I wish the pounding would stop | Lola's story part 10 | 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: brand

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Lola’s jittery hands clung to the warm coffee cup sitting in her lap. One breath in, one breath out.

Her panic attacks were coming more regularly now, but they only worried her mother.

One breath in, one breath out.

Her chest was tightening, her heartbeat pounded in her ears, her eyes filled to the brim with the tears she couldn’t let fall.

One breath in , one breath out.

“Lola! I’m back! I couldn’t remember what brand we had decided on for a baby monitor, so I just went with the most expensive. Ha!” her mother called from the garage doorway. “Oh, and Dr. Morrison’s office called to confirm your appointment Thursday at 9:00. I can’t believe you’re already 20 weeks along!”

One breath in, one breath out.

“Lola, honey, are you in there? I thought I heard the T.V on…” her mother stepped around the corner to peer into the living room.

“I’m here, Mom” Lola responded quietly through tears.

Gloria inhaled deeply and walked slowly to the couch, worry lines etched deeply into her youthful face.

“Is it bad this time?” she asked gently, reaching to take Lola’s hand.

“I wish the pounding would stop” Lola whispered. “I need to breath.”

Gloria took the mug and placed it onto the table, then gently pulled Lola’s shoulders closer so head could rest on her lap. She stroked her head softly and started to sing.

“Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so…”

Lola sobbed softly into her mother’s knees, then harder until all that was left was the dry shuddering of her chest.

“I know none of this is okay,” Gloria began. “I wish I could change…” she paused. “I wish he was here too.”

Thank you so much for reading! If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-152-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-brand

Sort:  

I can't wait to go back and start from the beginning. I am so glad that Gloria was there to help Lola. You described a panic attack perfectly as I had suffered with them for years in the past. Tip!
Coming to you with a spring in my step and a fresh new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-153-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-speaker

Ah! Thank you for the tip! It was a challenge to imagine how Gloria could help...panic attacks are so personal, and not every approach is helpful..especially if it's coming from someone who is worried. But I'm happy with the way it ended up..giving comfort the way a mom can. I also appreciate the prompt for today!

The breath of life is the best thing ever.

Yes! Thank you for reading! If you haven't already, and you get a second, please read the other parts 😊

That is so sad!!! My daughter has panic attacks, and you described it the way she does.

Woow. So sad. I pray the one above us heals her. My regards to her. Please tell her she has a fan from Nigeria.

Thank you so much! I will let her know!

Oh goodness! Well, I feel like I have two responses...
The first is that I'm so sorry your daughter has panic attacks. I've only had a couple, but I've been there a few times with others and have tried to give support...which is hard.
The second is, which is kind of a weird place to be, is that I feel like this was a huge compliment, so thank you! I have found that the more I write, the more I love being able to connect with people on a deeper level. So, when I write a story about something hard, to have someone identify feels like I'm doing something right.

Enjoying watching this story unfold!

Thank you! I love it because it changes a little every time I add to the story!

it worked!!! the image brought me here :)

Very nice post @freedomtowrite. I like it very much. Thanks for sharing

Another beautifully written entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27