The paper | Lola Part 32 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: one year

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 31

"I get it!" Tommy yelled. "The bottle has a setting sun, just like the letter. Before the tides change...that's the picture...and the music has set...that's the stereo!" he pointed.

"Then I wonder...," Mark said reaching for the empty wine bottle. As he lifted it a small piece of paper slipped off the shelf, and landed on the floor.

Lola inhaled sharply, then stooped down to pick it up.

Part 32

The paper was thin between her fingers, and had already started to yellow. She wondered how long it had been sitting there.

She tuned it over in her hand to see clean letters and numbers written on the back side.

BE/AC 1120

“What? What is it?” Mark asked.

“I don’t know…” Lola sighed. Frustration filled her. She handed the note to his out stretched hand, unaware that his fingers brushed hers.

Tommy walked beside Mark to look at it as well.

“BE/AC 1120,” Mark read to himself.

Lola began to pace the room, staring at the floor. The only part that made some sense to her were the numbers.

“Well,” she began. “I don’t know if it matters, but we got married on September 20th…1-1-2-0.”

She walked back to the shelves where the wine bottle had sat, and raised onto her tiptoes.

“Lola, I don’t think anything is still…” Mark started.

“What is this?” she asked reaching to grab book.

“I’m sure it’s nothing,” he said taking a step closer to her.

Lola brought the book down and studied the binding. In between the groves of the spine set a small lens, no bigger than her pinky nail. She flipped the book around and pried it open to discover a small camera.

She turned to Mark, a fierce glare in her eyes.

“Explain,” she growled.

Mark took a deep breath, and sat down on the couch, and ran his fingers through his hair.

“I didn’t want to use them…I”

Them

“Yes, them, Lola listen,” he said more sternly. “I didn’t want to use them…not at first. The letter wasn’t the only thing Kyle left me. He also left a code that I later figured out was the password to your security cameras he had installed one year ago. I wasn’t going to use them, but I didn’t know how to keep you safe without it. What if something happen to you” he looked at her, his eyes piercing hers. “I wouldn’t have been able to live with that.”

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading!
Please check out the Story Club @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20

Part 21

Part 22

Part 23

Part 24

Part 25

Part 26

Part 27

Part 28

Part 29

Part 30

Part 31


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-225-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-one-year "You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

Does that break the trust? What the heck are those letters for? I think Mark's a pervert now. Lmao

Hahaha noooo not a pervert! He saved her life at the beginning because he knew she was so sick. But I think he has more explaining to do haha

Ya...a LOT of explaining lol

Story Club - Everyone's Invited

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 32 Questions

  1. Do you have any guesses as to what BE/AC 1120 means? Could it be a password or another cryptic message?
  1. If Kyle asked Mark to use the cameras to keep an on Lola, it's understandable why he didn't tell her. But do you think he might be hiding anything else Kyle left behind?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me
know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

I don't like where this is heading to...
Q1: Yes I think BE/AC 1120 is another cryptic message.

I don't like that Kyle kept a lot from Lola.

Q2: Mark seem to be hiding something else too, what kind of danger was Kyle keeping Lola from? Mark is not saying it all... The anonymous phone call??

My thoughts on part 32

  1. Do you have any guesses as to what BE/AC 1120 means? Could it be a password or another cryptic message?

    I suspect that this is more of a message and less of a password I am wondering if the B and A stands for before and after, but before and after what exactly, I am still not sure. I am scratching my head and wondering if @freedomtowrite left us any other clues that we're totally missing!

  2. If Kyle asked Mark to use the cameras to keep an on Lola, it's understandable why he didn't tell her. But do you think he might be hiding anything else Kyle left behind?

    I think Kyle asked Mark to keep watch over Lola because he knew that Mark genuinely cared for her. I have a feeling Mark wanted to keep her safe but still felt invasive watching her through cameras which is why he didn't say anything to her about it. Creepy, but understandable. Kyle seemed to be meticulous about what he left behind and instructions he gave, I have a feeling there is more than we even suspect. What were you up to Kyle?

Cheers, Aimee

Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments below!

I love reading your thoughts!

I am so glad! I love a little mystery, it really gets my brain working. I think knowing this story is unfolding for you at the same time is really exciting. Can't wait to see what happens next! -A

Likewise, it's so fun getting immediate reactions as situations develop and unfold!

What is happening here???? What is Mark talking about?

Haha this is so great...I wish I could explain it all, but then what would be the fun in that??

The advantage to not reading for a few days is now I can go right on to the next episode....

Haha it makes me so happy that you're reading it! The next part comes out today! P.S How are all of your summer activities going?

This explanation is going to require some on the spot eloquence...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91