Decisions | Lola's Story Part 16 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: vandals

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Lola's neck still felt warm as she passed the other expectant mother's on her way to the door that led to the examination rooms.

A soft hand found her wrist, and she looked down to see the mom in the purple yoga pants looking up to her with a smile.

"Don't think twice about it," she winked. "These twins have vandalized me in ways I can't even describe!" She said with a kind laugh.

Lola smiled back and sighed. Her life had already changed irrevocably, what was this baby going to bring next?

She mechanically stood on the scale while the nurse scribbled down her weight, and she accepted the pee cup.

Only twenty-four weeks in and she was already an old hand at this.

She set her full cup on the counter, then made her way to the bed, crinkling the paper beneath her.

A soft knock sounded on the door and Dr. McCalister poked her head around the corner.

"Good afternoon, Lola!" she said in a kind voice. She made her way over to the rolling chair next to the counter then rolled to the bedside while she put on her gloves. "How have you been feeling? Is the morning sickness getting in better?"

"No," Lola responded.

"Hmmm...well, there's still time for that to pass. Your weight has really improved." She said glancing at the chart. "Go ahead and lay back and we'll measure that baby."

Lola laid back obediently raising her shirt to reveal the small the bump that housed her daughter.

Dr. McCalister ran a measuring tape down the length of stomach.

"Just right," she said then jotted down the numbers on Lola's chart.

"Now," she took a deep breath. "About the questions you had last time, I gathered some reading material for you to look through."

She handed Lola a few pamphlets with smiling babies and happy couples on the front.

Lola took them with shakey hands.

"I understand why you might be considering adoption, but remember you have plenty of time to make decisions."

Lola closed her eyes tightly, tears burning her eyes. She touched her belly gently as she felt the flutters of her baby girl.

Thank you so much for reading! If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, and @whatisnew

If you would like to be tagged so that you know when a new part is out...or if you would like me to take you off the list, haha, please tell me in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-174-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-vandals  

Sort:  

Oh no! Another sad one!! Such a tough decision for real life people to make, and now your fictional person has to figure it out, too. Well, at least she has you to help her out. :)

Your last sentence made me giggle! But, oh my goodness, I really hope when I continue it things will look different.

This was very well written. I can't imagine dealing with having to make that choice. My mother once had to. More on that, soon. Nice Freewrite!

Thank you very much! I think my favorite part about writing this story is that it takes me to a place I've never been and usually it scares me.

I'm curious to hear more about your mother's story!

You express it very well. For the story, I just need the time to get it all down to post. Have a great Sunday! <3

Thank you! Have a lovely Sunday as well! 😊

Thank you, my friend!

You did an amazing job at capturing the emotion in this scene. Wonderful freewrite!

In case you haven't seen it yet, here is Today’s Daily Prompt for the freewrite. Feel free to join us if you have the time and thank you for joining us today! It is such an awesome community to be a part of and now we have a new page with contests, new challenges and even more community:

Check out the latest Freewrite Favorites @freewritehouse!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

So sorry my response is late! Thank you so much! And thank you for taking time to deliver the prompt!

Hello @freedomtowrite, thank you for sharing this creative work! If you're interested, take a look at our magazine @creativecrypto. We are all about art on the blockchain, and learning from creatives like you. Swing by and say hello!

Hey there @creativecrypto! Thanks so much for finding me! I checked out your magazine, and I definitely like what you're about. I'm not sure how I can help or what you might need, but I'd love to stay connected. I do have a couple questions. Are you guys on discord?

Also, if you're interested, this is the next installment to this freewrite series!
Lola's Story Part 17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50