryon's intentions are with meeting Lola?
Initially, I thought Bryon had good intentions meeting with Lola. He seemed to have a good history with her husband Kyle and I thought, perhaps, he had also developed a friendship with Lola too. I suspected that if he was hurting from the loss of such a good friend that he would also recognize her pain and that they could find comfort in each others company. But, to be honest, I didn't want her to have another love interest, not yet anyway. I was so glad that Lola was connecting with someone who wanted to pull her out of the dark place she had been living in for some time now but with the arrival of Mark's text I am feeling unsure. I suspect that Mark's comment could be coming from one of two places; either Bryon betrayed his trust in the past or there was a misunderstanding that Mark is unable to forgive.

Do you think Bryon's motivations are driven by friendship or the contents of the mystery envelope?
As much as I want Bryon's intentions to be honourable I have a sneaking suspicion the envelope holds something of interest to him. Did he use it as an means of connecting with Lola again so he could gain access to its contents? I want Lola to be happy, but it never comes easy for our heroines, does it? Either way, I want to know!

Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments too!

Uh... oh...

Ok now I'm really curious about the envelope.

:D lol kinda. I'm trying to get to a few things on Steemit before daily life catches up with me again... kind of a cat and mouse situation. I can't wait to read the rest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27