Second Reading | Lola's Story Part 41 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: wood

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 40

Mark handed her the key.

“Listen,” Mark started. “I should get out of here. Keep the key safe, and head that way as soon as you can.”

“Aren’t you coming with me?” she asked confused.

“Not this time.” He turned abruptly and headed for the door, but Lola stopped him, grabbing his elbow and spinning him towards her.

“Look at me,” she said. “Tell me what’s wrong.”


Part 41

Mark jerked his arm away, ripping her finger tips from his cotton sleeve.

“Please,” she whispered. “If you don’t, you’ve left me all over again, and I just can’t…” She realized then how thin the thread was that was holding her together.

He took a deep breath, and steadied his feet, then reached out and grazed her fingers.

“Alright, Lola,” he said quietly. “You deserve to know more,“ he pinched the bridge of his nose and squinted his eyes. “But we can’t do it here.” He looked around the room. “Did you drive Gloria’s car this morning?”

She nodded.

“Ok, this is what we’re going to do. Nod twice when I‘m doing speaking, but don‘t say anything” he said. “Put down your phone on the counter, and go the bathroom. I’ll head out first to the car, then when you’re done, follow me out and close the house up behind you.”

Lola nodded obediently then took her phone out of her pocket, and walked through the house. Her heartbeat was beginning to race.

She stood at the vanity gripping the wood sides, willing her heart to slow. After a few moments, she left the bathroom, walked through the front door and outside where she found Mark waiting, as he said he would, in the passenger seat of her mom’s car.

She opened the driver’s side and sat down next to him, expectantly.

“Now, before we start, you need to know that I was sworn to never share this with you,” he took another deep breath. “Things have…changed…it would seem. New developments.” he shook his head. “That’s not really the point though. The bottom line is, you aren’t going to like what I have to say. You might even hate me for it, but I don’t see a way around it anymore.

“Do you remember when I met you six years ago? At the bookstore you worked for?” he asked.

“Of course I do, Second Reading, it was my favorite,” she answered.

“Well, what if I told you I had been sent there to meet you. That I hadn’t actually been looking for that first edition, that I didn’t even know who that author was until ten minutes before I walked into that shop?”

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! And the story deepens! Please check out the **Story Club** @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!
If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers!

@freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Parts

1| 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10
11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20
21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30

31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest.

"You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

I'm way behind on Lola's story, but I'm glad to see the daily prompts are leading you closer to a finished story. So cool! Anyway, here is today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-245-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-prototype

Haha thank you! And thanks for the prompt delivery!

Gufaw...whaaaaat??? Some super secret spy shit going on all of a sudden...me likey.

Haha the gif is awesome!

Wow, I sure didn't see that coming! This is getting complicated!!

Oh thank goodness, I was getting really nervous about Mark right there but at least I know he's still got Lola's best interest at heart!

Yeah...it's hard writing in only short bursts sometimes! I'm glad I'm doing it regularly though so it doesn't leave much hanging for long.

I don't know about you guys but I did not see that coming and I can't wait for Friday to find out what happens next.

Story Club - Everyone's Invited

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 41 Questions

  1. Why do you think Mark was sent to watch Lola and by who?
  2. Do you think Lola will pull away from Mark knowing that their relationship was based on a lie?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

Q1: Six years ago, this whole story feels like a murder and spy case. I can't possibly guess why he was sent though but it sure does sound like something that will break Lola's heart.

Q2:Mmmmm... Do you think his feelings for her too were not real?

  1. Me either, but it's gotta be something good!
  2. I think maybe they didn't begin as real feelings, sounds like he was willing to fake it to get what he needed, but in the process his heart took over.

And the whole thing takes a turn!

What??!!!!! This is suspense is.......

Hahaha I love it

Well, I just discovered this story thanks to @scribblingramma and I have read every episode tonight, so I am all caught up! I cant wait to see what happens next!!

Wow! That's so exciting! Thanks! Would you like me to add your name to the readers so yoy can get a notification when the parts come out?

I did post the next one last night!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freedomtowrite/it-was-june-or-lola-s-story-part-42-or-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-bath

YES! Please do! And thanks for the link to the new one!

HOLY... ok that changes everything. I'm a little shocked and I think I'll have to let all my opinions and evaluations go and just hang on for the ride! Onto the next...

Wait! There is no next lol XD XD XD. Glad you're tagging me, bc I can't wait to read the next part.

Hahaha the next is out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44