What's the Matter?

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)


When my friend came to America 30 years ago he wanted to say, "I have a headache. I need medicine." But he said, "I am headache. Give me pharmacy," These words have another meaning in English. It is something like: "저는 두통이다. 약국을 주세요."

Back then there was no English program for elementary students. Now 6th graders learn, "What's the matter?" and "I have a headache." This is the topic I have to teach next week for class so I prepared a chant based on "La Cucaracha." Soon the cockroaches will be all around so I think the students will love this chant @dtube. I have to work on my rhythm some more and fitting the music with the voice. My youngest son likes it a lot but I don't think it is 6th caliber yet. I will make a better recording tomorrow.




Original Poem @mineopoly

What's the matter?

What's the matter?
Why the splatter?

I see repeated across the nation
From Sea to Shining Sea

The Light and the Glory
Flickers like a candle in the wind.

My heart is broken
At the thirst for attention

Meaningless stunts
With no good intention.

What can I say for the land of the free
And the home of the brave?

Heads bow in acceptance
Of the loss of dignity and trust.

What's the matter?

I
have
a
headache.

This is my 14th poem in the Steemitschool poetry competition.(Steemitschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ Zechariah 9:9

"Behold, your king is coming to you; He is just and endowed with salvation, Humble, and mounted on a donkey, Even on a colt, the foal of a donkey."

Mineopoly Quote:

Are you being served?

My kids' quotes.

ME: "That is a warning."
Kid: "I eat breakfast this warning."

image.png

@mineopoly Posts on English and Education

First Day of School
Cleaning the English Classroom
ELS - I get where you're coming from
Creativity in the box
Is Nature the Best Teacher?
Dyslexia and Dyscalculia
Play
ESL I love you
Even Monkeys Fall From Trees
Groovy School
Distraction
Personality
K.I.S.S. Creativity
Proof of Brain
The Sounds of Silence
The Wall- Education
Shy
A Straight Line
Trains
Ryu Gwansun
Korean Independance Movement - Manse
Paint a Fish
Wisdom and Humility
Five Love Languages
Intermittent Media Fasting
COBOL Queen
The Greatest Teacher

@mineopoly Posts on Mining the heart

Steemit Tips
Will you be there?
Voices in a Blockchain
Avatar Falling Star
I am a Work in Progress
Songs of the Playground
Morning Miracle
Tasty Spam
Gold Dust
A happy Song
Collaboration
A Closer Walk 1
A Closter Walk 2
A Steemit Heart
Hearts joined together
Revival Korea
Feeling Groovy
As White as Snow
Unconditional Love
Strapped to a printing press- Batman
Choice Wine
The Sounds of Silence
I'm a Seoul man
It's not easy being Green
Reach Out and Touch
Who is Mineopoly?

Woodstock source. Pictures are from pixabay and sounds for the video are public domain or a creation of @mineopoly.

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What's the best way to get rid of a headache?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Lol what did I just witness

Thanks for stopping by @quevo. That's what I put together this afternoon. I need to work on the song. I need the words to match the 6th grade national textbook in Korea for ESL.

Lol what did I just witness

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.45$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39