Like a Team | Lola Part 30 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: detective

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 29

But then who did?

She glanced over to her dresser where the envelope sat. He was trying to tell her.

A faint knock on her door sounded, and she jumped, then stood, shaking and to answer it.

"I thought you might want some hot chocolate," Tommy said standing there, holding her favorite mug.

"Listen Tom," Lola started before she could stop herself. "I need your help."


Part 30

Lola paced back and forth along the length of the dresser while Tommy sat on the bed holding the letter from Kyle, concentration etched on his face.

“So,” Tom started. “You have a letter and Mark has a letter. Both from Kyle.”

“Mmmm hmm..” Lola said taking another sip of hot chocolate.

“And…you knew what Mark’s meant, and that’s all done because he was supposed to watch over you. But yours is still encrypted?”

“Yes, which is,” Lola began but Tom cut her off.

“Is why you need me,” he said. “But why doesn’t Mark help?”

“Oh, umm, well, I’m sure we can figure it out? Right? You and me like a team?” Lola smiled.

“But if Kyle was endanger…which makes you endanger, then Lola come on….this is more serious.” Tom stared at her. “We can’t do this by ourselves. At the very least you need to tell Dad. He’s an actual detective.”

Lola sat down next to Tom on the bed, and played with the mug in her hands.

“There might be any extra level to this I hadn’t mentioned before,” she said. “Mark seems to think something’s going on with Bryon, ya know the police officer that stopped by earlier?”

Tom nodded.

“Well, I didn’t get a chance to ask him, but he’s convinced that Bryon might be apart of the problem. I don‘t want to Dad to be involved, not yet anyway.”

“Lola! You can’t honestly believe this is a good idea. Why would Kyle put you in danger like this?” Tommy said suddenly angry. “You’re a mom now, and he has you going all over the place trying to solve a mystery!”

“But what if I was the only one he could trust?” Lola asked.

“You weren’t though,” Tom said. “He trusted Mark too, so whatever it was that made you all stuttery just a second ago, you should get over it because I’m not doing this without him.”

“So you will help?” Lola asked eyebrows raised.

“Obviously you need me,” he chuckled and looked down at the letter again. “ And I think the first place we need to look is your house, but not until you call Mark.”

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed it! I'm excited for part 31! Also, I'm on the second week of a Monday, Wednesday, Friday scedule, and it's going well!

Please check out the Story Club @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20

Part 21

Part 22

Part 23

Part 24

Part 25

Part 26

Part 27

Part 28

Part 29


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-221-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-detective "You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

whoaaaa nice one! love the writing and such great writing. now that's how i learned how to write. :)
where did you get your GIF again? lol

Thank you so much! I got it from @orelmely 😁

@freedomtowrite that's right!! i keep forgetting dohhhhhhhh
hope all is well and you and yeti are having fun w/e you did over the long w/end.

No worries! I did have a great weekend...I hope you did too!

@freedomtowrite yay so glad you did, mine was kind of boring but got some rest. :)

Haha restful, boring weekends aren't so bad!

very very true! i hope the gif guy gets back to me, he's not on discord anymore and not really on steemit? wahhhh

Oh no! I hope they come back!

So I guess I was right about Tom, he sure is a smart Kid and I do agree with him if Kyle was endanger, It also means Lola might be too... So please Mark and Lola should please snap out of their Lovey dovey state and solve this puzzle.

I wonder if they'll be able to keep their crap together!

Tommy is the smart one here. Lola needs to trust someone to help her and right now Mark looks like he fills the bill.

I love this...it took me a minute to respond because I wasn't sure if I should or if it just belonged to story club! But...I can't just let it go!

Let the adventure begin!

Story Club - Everyone's Invited

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 30 Questions

  1. Tommy seemed to know where to start so he must have picked something up in the letter that Lola missed, do you think Kyle knew she'd turn to Tommy for help?
  2. How do you think Mark will react to getting Tommy involved?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me
know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

Lol... @candianrenegade,your questions are triggering a lot of thoughts and increasing the suspense. I doubt if Kyle knew Lola would turn to Tommy, the situation sounds really serious, I don't want to use the word dangerous but Tommy seem like he can help out in a way. Maybe help interprete the poems?

Q2: Mmmmm... No idea yet @freedomtowrite hasn't cleared painted the gravity of this secret or danger yet, so Mark might welcome Tommy in or not , we'll find out soon.

Good! That's the best part about story club, letting out imaginations run wild. You're right, Kyle probably didn't think Lola would turn to Tommy. You're right, we really don't know exactly how serious the situation is, although if Kyle lost his life over it, I bet they're headed down a dangerous road. -Aimee

My thoughts on part 30

1. Tommy seemed to know where to start so he must have picked something up in the letter that Lola missed, do you think Kyle knew she'd turn to Tommy for help?
No, I don't think Kyle thought Lola would turn to Tommy for help but I do think Tommy is bright and is going to be an asset to Lola on this journey.

2. Tommy seemed to know where to start so he must have picked something up in the letter that Lola missed, do you think Kyle knew she'd turn to Tommy for help? I suspect Mark won't want Tommy too involved. Not because he still obviously has feelings for Lola but because his actions have suggested that he thinks this mystery could involve danger. Plus, if Kyle lost his life over this mystery then there are probably some shady folk involved in the matter.

Cheers, Aimee

Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments below!

Once again, little brother steps in with a sensible remark!

Hello @freedomtowrite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

"...so whatever it was that made you all stuttery just a second ago, you should get over it because I’m not doing this without him.”

lolo yes! See, I knew he'd help <3

Tommy...always the sense of reason!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91