The Other Side

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

image.png


Tomorrow is open class in front of parents and administration. I wonder what keeps me sane. I wonder why others have lost sanity. What makes matters worse is I just found out the Seoul City Minister of Education has also planned a visit to our school. There is just a thin line that keeps us from losing our minds.

Original Poem @mineopoly

The Other Side

The order of operations
Steady the brain
To maintain
Human
Sanity

A
Fine
Line is drawn
Between what is
Habitual consumption of
Compliance to peremptory pressures
Maintained rituals of senseless repetition
Uniformed thoughts and behaviors
Numbing the mind to a state of café corretto
And what is considered normal.

image.png

Look at the daring young man on the trapeze.
Even he can be thrown off balance.
Behind the leather wheel
Three letter acronym
Excuse for a car.
The deadly
Leap.
Solto
Mortale
At Cirque Napoleon
The quadrouple summersault
Is welcomed by open hands on the other side
In thanksgiving to my partner
Who caught me
And brought me
To the other
Side.

One day you smile and the next day
You look like Jack Nicholson
And you wonder
Why was I not
the
one to fly
Over the
Coockoo's
Nest?

image.png

If you read this poem you can see why I am thankful for my wife who puts up with me. This is my 17th poem in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemitschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ Job 12:10

"In his hand is the life of every creature."

Mineopoly Quote:

Give thanks for every breath.


image.png

@mineopoly Posts on English and Education

First Day of School
Cleaning the English Classroom
ELS - I get where you're coming from
Creativity in the box
Is Nature the Best Teacher?
Dyslexia and Dyscalculia
Play
ESL I love you
Even Monkeys Fall From Trees
Groovy School
Distraction
Personality
K.I.S.S. Creativity
Proof of Brain
The Sounds of Silence
The Wall- Education
Shy
A Straight Line
Trains
Ryu Gwansun
Korean Independance Movement - Manse
Paint a Fish
Wisdom and Humility
Five Love Languages
Intermittent Media Fasting
COBOL Queen
The Greatest Teacher

@mineopoly Posts on Mining the heart

Steemit Tips
Will you be there?
Voices in a Blockchain
Avatar Falling Star
I am a Work in Progress
Songs of the Playground
Morning Miracle
Tasty Spam
Gold Dust
A happy Song
Collaboration
A Closer Walk 1
A Closter Walk 2
A Steemit Heart
Hearts joined together
Revival Korea
Feeling Groovy
As White as Snow
Unconditional Love
Strapped to a printing press- Batman
Choice Wine
The Sounds of Silence
I'm a Seoul man
It's not easy being Green
Reach Out and Touch
Who is Mineopoly?

Image credit 1 and Image credit 2 and Image credit 3

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What keeps you from crossing over that fine line from sanity and insanity?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

I felt a kind of playful intention in this poem @mineopoly. Even the reference you make to your wife's endurance is jocular, but at the same time it seems to contain creative pressure. Good job. Do not faint, keep going.

Thank you for your honest comment @zeleiracordero. In college I used to work in a nursing home with paralytic patients. Half were consciously participating in life although they could not move a limb or were missing limbs. The other half had no sign of consciousness. Today I walk around with my arms and two legs but am paralyzed by things I cannot even control. It is the intense struggle I felt yesterday when I wrote this. Now my open class is finished. And I don't care much about meeting the minister of education. He will come and go but the people close to me like my wife and kids and the people I work with everyday are really the ones who need me. Maybe you can tell I want to quit writing poetry and doubt why I ever entered this contest in the first place. I have a lot on my mind but the ton of stuff in my brain flows to only a two words.

Thank you

From,

@mineopoly

His feel vulnerable, @mineopoly. Strength! You are a fighter. What you tell me reveals a large, sensitive and committed human being. Do not faint Every day the sun brings new lights, trusts that something good and straight can always come out of crooked things, provided that we have a willing heart to look for the positive within the negative. Patience!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.46$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43