Dayleeoga Day 5 | Because I got tired of being at war with my body - Caring For The SpinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dayleeoga177 years ago (edited)

I just finished this longer class about 3 minutes ago, I’m breathing deep and my eyes are about half open. I feel the air touching every inch of my skin and I feel that kind of sleepy calm I usually only achieve at the end of the day when everything is done, I’m with my other half, a strong drink and a good movie and I can just… be. I think it’s called relaxation. I read about it in a book once. ;)

About 8 months ago I decided to wave the white flag on the war I was unconsciously waging with my body. Time spent depriving my body of fats, then carbs, then exercise, then relaxation. I was in a hostage situation with myself, somehow thinking that starving my body of certain things would make it fall into line. The problem? I was twisting my own arm. And it hurt.

I remember the first time I did this challenge, it was the beginning of me completely surrendering to the reality of what I could and couldn’t do physically. Every time I’d start a workout plan or a gym membership I’d let guilt and shame drive me to completely overdoing it, burning out and eventually quitting, which would fuel even more guilt and shame.

Guilt is a really shitty personal trainer.

Today’s class was hard for me. It was a longer class than I’m used to and it involved a lot of core and back stregnthening, two admittedly giant weak spots I have. I had to get over my ego about this being labled the "beginner" series even though I've been practicing steadily for 2 years and aknowledge where I needed some slack. I took breaks when I needed, backed out or modified poses, and made sure to always gift myself long deep breaths.

I peeked my head up out of the foxhole, waved that white flag and sent a message to the other side of the battle field that said, “You know what’s best.”

So no, today’s yoga wasn’t pretty, or graceful. It was shaky and wobbly and felt stiff at times but, I’m sitting here at the edge of my mat typing this to you feeling REALLY damn good. Calm mind, calm body and breathing deep.

Deep thoughts?

Psh are you kidding me? This class kicked my ass. I’ll divulge the secrets of the Universe to you tomorrow. Need water.

That’s Day 7! Wow a week down! YAYAYAYA!! — How about you? Did you practice today? Doesn’t have to be yoga? Let me know below if you did something nice for your bod today!

Much love
<3 Dayleeoga

Link to today’s video : Spinal Care For Beginners (62min)

Questions?? Wanna do Yoga with me? Here’s my Original Post

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» INSTARARA «
» VOICE OVRZ «
Sort:  

you go girl. crazy how time flies but when we get accountable good things happen, it's like we clock in to our existance or something rather than let the time periods roll over us. super proud of the determination grrrrlll.

awww yayaya! lots worth working toward and I wanna give myself the best shot possible at getting there- eye on the prize!

Congratulations @dayleeo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post received a 1% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29