Day 125: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: cinnamon - Broken Part 4 - A continuation of Lola's story

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Lola's fingertips caressed the picture frames along the hall as she tiptoed quietly down the hall of her parents house. Smiling faces stared back at her.

She had decided to accept her parents invitation to move into their home. Her resistance had waned once they had placed a bowl of warm chicken noodle soup in front of her. The floodgates of hunger had opened, and she was hungry, so hungry.

Although she knew she should feel grateful, she knew she needed to...feel...anything for them, the only thing she could feel was that this wasn't her home. It wasn't even the place she had grown up. Her parents had grown and moved on. But what she wouldn't give in this moment to walk outside and sit below the maple tree Kyle had proposed under...or the front porch where he had kissed her for the first time. She caressed her belly, and thought back on the last three nights of broken sleep on scratchy sheets and a stiff matress that belonged to the guest bedroom

The only thing that felt like home were the sounds of her little brother in the room next door. But even that was foriegn, it had been five years since they last shared a roof.

She passed his room now, and heard him feeding his pet snake, and continued towards the kitchen. The smell of cinnamon rolls wafted through the air. Her mom was baking, and for a fleeting moment she felt joy.

Hey guys! Thanks for reading, and spending some time with me! I'm really enjoying Lola's story, and if you would like to read the other parts to get a fuller picture, I've linked them below!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Like always, if you would like to try prompts, visit @mariannewest or visit this link!

With much love,
Stacie D

Sort:  

I like!!!! I will go back and read some more :)

Thank you! I fixed the links, thanks for letting me know!!

You're so welcome!!!! Now I can go back and read more! Hehehe

I was able to find chapter 3 on my own from.yiur blog... But chapter 1 and 2 seemed hidden somewhere hehehhee

Now they are revealed!!! Lol

You know about my upvoting situation right now... So tip! simple for you!!!! (Which is actually significantly higher than my 100% vote at full power! Hahahaha so... Wow! I think I really prefer tipping lolollol)

Haha, wow! Thank you!!

Hi @freedomtowrite! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Great story - it has intrigued me enough to go and the read the parts :) Thanks for sharing

Thank you very much!! @dreemsteem commented on another post letting me know my links weren't working but I've fixed them! Sorry about that!

I was going to say but thought it may be just me. I went and found them easy enough. They were all good and now I want to know what happens next :)

Thank you! That makes it exciting to write!

Can't wait to find out what happens!

Thank you!! I'm excited you want to read more!

I can't wait to see how things turn out for Lola. Going back home, even if it is for a short time, is never quite the same. People change. Circumstances change.

Yes, time changes things, and it's always different. Thanks for being excited for the story!

Wow, interesting look into that life. Those moments in life where we need to go back home...even if we don't want to. And how the familiar things of old can help bring about the start of healing :)

Yes! I feel like this is the only place that made sense for her to go, even though it looks different now.

Nothing ever looks the same when you come back to it, hehe. :)

Thank you for enjoying it! This one was a little more challenging to write, it didn't flow as easily. Maybe I was trying too much 😑😀

Ahhhh, sweetness and sadness intermingled. I love making food for my kids when they come visit, so I felt this from the parents perspectives, too. You did a great job bringing so much imagery to the story in just a short freewrite. Awesome job!

Also, I’m here to deliver the prompt of the day! Freewrite #126

@byn

Thank you @byn! I love feeling the challenge of writing something in a short burst, I think because it causes me to be more precise and get right to the point instead of dragging it out...which I do, then I get all lost in my thoughts lol Thanks for the comment, and for bringing the prompt!

That feeling of dislocation... when you need help but you wish that you didn't, that you were steering your own life. Hmmm.. this is a really interesting and vividly worded story @freedomtowrite. I love your style :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27