A Midnight Step | Lola's Story Part 11| 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: before midnight

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Lola laid her head on her down pillow, drumming her fingers lightly on her chest, and stared at the ceiling.

The clock on the bedside table read 11:56...just before midnight, and it’s soft moonlight glow bathed the quilt on her bed. The breeze that had floated the curtains earlier, had died away leaving her bedroom quiet and still.

She looked around the room that had slowly become hers over the past few weeks. A small collection of photos and knickknacks from her own home set on the dresser now, along with a stack maternity magazines she had only looked at once.

Restlessness stirred in her chest, and she wondered how long she could live in a place that still felt foreign. How long could she feel like a child again, unable to do for herself. How long would she be paralyzed by her grief, and muted by fear.

Her breath quickened as she sat up suddenly in her bed, then swung her legs out of the covers. She dressed quietly, then slid through her bedroom door, and a few steps down the hall.

“Tom…Tommy…are you still up?” she whispered through the door. She waited a moment, then knocked softly twice.

The door creaked open an inch to reveal a droopy eyed thirteen-year-old on the other side.

“Lola,” he asked rubbing his eyes, “are you alright? Do I need to get Mom?”

“No, no, nothing like that…” she felt a grin forming as she whispered. “I wanted to know if you wanted to go somewhere with me?”

“Now?” he asked incredulous.

“Yes, right now.” she answered quickly. “If you come with me, I’ll buy you doughnuts…hot doughnuts.”

“Give me a sec.”

Thank you so much for reading! If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-157-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-before-midnight

Sort:  

Just realized I had fallen behind again so I'm catching up. I like this development.

Thanks! I've started a "subscription" haha, I just tag a few people at the end of the story so that they can receive a notification that another has been written because I write them so sporadically! If you would like, I can tag you as well!

That would be great! But then you'd need to explain to me how to know I've been tagged. I have no idea how that works. Yet.

Ok! Have you downloaded the discord app yet? If not, and you would like to, I may be able to help with that. If you have, there is something called Ginabot that you can use on the app to tell you when you've been tagged or resteemed among other things!

Okay, I'll see if my son can help me out with all of that. If not, I'll get back to you. Thanks!

Great! I hope he can get you all set up!

Is Lola finally starting to come out of her grief? I hope so.

It feels like a shift is happening for her...a bit of color is coming.

Thank you for reading! I love that you have been following the story!

I like reading other people's work as much as writing my own.

Whoah! That's different... I'm intrigued.

As soon as I looked at the prompt I could see why it would work for Lola's story, with her difficulty sleeping...

Where are they going?

Well, I think I'm going to try use today's prompt to continue where it left off, so hopefully it'll be up soon!

So, I just finished reading all of your comments and I'm floored you liked it so much! Thank you!! I have considered turning it into something after it's finished...and maybe a novella would really work!

Yeah I really do. Good writing is like a magic trick that takes you out of yourself and puts you somewhere else... and you, my friend, are definitely a magician!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate all of your encouragement!

My pleasure :) It's a joy to read your work.

Interesting story - looks like I need to catch up on it.
In the meantime, today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-158-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-scout

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
There's chances to WIN something great!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you! Yes, please catch up if you have a second!

Thanks for delivering the prompt!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95