A Face in the Crowd | Lola's Story Part 22| 5 Minute Freewrite ~ Prompt: important

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The trolley’s bells dinged as it came to a stop in front of where Lola and Bryon stood. He ushered her in front of him, and touched the small of her back for support as she climbed the stairs. It sent shivers down her spine.

They found two seats towards the back and slid in next to each other. Lola stared out the window for a moment examining the view from where she sat.

This was her hometown, the place she had grown up, met the love of her life, and planned her whole future. It used to be so important, but the colors were all wrong now like a dark haze had crept in and covered the town.

“There’s that frown again,” Bryon said cheerfully, as the trolley kicked into motion.

Lola tried to smile back at him, but she couldn’t help but feel like something was wrong. Maybe it was just disturbing text she had received from Mark. Irritation filled her.

“What about the baby?” he asked. “Do you know what you’re having?”

It took Lola a moment to realize he had asked her a question. “It’s a girl,” she said lamely.

“What about a name? I bet you’ve thought of thousands by now!” She tried to discern if his enthusiasm felt forced, but she couldn’t tell. Then her stomach sank. She hadn’t thought about names since she first found out she was pregnant, then wondered how many times her mom must of wondered, but never asked.

“I don’t know” she answered. As she looked over to meet his gaze, she knew he wanted her to say more, but Mark’s warning repeated like a broken record in her head. She looked away and back out the window and for a split second she thought she saw Mark’s face in the street. Curiosity filled her mind, a million questions all at once, and suddenly she couldn‘t sit still.

“Ya know, I’m starting to feel a little queasy,” she touched her fingers to her lips then puffed out her cheeks hoping it looked convincing. “I think the rocking is getting to be too much.”

“Right, right,” he said quickly. He jumped up and headed towards the driver. A few seconds later the trolley came to a stop, and Lola stood quickly, walked to the front and down the stairs. She took a few deep cleansing breaths once she reached the bottom to make it seem like it was helping, but really she was just out of breath.

“Is that better?” he asked rubbing her back. “Do you need any water?”

“Oh no, I think I’ll be alright now,” she said, then tried to think quickly. “Ya know, my mom said she was going to be shopping in some of these stores, so I’ll just give her a quick text to make sure, that way you don’t have to drive me home.” She reached for her phone.

“It’s no trouble really,” he insisted placing his hand on hers covering the cell. Lola took a step back, her heart starting to pump in her chest.

“Lola?” a familiar voice sounded behind her. She turned to see Mark coming at a quick jog in their direction.

“Wow! It’s so good to see you!” he said enthusiastically scooping her into a hug.

Relief rushed over her, immediately followed by anger, and she resisted the urge to shove him off. He felt her tense up, so he dropped his arms releasing his embrace, but kept his left hand on her back.

“Who’s this?” he asked and reached out to shake Bryon’s hand.

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! I always get a little nervous to hit post on these, but that's probabaly a good place to be! Please check out the Story Club @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20

Part 21


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-201-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-important "You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

Well, I see that Lola is now having second thoughts about Bryon. It will be interesting to see why Mark told her to be careful with him. Great writing as usual! : )

Resident cat here, wondering why a parasol is needed today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-202-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-parasol

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you! I'm excited to write more today!

Story Club

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 22 Questions

  1. Is Lola overreacting to Bryon's actions now that Mark has issued her a warning?
  2. Why do you think Mark didn't recognize Bryon, could he be an imposter?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader,
but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me
know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

My thoughts on part 22

1. Is Lola overreacting to Bryon's actions now that Mark has issued her a warning?
I want to believe that Bryon's intentions are honourable, though I have a nagging feeling that his actions are being driven by other motivating factors. Hello, mystery envelope! I think Lola should follow her intuition if Bryon's actions are starting to make her feel nervous or uncomfortable.

2. Why do you think Mark didn't recognize Bryon, could he be an imposter?
I don't know about you guys but I did a double take when Mark asked Lola about Bryon. If he was warning her about him earlier, surely he should know what Bryon looks like, right? This part has me very confused and eagerly awaiting the next part.

@freedomtowrite you are up to something fishy, aren't you!
-Aimee

Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments too!

Hahaha I love all of your thoughts! I really enjoyed that Mark did not recognize Bryon...but why???

But why is right! But why? Am I going to have to wait a whole week to find out? -A

Haha I'm hoping to write part 23 today!

I sure hope you do! -A

Ps. A while back you mentioned being accepted to a writing course. Are you still doing that too?

I haven't started yet, I am still working on funding...but I want to! Thank you for asking!

I hope it works out! I don't just check in on Lola you know. 😉 We are friends now. You're stuck with me, and I wanna know things! Ha ha ha! -Aimee

This is interesting...Lola is caught in the middle. How is this going to end...

I don't know! Haha...orrrrr do I????

This gif made me laugh outloud! Thank you!

Ooooh, the plot thickens! Lucky for me, I didn't get around to reading anything on Steemit yesterday, so now I can go directly to Part 23!

Lucky for me too! Haha

mmmph... I dunno. Having a bad feeling about Bryon now. Can't wait to see what happens next!

I'm glad you're excited!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28