The Truth | Lola's Story Part 29 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: travel

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 28

Did I?” he asked. “I can’t even remember what I said that night.” He looked at Lola, that same expression he had in her room earlier. There was an ache in his eyes. He slid his warm hand onto her cheek and smoothed away the stray tear that lingered with his thumb. She tried to look away, but she couldn’t break his gaze. Her breath grew more rapid as her brain tried to keep up. She needed to move, to get out of the car, but she couldn’t.

Mark looked at her from one eye to the other.

“You should go,” he finally whispered, and lowered his hand to his lap.

Part 29

Everything felt heavy as she broke her gaze, and reached for the door handle.

“Lola,” his voice sounded hoarse. “I need you to know…whatever it is, whatever is happening, my only focus is making sure you’re safe.”

She felt herself nod. Then she exited the car, traveling to the house, barely able to feel her legs.

Once she was inside the front door, she began to breath again, but her eyes burned with fresh tears. Her stomach tied in knots.

“What’s wrong?” Tom asked as she passed him in the living room.

She ignored him, and she went straight to her room, and collapsed onto her bed. Big, heavy sobs exploded from her body.

How could she have done that? She thought. How could she have almost kissed someone else? Wave after wave of guilt swept over her. She felt like she had cheated on Kyle, why hadn't she been strong enough to look away? What kind of monster was she?

As her body became exhausted, and her sobs quieted to low murmur, a small thought started to form. Slowly at first, then larger until she could fully grasp it.

If Kyle knew that something might happen, if he had been prepared...was the accident still her fault?

She sat straight up, suddenly more aware than she had been for months. If that were true, she wasn't a murderer. His death wasn't because of her. She didn't kill him.

But then who did?

She glanced over to her dresser where the envelope sat. He was trying to tell her.

A faint knock on her door sounded, and she jumped, then stood, shaking and to answer it.

"I thought you might want some hot chocolate," Tommy said standing there, holding her favorite mug.

"Listen Tom," Lola started before she could stop herself. "I need your help."

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed this, sorry it was a little shorter this time.

Please check out the Story Club @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20

Part 21

Part 22

Part 23

Part 24

Part 25

Part 26

Part 27

Part 28


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-218-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-travel "You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has received an upvote, minnowboost, and promotion, compliments of the @welcomewagon. Your post will be highlighted on the Welcome Wagon page. Click Here to see the original promotional post.

Ya but...Kyle said Mark was supposed to take care of her. Can't tell me there's like, no residual intimate emotion hanging around. Now I want some hot chocolate.

Hahaha right?? I want hot chocolate too.

Story Club

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 29 Questions

  1. If Kyle knew he was in danger, do you think he left a sign for Lola that it would be ok for her to eventually find love again?
  2. With Tommy being the young age of 13, do you think Lola will regret asking him for help? Will this quest put him in too much danger for his young age?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me
know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

This is getting more interesting... The suspenses are killing.
My thoughts, What was this danger Kyle saw or knew of that killed him? Why would he leave a sign for Lola? Who or what was responsible for his death?

I don't know why he would leave a sign for Lola letting her know it will be okay for her to find love again. Yes she might move on later on but why did these letters surface now. Something doesn't feel right.

The suspense is killing me too. Kyle must have been onto something only he could trust Lola with, maybe it involved her dad too seeing as he is a detective. I also want to know who was responsible for his death and if Lola will run into his killer! Dun, dun, dun...

@freedomwrite you're beginning to make me feel like I'm seeing a seasonal movie ... Her Dad???? Mmmmm if he thought he could only trust Lola with this secret why did he put Mark in the picture? @freedomwrite help us o!

Maybe he looped Mark in because he knew he'd keep her safe and knew Lola had a past relationship with him? Hmmm... so many questions! -Aimee

Tom sounds like a Smart kid. I doubt Lola would regret getting him involved in this situation. Danger? Mmmm... For his age , I can't tell. We'll find out soon.

You're right, Tom does sound like a smart kid. Maybe he will be the more level headed of the the two.

My thoughts on part 29

1. If Kyle knew he was in danger, do you think he left a sign for Lola that it would be ok for her to eventually find love again?
So far, Kyle has shown that he was a always thinking a little bit ahead. If he knew his life was in danger, he probably also knew that Lola would have a hard time moving on. I definitely think Lola will come across a sign, when she's ready, letting her know it's ok to move on.

2. With Tommy being the young age of 13, do you think Lola will regret asking him for help? Will this quest put him in too much danger for his young age? For me the answer is two-fold. I believe that going on this quest together will continue to strengthen Lola and Tommy's sibling relationship but I have a feeling that Tommy will want to get involved beyond his maturity level and end up getting himself into a little bit of trouble.

Cheers, Aimee

Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments below!

Soooo good! Loooove the dialogue. But more importantly, I'm loving the inner monologue.

Thank you so much! And thank you for the feedback on the inner dialogue...I had my doubts about it flowing correctly.

Also...would you like me to add you to the list of readers so that when the next part comes out you're notified?

What does Lola have up her sleeve now, that involves Tom??!!! Guess I'll find out eventually.

I feel like your last sentence needed a wah wah waaaaah haha I'm trying to leave less just hanging in the balance, so hopefully we will all find out soon haha

Yes, there was a big whine in there.

I can see where Tom's eyes are fresh and he may have a different take on the letters. Could it be that whole family is in danger?

I want to comment, but I don't know how! I will say that I agree about Tom's eyes. He's clever.

Well, I've been hearing so many great things about this story, and I can't wait to absorb in one chapter at a time! Thrilled with @littlescribe's choice to feature you on her Welcome Wagon boost post! :)

Worthy post indeed! Wishing you success, @freedomtowrite!

@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

I can't wait for you to read it later! I'm so excited and honored that she picked me!

And I almost missed this again... Checking out part 29 now.

I'm excited you're reading it!

Oooh good Tommy's back in! He's going to help :)

I love when I open my replies and see that you've caught up!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92