#YogaChallenge Day 5 | "Yin/Yang Yoga for the Spine” - Because, Ow..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #yogachallenge7 years ago (edited)

Well, Good morning! Or should I say Sore-Morning to you all! Typically it would be at this point in the challenge where I’d start feeling a bit down on myself for struggling through one of the “rest” day classes, but watching the rest of you blog your progress, and jumping in on Discord has made all the difference this time around.

It’s my first time doing a yoga challenge in a group and I can’t tell you how thankful I am for the support since it’s my first attempt at the intermediate challenge. After a tough night sleep, I woke up this morning groggy and very sore.

I know I’m really pushing myself. Yesterday, when I headed out to practice, @teamhumble popped his head out the door to remind me “Don’t break yourself!” It’s true. Yesterday was a LOT.

Something the instructor mentioned in this yin practice really struck me though. She said pain only enters into the picture in yoga when our Egos do.

Guilty.

Maybe I set out trying to prove something to myself. Maybe It was my way of beating up on myself for not having done yoga as much as I’d like since I’ve gotten to the UK. I’m not sure, but the ego is certainly something I’m going to work on keeping in check.

Or hey, maybe I pushed the right amount and this is just my body adjusting to a new routine. Either way, I want to be conscious and careful of the feedback I’m getting and today’s feedback is…

+ Deep thoughts?

Not much going on in the interstellar mind scape today except…
“Damn, this floor is cold, I want back in the van where it’s warm and I can hug Mouse.”

Yeah, I’ve been feeling a bit squishy and sensitive these past 24 hours.

Welp! breakfast is down, coffee 1 almost finished, and It’s full speed ahead into Tuesday. Well, semi-full speed ;).

<3 See you tomorrow friends!
Dayleeoga

+ Link to today’s video : Yin/Yang Yoga for the Spine (53 min) | DoYogaWithMe.com

+ What’s this challenge about?? Read my intro post!

We've also set up a Discord channel for anyone who’s participating and wants to chat with others going through the same program for support. If you just want to hang out and complain about how sore you are that’s totally fine too. <3-> CLICK HERE FOR THE DISCORD INVITE <-

I'm working through the Intermediate challenge but if you're interested... Here’s the full BEGINNER Schedule from my last 30 Day Challenge…

#TitlePost
Day 1"Because I Didn’t wake up like this…"Hatha Yoga for Grounding
Day 2"Because I had some rough dreams last night…"Yoga for Stress Relief
Day 3"Because I’m officially declaring it Cozy Chilldown Sunday… "Hatha Yoga for Self Care II
Day 4"Because I didn’t know how much I needed this class today!"A Deep Release for the Shoulders and Neck
Day 5"Because sometimes the disk needs defragmenting!"Settling Into Relaxation
Day 6"Because transition energies have me a little anxious this week… "Yin/Yang Yoga for the Shoulders and Upper Back
Day 7"Because I got tired of being at war with my body"Spinal Care for Beginners
Day 8"Because life takes it’s toll..."Releasing The Neck
Day 9"Because Day 9 is magical, trust me..."Flow Yoga to Energize
Day 10"Because I woke up SOREEE!"Hatha Yoga on the Ground
Day 11"Because I’ve been feeling entirely out of sync lately..."Deep Release for the Hips, Hamstrings and Lower Back
Day 12"Because today I wanted to quit..."Bend and Stretch
Day 13"Because today feels a little bit better…"Yoga for Inner Strength & Core Work
Day 14"Because I’m really not in the mood today…"Align, Stabilize and Stretch
Day 15"Because I’m best when I’m centered…"Love Yourself
Day 16"Because I’m draaagggging today…"Bedtime Yin Yoga
Day 17"Because some days it just feels so damn good"Yoga for the Feet
Day 18"Because it’s never as bad as you imagine…"Breath, Balance and Twists
Day 19"Because I promised myself I’d take it easy today…"Yin Yoga for the Lower Back
Day 20"Because I'm coming for you Wednesday…"Deepening Relaxation
Day 21"Because I needed to feel powerful again…"Core Strength & Stretch
Day 22"Because ya gotta get that oxygen in!…"Yin Yoga for the Shoulders
Day 23"Because it’s good to feel good on a Saturday…"Yoga for Sciatica Relief
Day 24"Because sometimes you need access alternate dimensions…"Kundalini Yoga for Beginners
Day 25"Because sometimes your morning is GO GO GO!…"Morning Slow Hatha Yoga Flow
Day 26Because we got an awesome few weeks coming up!A Yin Practice
Day 27"Because it’s ok to EXPAND!"Challenging Beginner Hatha Yoga
Day 28"Because I’m nervous…"Kundalini Yoga for the Root Chakra
Day 29"Because Friday waits for no one!"Yoga for Inner Acceptance
Day 30!Because It feels so damn good to finish what you started!Hatha Yoga for Better Sleep
» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

I think it is really important to support yourself through love and gentleness. I am so sore too today, the first few weeks are the hardest. You are an amazing goddess for doing this and being present enough to listen to your body and recognize the need to chill and nurture yourself through this challenge.

You Are Doing Great!

Your gif game is SUCH FIRE! YAAAASSSS! - Thank you this really made me smile- ive been a bit of an energy downer today so I really needed this pick me up <3

Glad I'm not the only one who's sore though but sucks hearing you are too, hopefully tomorrow won't be too bad- the class is only 20 or so minutes, have you been picking random ones every morning?

this. is. everything.

I have been picking random ones every morning. The common theme has been legs and back, my problem places. I am about to do my yoga now, solidarity!

don't worry i'll be here when you get back. . . ;)

i just added you to my auto voter ;) if your ren's other half you must be good human. have some steem power dude ;)

wow. sharing minds. I literally did the same thing before I saw your message. I used the same logic.
"If Ren likes them, then they must be amazing"

She tells me all about you. Nice to meet you. Have a legendary day in that hammock.

yes sire. i'm sure we will all get the chance to have campfires and drinks at some time in the future.

So much respect!!

I'm more of a Liz Lemon work-out type, I'm afraid...

haha! Thank you @connecteconomy

In a lot of ways I feel Liz is at least partially my spirit animal. That gif is the second liz lemon one of the challenge blogs so far, and I'm sure it's not the last ;)

ha yes! We share her as a spirit animal! :D

yeah but we still got that early evening jack and coke in. a virtual hug in a glass, yayay xx ;)

helllllllss yes.

There were some nice new yoga moves for me in today's one! I am glad tomorrow's is back to 20+mins though, 50+ mins is just such a hard commitment sometimes :/ But so far, I'm really happy to see how much my practice has improved already :)

fair warning, it's a tough 28 minutes! That figi man, she does NOT play! But you're right, just keep in mind, it's only 20-ish minutes! You can do it! <3

I won't get to do today's one until really late tonight.... I just know I'm gonna be sooo tired by then :/ Wish me luck!!!

Aww - just 20 something minutes! You can do it and then you can pass out- you got this! 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28