A knock at the door | Lola's Story Part 18 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt : document

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Lola's knuckles turned white as she squeezed the chair. Her faced burned as the truth of what she had said hung in the air.

She didn't deserve to be here, to feel the kicks and the movements of their baby. All of the joy she might have felt had been shoved so far
away, hidden in a place she wasn't sure even existed still.

One breath in, one breath out.

One breath in, one breath out.

Her heart rate still thudded in her ears, but her breathing began to level. She squeezed her eyes tighter to focus.

One breath in, one breath out.

A knock sounded on the wooden front door, disturbing her concentration. Gloria moved slowly from her stiff position, past Lola and down towards the entryway and peeked through the peephole then opened the door.

"Good afternoon, Ma'am, I'm Officer Pascal," the young man said holding a manilla envelope. "I'm here to deliver this document to Lola."

"Sure, I remember you." Gloria said, confusion in her voice.

"Oh I'm sorry, you're probably wondering why your husband didn't just bring it home. I guess there was some urgency, and he was unable to make it. I was headed out anyway and said I dropped it off."

"Oh, well, of course. Please come in. Just give me a moment to fetch her."

Lola stood numbly for a moment having overheard the conversation, but had recognized the police officer's voice immediately. He had been Kyle's first friend on the force. She started to smooth back her hair and dry her face, as Gloria peeked around the corner eyebrows raised in question. She reluctantly nodded. All the rubbing wouldn't hide her blood red eyes.

Officer Pascal stepped into the dining room, and smiled broadly at Lola, then quickly lowered his gaze as he took in her blotchy tear-stained face.

"I'm sorry, I didn't mean to interrupt anything," he said looking down at his shoes. "I just needed to hand you this." he said quickly giving her the envelope."I'm not sure what is."

"It's fine, Bryon, you didn't interrupt..." Lola mumbled. She stared him, standing there tall and proud in his uniform. His belt held strong at his waist. Kyle had called it his Batman belt. He was taller than Kyle had been, and thicker chested too, with blonde hair and gray eyes.

"Oh well, if I was being honest, I also wanted to check and see how you've been."

Lola stared blankly.

"Ok...well I should be going then." Bryon said quickly.

"I'm sorry, no, please..." Lola said. "I...I just.." she struggled for the right words.

"It's the sorrow...isn't it?" Byron whispered, leaning forward his eyes barely reaching hers.

Lola coughed a dry laugh, and rubbed her forehead with her fingertips.

"I tell you what, if you could use a breath of fresh air, I can meet you for a cup of coffee in about thirty minutes?"

Lola felt her head nod slowly.

"Great, I'll see you soon." He smiled and turned to walk out the door.

Lola took a deep breath, then studied the pamphlets that still littered the table. She considered picking them up, but thought better of it. Maybe her mom should be the one to hold on to them.

Thank you so much for reading! This prompt gave me a surprise new character I wasn't expecting!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, and @quirky.countess

If you would like to be tagged so that you know when a new part is out...or if you would like me to take you off the list, haha, please tell me in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-179-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-document


This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 

Sort:  

That makes me so happy that you can!

Gosh I've missed so many parts - I will have to go and read them all!!

Well, I won't stop you! Haha So, I made a list at the end of the post, tagging people who would like to read the parts as they come out since I'm a bit sporadic. Would you like me to add you??

Okay...what are the documents and can there be a romantic interest here?

Only time will tell!

Wonderful port stop, Cap'n! LOVED this bit of your freewrite story, @freedomtowrite! Like @andysantics48, I'll have to make time to catch up on all the previous ones.

Thank you so much. Intense and moving and can't wait to see how their coffee date goes and what's in that envelope!!! ;)

Thank you!! I'm so glad you liked it! Would you like me to tag you in the next part??

YES! Absolutely! I forgot to ask you to do that. Thanks so much, @freedomtowrite!

No, thank you! Hopefully I will get part 19 out soon!

I have a confession to make, I just read all 18 parts today. I kept seeing them in my feed but assumed they were much longer and that I'd have a hard time keeping up with them.

I am glad I finally cracked and read them though. They're a great length for me. We had a couple lengthy drives today so I was able to catch up.

This is such a great story, I am on the edge of my seat, and I can hardly wait to see what comes next. -Aimee

I read this comment last night before bed and I it made me so happy! Would you like me to add you to the list of people I tag so you can stay up to date?

I still don't have my GINAbot set up, but please do tag me! Hopefully, I get it set up soon. Seriously, I am hooked. I am going to give your comment a fat upvote to make up for missing so many parts. - Aimee

Oh my goodness! Haha thank you!

I will definitely tag you! Once you set up Ginabot, you'll be shocked how much you probably missed before! There's also steemify...i think that's what it's called, but it sends the notifications to your phone.

And sorry it took so long for me to respond! We've been traveling, but we're home now!

No worries, I go MIA from time to time because life is still rolling outside Steemit. Glad to hear you guys are home safe and sound. I can't lie, I've been checking in periodically to see if Lola has made another appearance. 🙈 -Aimee

Haha I think I'll try to get part 19 out today! If I do, I will tell you in a comment!

Oh, got some back tracking to do, 17 more to get the better picture.

Yes, please! Haha Thanks for reading this part!

It's amazing how quickly despair can turn to hope when kindness is extended... beautiful work again, can't wait to read the next one!

Thank you very much! He does bring a spark of light!

Heck of a short story for such a broad prompt! Well done 😊

Thank you!! If you get a chance, check out the other parts!

I will, feel free to tag me as you move forward😌

Awesome, I will! Thank you!

Thank you for bein' a port on me Hunt this week!!!! Argggggh ;)
I hope me pirates enjoy this taste - and come back fer more!!!!

Aye! Or they may find themselves walkin' the plank! Haha

Yaaaaaaaay I didn't have to wait long! :D
Beautiful job again!

hey!!!!! i'm seeing you everywhere now!!!! isn't that funny? shortly after you meet someone - then you see them EVERYWHERE! :)

Hilarious! Of course, it doesn't help that I'm following you ;)

i thought i heard a noise behind me!!!!

Hahahahaha sorry to bring a halt to the extended 'following' joke, but I meant I'm following you on Steemit :D
I am stalking you, though.
carefully adjusts tree branch to hide behind

ask @freedomtowrite.... It's not stalking if it's invited!!!!

Haha thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27