Dayleeoga Day 27 | Because it’s ok to EXPAND! Challenging Beginner Hatha YogasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dayleeoga177 years ago (edited)

Today's class features a male teacher named Ron and for what I can tell he’s easily over 6’2. Being 5’9 myself, a female, and certainly not a stick-figure, I often feel insecure about the amount of space I’m taking up.

I remember feeling it even as a kid, being the second tallest in the class, there was only one boy who was taller than me, I remember wishing I was shorter, wishing I fell somewhere in the “middle of the pack”.

Check this girl out, I was about maybe 7 or 8 here? First day of school face, IMPECABLE fashion, but MUCH taller than my neighbor Cindy. Seems I was adopting awful posture from an early age... lol.

7119966A-C4EC-47E6-B46E-F90E15F38331.JPG

Later I’d realize that the “middle of the pack” was never for me, in almost every sense, but I still rarely feel the space and freedom to REEEAAALLY stretch out. As women we’re taught to be small, unassuming, non-threatening. Unfortunately, that sub conscious strand is what shrinks us, in person, in personality and in thought.

Now, Men certainly have their own social pressures so please don’t read this as an attack. I’m generally not in the practice of starting gender disparagement before 9 am, but you’ve certainly heard the term “man spreading”. It's just a fact that In general, men typically don’t have a problem stretching out and taking up space. Which makes someone like, Ron who builds his classes around being big and expansive a perfect teacher for someone like me. Deep breathing, wide stretches, and you're often encouraged you to take up as much as possible.

It feels awesome. If you’re tired of feeling small and need a good stretch. Try this class. It’s lovely. It left me feeling calm centered and confident.

Deep thoughts?

Today In shavasana I was thinking about what it’s going to be like to sit next to @teamhumble. Lol that’s it. Just sitting there. It’s going to be so damn nice. It’s the little things right?

<3 Dayleeoga

Link to today’s video : Challenging Beginner Hatha Yoga (33 min)

Daily yoga discord channel -> Here’s the link

Questions about the challenge?? Here’s my Original Post

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

great post keep going upvoted and followed :)

thank you! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61